Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Ardrossan Winton Rovers 1-2 Dalry Thistle

Who are we to pass up the chance of ticking off a new ground when such a tempting Friday night offer appears.

For the 9th tier Winton Park is excellent. Lots of room and cover and plenty seating as well, and not just in the stand. 

The game itself reminded us that we were indeed in the 2nd bottom tier of the West. Little quality on show, a referee that is absolutely tiny and an Ardrossan management team that are permaraging. Rovers equalise after Dalry go down to ten men and you'd have thought only one winner but Thistle take the lead with 20 to go to cause an upset*

*Dalry's placing is possibly false given they have six games in hand over Rovers. Interesting to see where Dalry go towards the end of the season.20230113_202122.thumb.jpg.2a6990bcce8654afeabde758baef0a21.jpg20230113_194222.thumb.jpg.59a0b7d5c6cbf9d9877aac55a20b1751.jpg20230113_193907.thumb.jpg.da604dae349af4a8c294c751701094c5.jpg20230113_202215.thumb.jpg.f252ab0cb84373f689c79c2e4181ce0e.jpg

Newtongrange Star 2-1 Dunipace

Not a great game especially in the first half where both teams cancelled each other out and created few chances. 2nd half was a bit more open with both teams having more chances and Star keeper making a couple of great saves. All the goals came in last 11 minutes with Dunipace scoring on a breakaway before Newtongrange equalised from the spot and then got the winner. Not the most pleasant of days weather wise which may have contributed to poor game.

1985D6D9-F7B8-4DC8-BD15-268472A10426.jpeg

E7CCB513-9A9A-460F-BD66-D00B5F8A8050.jpeg

AD07918F-EE7B-48F6-AD10-9B5125FCE14B.jpeg

Mad end to a miserable week off work : Corsham v Deal (Kent) in the FA Vase p-p around 1:15 for a 3pm k.o. Quick drive the 6 miles to Hardenhuish Park for Chippenham v Weymouth, paid £14, prog £3, burger £6, then the ref p-p it at 1:45 for a 3pm k.o, apparently a bit wet on  far side.No refunds, just a voucher for the rematch.Day saved at Cirencester (further 20mls) for Hellenic Lge on the 3g  : Malmesbury Vic's 2 Southam 2 after the Vic's 'Flying Monk' ground was deemed unplayable !

36/42: East Fife 1-1 Stenhousemuir, League Two, 14/1/2023.

A shocking day for fitba, and my first visit in about a decade to, I think it's fair to say, one of the SPFL's less-inspiring venues. To be fair, it ended up a pretty entertaining game despite the conditions. Also in spite of - or maybe because of - error-strewn showings from each side.

Last time I saw East Fife they were genuinely impressive in their win at Forfar. Shepherd, Ferguson, and Schiavone looked a great attack that day and they scored some good goals. Not so much of that today, but they did go ahead through a well-taken goal by Alan Trouten, the build up to which owed a lot to the farcically windy swirl that twice confused the Stenny defence.

After that though, Stenny took control for long spells. Fleming made a good one-on-one save to keep East Fife ahead at the break, but then seemed to be at fault for Yates' equaliser on the hour, as he misjudged the flight of the ball in. Again, maybe need to give him a pass for the conditions.

Both sides had chances to win it, but I'd need to say the visitors shaded it overall. Yeats at left-back battled against the elements well, while Wedderburn gave them good composure in the middle. First time I've seen Stenhousemuir this season, now only Celtic and Edinburgh I've yet to see home or away this season. Basically looked like what they are, middle of League Two. I gather they were well-fancied pre-season, but they just look par for the course in the League Two pack. Could finish third, could finish tenth.

New Bayview isn't great, obviously. But even if I were tempted to go back to it any time soon, charging 18 quid for League Two fitba would certainly put me off. My next visit is unlikely to be soon.

Anyway, six to go, and it's still 16 wins each to home and away sides! With Celtic and Dunfermline still to go, I'd put my money on home wins coming out on top in the end, but it's much closer than I expected.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Edited by DoingThe42

18 hours ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

St Rochs 0-1 Kilburnie Ladeside

Freezing rain, wind, lots of people drinking, wacky baccy, no away fans, police in attendance. Great fun...

20230114_131125.jpg

20230114_133835.jpg

20230114_140818.jpg

My pal used to play centre half for Ladeside 10 or so years back and I went along to watch them against Beith in Kilbirnie, think it was in the Evening Times cup if I’m remembering rightly. I knew it was going to be a bit wild but I wasn’t prepared for full body searches at the turnstiles, police on horseback and a CCTV van in operation. I was standing not far from the rowdiest Kilbirnie fans in the stand opposite the dug outs and noticed a DVD case was getting passed around with lines of cocaine on it :lol: The Ayrshire junior fans are a different breed. 

Brighton & Hove Albion 🐦 3-0 Liverpool @ AMEX Stadium 🌱. Premier League. Brighton are excellent from start to finish and deservedly win against a Liverpool side who have become a shadow of the team that nearly won the lot last season. Crowd 31,645.

A5713A9F-0AEA-4631-B69C-DA80FE270301.jpeg

792AE639-3BFC-4DCD-A12F-9DBDB2300AAF.jpeg

E31477DF-B5AE-42AB-B2A8-98614EDF7F0B.jpeg

4702F785-8F2B-4FCE-9C0A-99E813B3A9FC.jpeg

Hawick Royal Albert United 0, Edinburgh South 2. EOSL div 2 at Volunteer Park, Hawick. My 3rd choice as my first two were off. Switched from Albert Park to the 3G at Volunteer Park which was the home of Hawick RFC back in the day.

IMG_7815.thumb.JPG.1ff46f19cd8bf6337e78fd6405637087.JPGIMG_7823.thumb.JPG.177fca6f24c28e0aba50dbddce23f339.JPG

4 hours ago, The Mantis said:

Hawick Royal Albert United 0, Edinburgh South 2. EOSL div 2 at Volunteer Park, Hawick. My 3rd choice as my first two were off. Switched from Albert Park to the 3G at Volunteer Park which was the home of Hawick RFC back in the day.

IMG_7815.thumb.JPG.1ff46f19cd8bf6337e78fd6405637087.JPGIMG_7823.thumb.JPG.177fca6f24c28e0aba50dbddce23f339.JPG

Good one to get to @The Mantis. I saw a Border Amateur game here a couple of years ago and doubled it up with the Albert after. 

My mate, last season started following dundee united, he had an extra ticket, so the random match that i was supposed to be going to (livi v united) got called off, just as we arrived in the car park. After a 3pm inspection that passed, only for it to fail a second one at 6:30pm. Bit gutted, as i was really looking forward to it and i think this would have been my first midweek game under the lights since possibly Raith at Easter road in the ill-fated Locke/Hughes season. 

Edited by buchan30

23 hours ago, buchan30 said:

My mate, last season started following dundee united, he had an extra ticket, so the random match that i was supposed to be going to (livi v united) got called off, just as we arrived in the car park. After a 3pm inspection that passed, only for it to fail a second one at 6:30pm. Bit gutted, as i was really looking forward to it and i think this would have been my first midweek game under the lights since possibly Raith at Easter road in the ill-fated Locke/Hughes season. 

"Random Matches You Are Going To that get postponed at the last minute after passing a pitch inspection 3 hours earlier" thread for this pish imo

Heart of Midlothian 5-0 Aberdeen 🐑 @ Tynecastle Park 🌱 on Wednesday night. cinch SPFL Premiership. The home side capitalise on some awful defending to thrash the Dons. 4-0 up 🔥 at half-time Hearts added another around the hour mark. Aberdeen with a late strike ruled offside by VAR. Crowd 18,497.

457D5292-B6A6-4C04-829C-49AA2BCB5A4D.jpeg

6B626799-0720-4842-A808-32B497C3B85D.jpeg

A8D90795-5C91-4112-980E-55D3BBA3FDD2.jpeg

3DF37E2F-32DF-461B-AEF4-D85691FFC826.jpeg

No romance of the cup for me as its off to the London Stadium with the Hammer loving wee man once again. As a Blade myself he's still too young to get the fact I think they are a bunch of cheating c***s and Tevez is a w****r. Having said that actually looking forward to the El Sackico with a lot at stake in this one and my Spoons breakfast at Moon under the Water will set me up for the day once BA get us down there.