Craig fae the Vale Posted October 17, 2022 Share Posted October 17, 2022 East Kilbride u20s 0-1 Cumbernauld Colts u20s. A rare Monday night game in the SLDFL. Drab game, Cumbernauld just edging it, but an absolute stonewall penalty turned down for EK late on. 10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoingThe42 Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 19/42: Montrose 1-1 Falkirk, League One, 15/10/22. First time at Links Park for me, and went together nicely with the following day's game at Aberdeen. Enjoyed the Golf Inn before the game, and Links is a decent ground. Montrose started the better side, and it wasn't much surprise when McKinnon put them ahead. They lost McAllister up front, but still seemed the better side to me until McGuffie equalised with a really nice goal for Falkirk. Either side could have won it in an enjoyable second half, but a draw was probably fair. 12 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoingThe42 Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 (edited) 20/42: Aberdeen 2-0 Hearts, Premiership, 16/10/22. I'm on a lucky run at the moment of going to games in (mostly) tremendous weather, and this was another lovely day for it. Both teams had chances here, and as the second half progressed it became obvious that the first team to take one would win the game. Some really poor defending from Hearts, especially the second goal, but the same could be said about Aberdeen giving chances to Hearts earlier. Not much in the game, but you need to take your chances. This keeps up my 'impressive' personal record in my 42 pursuit. I'm a Hearts supporter, but due to family reasons my second team (like it or lump it!) is Clyde. So far in 42 duty my Hearts/Clyde record is p7 W0 D1 L6 F3 A15. Fucking hell. As an aside, I'd need to say Pittodrie is the worst value for money stadium I've been to so far. Thirty quid to have a spot where you just can't see the whole pitch (I'm holding up the phone in the picture below) and are reduced to guessing what's happening at one corner flag until play re-emerges, my mate next to me was standing on a slab of concrete that moved under him every time he shifted his weight, and at the pie stall they weren't even offering the Chicken Curry Pie I'd been looking forward to! No steak pies either (this was right after kick-off), so I was reduced to a mince pie, which was rubbish. Shocker. Not the biggest deal, obviously, but when you've paid thirty quid to get in somewhere, I don't think any of the things I've listed are really on. Scottish football has a lot to answer for in terms of value for supporters, but Aberdeen come up quite poorly in this regard. Looking forward to a couple of big Championship games in the next week or so. Edited October 18, 2022 by DoingThe42 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VillaKnollBoy Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 1 hour ago, DoingThe42 said: 19/42: Montrose 1-1 Falkirk, League One, 15/10/22. First time at Links Park for me, and went together nicely with the following day's game at Aberdeen. Enjoyed the Golf Inn before the game, and Links is a decent ground. Montrose started the better side, and it wasn't much surprise when McKinnon put them ahead. They lost McAllister up front, but still seemed the better side to me until McGuffie equalised with a really nice goal for Falkirk. Either side could have won it in an enjoyable second half, but a draw was probably fair. Do you pay royalties to subjects in your photographs? 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoingThe42 Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 5 minutes ago, VillaKnollBoy said: Do you pay royalties to subjects in your photographs? Talk to my agent. My people can do a deal with your people. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craig fae the Vale Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 Rangers B 4-1 East Stirlingshire. Took up my dad's offer of a pie snd bovril snd went along to this. Shire had scored before the advertised kick off time, and then withstood a barrage of pressure before conceding just before half time. The Young Gers took control after the break to take all three points. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoingThe42 Posted October 18, 2022 Share Posted October 18, 2022 (edited) Clyde 0-2 Dunfermline, League One, 18/10/22. A tough ask for Clyde tonight, but they didn't disgrace themselves against a Dunfermline side that's just miles better. Dunfermline didn't impress, but they didn't really have to either. A first-half goal from Wighton came after Clyde gave the ball away cheaply, allowing their lack of pace at the back to be exposed. The second was a last-minute shot from distance into the empty net with Parry out of position as Clyde tried to push for an equaliser. In reality, Clyde never looked like scoring and Dunfermline saw it out pretty easily. The ref managed to book 8 players in a game with no real malice in it. All because he forced himself into booking a Pars player (I missed who) for a first-half foul by blowing too early and denying Clyde an advantage. One of those where the ref books someone to save face, and that set a new standard so it was cards all round. Poor and needless. Went and sat with a mate who was doing stats work in the press area second half. Very fancy. Right next to the Pars fans. A good number of them, but more or less quiet as a mouse for the entire evening. If you didn't look over, you wouldn't have known they were there. Edited October 18, 2022 by DoingThe42 9 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crow Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Bonnyrigg Rose 1-4 East Fife @ New Dundas Park . cinch League 2. The home side ahead after only 2 minutes, and led for exactly an hour, before East Fife turned the game on its head with 3 goals in 5 minutes, and another late on, to secure the 3 points. Crowd 933. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crow Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Falkirk 3-1 Alloa Athletic @ Falkirk Stadium. cinch League One. The Bairns prove too strong for the Wasps scoring twice in the opening 7 minutes and making it 3-0 just before half-time. Alloa came to life very late on pulling a goal back and almost added a 2nd. Crowd 3847. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Les Cabbage Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Last week I went to Imortal DC 0-3 Farense SC in the Taça De Portugal. Imortal DC play in Albufeira, it was a good 40 minute walk from my apartment plus a further 25 mins to get a cash point when I discovered I had left my euros at home. A pretty weird but good experience. Obviously you were able to get a beer which would have been an amazing change of pace had I not been for a curry the night before and my stomach was in absolute pieces so I didn’t want to rock the boat. Imortal play in the 4th tier of Portugal so the result wasn’t surprising given Farense play in the second tier. The standard wasn’t great in all honesty, I was expecting Farense to be a bit better than they were although perhaps Imortal brought them down a level, but based on that it is fairly easy to see why Ryan Gauld did so well there. Considering Gauld left ages ago, I was a bit surprised when there was a man sitting near me with a Farense top on with “R. Gauld 23” on the back. I somehow ended up in the Farense end and they had a pretty cool little ultras section where they all had “Farense Ultras” bucket hats on and made a decent noise given their numbers. It probably was a fairly local derby given Farense are based only half an hour along the road in Faro but having said that it’s probably the equivalent of Falkirk v Cumbernauld Colts or something. Nevertheless, good weather, something different and great to get away from the British tourists and surround myself with locals for a while in a very tourist dominated area. 10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy groundhopper Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Only a quickie: with all these foreign games, do you all make trips over there - or are some ex pat's ? Some brilliant games , venues, photos, the Czech one seemed great. Have done Juventus (old ground) Sweden (4 games) and Poland (4) in my younger days. Keep up the good work folks. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DiegoDiego Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Considering Gauld left ages ago, I was a bit surprised when there was a man sitting near me with a Farense top on with “R. Gauld 23” on the back.Was there another Gauld at the club he needed to be differentiated from? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DiegoDiego Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 Only a quickie: with all these foreign games, do you all make trips over there - or are some ex pat's ?Bit of both for me, though I prefer the term immigrant to ex pat. Got a slew of games in both Cypruses coming up. Think that'll be me at around 20-25 foreign countries I've seen league action in. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craig fae the Vale Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 University of Strathclyde 3s 4-2 Glasgow University 3s. A thoroughly enjoyable game even if the wind was absolutely bracing. Strathclyde raced into a 2-0 lead within 5 minutes, but Glasgow pulled it back to 2-2 before half time. An excellent second half from the hosts saw them take all three points. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Les Cabbage Posted October 19, 2022 Share Posted October 19, 2022 4 hours ago, DiegoDiego said: Was there another Gauld at the club he needed to be differentiated from? The Gauld family are massive descendants with a rich history in Faro, apparently 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paul-r-cfc Posted October 20, 2022 Share Posted October 20, 2022 Cadiz 0 - 0 Real BetisBetis made seven changes from the weekend and it showed badly. Cadiz were unbeaten in four and had the more dangerous chances butblafked quality in front of goal. 41 year old Joaquin forced the home keeper into his only save with a header that he probably should have buried. Better game than the score suggested and the home fans were a noisy bunch. Going by the stickers around the city they are a bunch of lefties also so straight into the good guy pile. 11 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craig fae the Vale Posted October 21, 2022 Share Posted October 21, 2022 Kilmarnock u18s 0-1 Dundee United u18s. A really good Scottish Youth Cup tie. United the better side in the first half but Killie will be wondering how they didn't at least take it to extra time with their second half performance. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy groundhopper Posted October 21, 2022 Share Posted October 21, 2022 Have just been to Rugby Park too, really good game, Killie pressure in 2nd half didnt bring rewards.Poor goal to concede, but some promising kids out there. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
atfccfc Posted October 21, 2022 Share Posted October 21, 2022 On 19/10/2022 at 15:37, Andy groundhopper said: Only a quickie: with all these foreign games, do you all make trips over there - or are some ex pat's ? Some brilliant games , venues, photos, the Czech one seemed great. Have done Juventus (old ground) Sweden (4 games) and Poland (4) in my younger days. Keep up the good work folks. Yes. I make one trip a year. Twice this year as I'd missed so much football because of COVID. Denmark and Sweden. Been watching football abroad since 2010, though I've seen Celtic away in Europe many times before that in the 90s and early 2000s. The Czech one I did in September was one of my favourites. Lots of things came together perfectly for it. Multiple games in a day at several different levels, easy travel, cheap tickets, good food and beer, weather was perfect. Programmes at all of the matches bar one. I give myself a different challenge or theme each time. First it was one game on a trip at a big club, then two or three in one city over a weekend. I then got more confident and tried to broaden it by travelling around the country a bit more. Then I decided two game's in a day, followed by two games in two different countries in a day (done this twice, Germany-Belgium and Denmark-Sweden). The Czech one I had three in a day, twice! Kick off times are perfect for this. My next trip is in the planning stage. I would like to see a lot of the old GDR clubs and grounds. So hoping for match days to be kind. Erzgebirge Aue on a Friday or Monday night in January please fixture god's for travel purposes . So 3.Liga, Regionalliga Nordost and Oberliga rather than the top two divisions. Thinking further ahead (2024). Three games in three different countries in a day is possible. Switzerland with Basel, Germany with either Freiburg or Karlsruhe and France with Strasbourg. Though Luxembourg-Germany-France or Belgium is also an option for this. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craig fae the Vale Posted October 21, 2022 Share Posted October 21, 2022 1 hour ago, Andy groundhopper said: Have just been to Rugby Park too, really good game, Killie pressure in 2nd half didnt bring rewards.Poor goal to concede, but some promising kids out there. Thought United's wee number 8 (with the afro) was the standout, but as you say, a number of promising looking youngsters on show. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...