Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

10 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Is that you with a drone Mantis?

Wouldn't be the first drone ever seen at Fergie Park though .. 😆

Naw Tam, but the drone’s MUCH quieter and doesn’t know any swearies…

On 24/04/2023 at 18:56, PSJ.84 said:

Köln (W) 0-2 Frankfurt (W) - 38,000 at the RheinEnergieStadion - which I believe is some sort of record. Local beer Kölsch priced at a reasonable €6,50, €2 of which you get back for returning the cup. A decent enough game but an absolutely stunning ground.

Then a train to Mönchengladbach before getting a bus - which was free with the ticket - up to Borussia-Park for Borussia Mönchengladbach 0-1 Union Berlin. Big screen in the beer garden outside of the stadium to watch the earlier kick off, then into the ground with a few more beers and some currywurst (which was unreal) - safe to say they’ve absolutely nailed the fan experience in Germany. Would recommend it to anybody, although I had quite a sore head this morning and had to watch the highlights back to find out what actually happened! 

3A841BFE-7081-4E27-B196-15FE95892204.jpeg

D67C19D7-C3FD-4718-AB42-7E754BC07B1C.jpeg

Went to a Köln men’s game a few years back. They had a song that started playing just before kickoff and the crowd joins in. Nothing unusual there… but after a few seconds I realised the music was Loch Lomond! Whole day was a brilliant experience and agree on recommendation.

YouTube video of aforementioned song:

Edited by The Holiday Song

37 minutes ago, The Holiday Song said:

Went to a Köln men’s game a few years back. They had a song that started playing just before kickoff and the crowd joins in. Nothing unusual there… but after a few seconds I realised the music was Loch Lomond! Whole day was a brilliant experience and agree on recommendation.

YouTube video of aforementioned song:

Had to crop it so I could post it, but I was very much the Point Rick Dalton meme when it came on!

Last game of the regular A-League season with Adelaide United (2nd) v Central Coast Mariners (3rd) with 1 point between them. At full time still 1 point between them but positions reversed as Mariners won 4-1, United only scoring in added time. Both sides had,a goal chalked off for offside. Adelaide United were at their frustratingly best with their defence, especially on the left, absolute shite. They did have pies but no Bovril although settled for fish and chips and appropriately in Coopers Stadium, Coopers Pale Ale. The Eastern Grandstand opposite where I was sitting was built for this year’s WWC.

Adelaide United play 6th place at home in the Elimination Final next Friday, probably Wellington Phoenix but possibly Perth Glory. The Mariners have next week off then play the highest place Elimination Final winner over 2 legs and that will be Adelaide United if they win their Elimination Final. 
Attendance given as 12,064 but that’s using what some SPFL clubs do of tickets sold v actual bums on seats. 8,500 to 9,000 probably more like it as it was a very cold and wet night.

IMG_9424.jpeg

IMG_9429.jpeg

IMG_9447.jpeg

IMG_9451.jpeg

IMG_9454.jpeg

Edited by Eednud

Aberfoyle Rob Roy 0-7 Gargunnock

Of all the 10 grounds in the Forth & Endrick League I've been to so far (all but Gargunnock, including Thornhill who are now in abeyance), this is my favourite. Lovely old turnstile, but especially the views were just great. The game itself was very one-sided. The scoreline still flattered the hosts as it should really have been double figures. And that while Gargunnock's goalkeeper went off injured after about 30 minutes without them having a reserve goalie. The outfield player who played 60 minutes in goal had no issues keeping a clean sheet.

Attendance: approx. 20 humans, 1 dog & 2,000 midges

image.thumb.jpeg.37f95ef3d9bed6d66e009c9550c22aeb.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.55d10ed04e517c99a4c5576a7ae18ff6.jpeg

20230428_193614.thumb.jpg.ec0fc7b805cc586ac0b6683cba7678eb.jpg

20230428_192845.thumb.jpg.50477a9f6c231b88023eddef2f5da185.jpg

20230428_192222.thumb.jpg.1325c00dcb4bc4e22a39bb3ad7877989.jpg

Edited by Marten

53 minutes ago, Marten said:

Aberfoyle Rob Roy 0-7 Gargunnock

Of all the 10 grounds in the Forth & Endrick League I've been to so far (all but Gargunnock, including Thornhill who are now in abeyance), this is my favourite. Lovely old turnstile, but especially the views were just great. The game itself was very one-sided. The scoreline still flattered the hosts as it should really have been double figures. And that while Gargunnock's goalkeeper went off injured after about 30 minutes without them having a reserve goalie. The outfield player who played 60 minutes in goal had no issues keeping a clean sheet.

Attendance: approx. 20 humans, 1 dog & 2,000 midges

image.thumb.jpeg.37f95ef3d9bed6d66e009c9550c22aeb.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.55d10ed04e517c99a4c5576a7ae18ff6.jpeg

20230428_193614.thumb.jpg.ec0fc7b805cc586ac0b6683cba7678eb.jpg

20230428_192845.thumb.jpg.50477a9f6c231b88023eddef2f5da185.jpg

20230428_192222.thumb.jpg.1325c00dcb4bc4e22a39bb3ad7877989.jpg

The worst midges I've ever encountered were at an Aberfoyle Rob Roy game. Lovely place, but I doubt I'll be back for that reason!

Auchinleck Talbot 2-0 Clydebank, WoS League Cup Final, 28/04/23.

A well deserved win for Talbot in Irvine as they really took control of the game after the break. They went ahead in the first minute of the second half and sealed it with a nice free kick not long after, also having a goal disallowed (I think rightly) for offside in between.

Clydebank had the better of the opening stages, missed a decent chance then hit the bar with a penalty. But they faded out the game and were comfortably beaten.

Highlight of my evening came pre-kick-off, when a local resident came out of her house to protest that my car was blocking the entrance to her driveway. As I showed her, it absolutely was not, and was not even close to doing so. But she continued to object and insisted that 'Mah man' would be most displeased when he came home. What exactly would displease him about a car being parked on a main road a perfectly legal and reasonable distance from his driveway is beyond me, but I decided this may add a level of hassle to my evening that I did not require, so shifted the car round the corner. Irvine seems nice...

Another lad round the corner was running up the street shouting down a phone (presumably to a neighbour) telling him to get pictures of all the cars parked for 'evidence'. Why he wanted evidence of legally parked motors is a question only he can answer. In fairness, Medda Park is not the most traffic-friendly of venues for a game like this.

Anyway, a good night at the fitba, and well done to Talbot.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Edited by DoingThe42

11 hours ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

The worst midges I've ever encountered were at an Aberfoyle Rob Roy game. Lovely place, but I doubt I'll be back for that reason!

The same here. There was a group watching with a box of cans. They set fire to the box in attempt to smoke out the midgies. 

Edinburgh University 1-2 Sauchie  (0-1 HT) @ East Peffermill 🌱. East of Scotland Qualifying Cup SF. 7.45pm. Good game on Tuesday night with plenty of action at both ends but Sauchie 🇦🇹 deserved winners reaching the final 🏆 after restoring their lead 10 minutes from time. Crowd 132.

F3D89AC7-AF6B-4E38-B219-6C97F15D2485.jpeg

B433A2E0-D513-4D76-85E6-A1F2F1C884F9.jpeg

175651D1-39FD-411C-B08E-93D6944A4BCD.jpeg

31827DAB-C370-4024-825D-C99413BC35EA.jpeg

West Ham United 1-2 Liverpool (1-1 HT) @ London Stadium 🌱. The home side ahead early on but Cody Gakpo ⚽ quickly equalised for Liverpool. Joel Matip ⚽ headed in what proved to be the winner midway through the 2nd half. Crowd 62,473.

4FFDBCB4-1244-492A-974B-A4045D1788F6.jpeg

9440467A-3979-4149-B7F1-1B59982D0C82.jpeg

7A1FE8FF-094F-4952-A29F-F35236614672.jpeg

Edited by Crow

Stoneyburn 2-1 West Calder

Back in our home from home in the East Third today after the West Cup Final last night*

A dreich day more reminiscent of the end of November not the end of April. Still brilliant though. I cannot praise the EOSFL enough, especially compared to the West. Bo'ness are getting the headlines for all their goals but the whole of this division is great. Friendly folk, basic, but very enjoyable grounds and even the odd Gambian international.

8th place Fulshie had the better of 4th placed West Calder for most of the game and were comfortable winners. Both these teams will be looking upwards next season once Bo'ness and Armadale are off into the sunset.

This game also featured my favourite shout ever. An irate lady from West Calder screaming "he's just kneed him in the baws".

Come to Stoneyburn you'll enjoy it.

*I didn't post because Clydebank isn't a random game for me. I take things literally autism's a b*****d

20230429_144835.jpg

20230429_154159.jpg

20230429_142143.jpg

Arthurlie 3-1 Kirkintilloch Rob Roy

3 penalties and a red card as Arthurlie ran out deserved winners at Dunterlie Park. 
It all started with an Arthurlie goal from the spot on 22 minutes followed by them being reduced to 10 men from the resulting kick-off. 
Rob Roy got level just before HT but didn’t really make their extra man count. A well worked goal and another penalty in the second half sealed the points for the home side. Rob Roy missed from the spot with only a few minutes to go.

Match Ticket: £7
Steak Pie: £2.30
Train Return Ticket: £4.20

8027E571-44F9-494A-AB0A-56E9D60A3C72.jpeg

2C26E85E-27B9-43D3-AFE2-8EEC1D9612C0.jpeg

Spartans 1-0 Brechin City. Spartans probably deserved their 1-0 win as despite being down to 10 they were probably slightly better team. Felt red card was the right decision but that ref was wrong not to send off the Brechin keeper in second half when he wiped out Spartans player outside box with a wild challenge. Brechin fans round me were shouting for foul on the keeper for the Spartans winner but looked like Blair Henderson got there first to me. 

IMG_8957.jpeg

IMG_8958.jpeg

Don’t get much time off work that doesn’t involve going to a Scotland game, so decided to do a bit of a European tour this week. 

Reymersholms IK 6-2 IK Viljan Strängnäs and AIK 0-0 IK Sirius 

Whilst enjoyable, not a patch on the German football experience - and the football wasn’t great. Stockholm is an absolutely stunning city though. 

92F15CFE-1238-4AE4-8C7F-12688AD3566E.jpeg

FA4DC50A-D37D-49D8-99F6-3D3F17632E64.jpeg