Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Linlithgow Rose 3-2 Newtongrange Star 🌹⭐ @ Prestonfield. EOS League Cup R1. The holders behind ⚽️ (39) but eventually levelled from the spot around the hour mark with the visitors also reduced to 10 men. Rose finally got in front late on before a Star consolation. Crowd 295.

1BE6813D-B5A4-4840-A67B-A6E46A523846.jpeg

B2D695CC-E546-4A2E-A5D3-9F6C0E80C33A.jpeg

464EE4E5-39A5-4E4D-9721-6138845475D7.jpeg

Edited by Crow

Hibernian 1-4 Rangers @ Easter Road Stadium 🌱. cinch SPFL Premiership. The home side took an early lead but were blown away 🔥 by in form Rangers who led 4–1 after an hour. A brilliant tribute 🇳🇬 to owner Ron Gordon, who recently passed away, before kick-off. Crowd 19,341.

9AD61B6D-9512-46EB-BE60-36C7C50BE8CE.jpeg

4742D4CA-282D-44C7-B9BE-B80586AE75A2.jpeg

50B632CA-438C-4010-BBD0-8B5190AD699B.jpeg

Newtongrange Star 0-2 Whitehill Welfare 

Through the weather and brain of Britian here gubbing his ankle yesterday we weren't sure if there would be a game for us today. However, the injury isn't as bad as first feared and Nitten survived the snow so East we go.

I think I've found it lads, favourite ground. Had been admiring it for a while and finally visited today. This is magnificent. Pavilion, proper toilets, covered enclosure and room to expand if they ever need to. The walk up the stairs to the entry is superb. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Slight downer that the game wasn't great, Nitten's promotion hopes take a dent but there is no harm done to Welfare's survival hopes. A softish penalty in the first half followed by an overhead kick with 15 to go in the difference.

20230311_150949.jpg

20230311_140538.jpg

20230311_145202.jpg

Haddington Athletic 4-3 Sauchie Juniors. Thoroughly entertaining East of Scotland premier league game. Haddington took the lead early only for Sauchie to go 1-3 ahead with 2 well taken goals and a bizarre 3rd when Haddington keeper kicked a clearance off the Sauchie number 9 and the ball looped up over his head into the net. Haddington managed to get it back to 2-3 with a great strike by  their number 8 just before half time. Second half continued to be end to end with Haddington taking their chances when Sauchie couldn’t. Well worth £7. Great set up at Millfield and always seems to more improvements every time I visit. Good to see they are issuing a programme again as well. 

D7FA6EA2-BC20-4BBB-B327-FB353D3D0815.jpeg

2928E68C-E14B-496C-B2C8-AB5D66FB9953.jpeg

Edited by Jute

Not sure if going to my own team’s game counts as a random match, but my first trip to Netherdale today.

That iconic concrete stand is just wow, I loved it. Great view from there, watched the second half from the grass banking on the other side.

Seemed a friendly enough bunch of locals, great turnout of Cowden fans today, and lentil soup for £1.50 on a cold day was absolutely top notch:

A596B389-FC7C-44DF-AD8A-CC0F3A5DBDDB.jpeg

627C4C43-CD93-43E7-AC79-3C396DE8D0EB.jpeg

3 hours ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

Through the weather and brain of Britian here gubbing his ankle yesterday we weren't sure if there would be a game for us today. However, the injury isn't as bad as first feared and Nitten survived the snow so East we go.

I think I've found it lads, favourite ground. Had been admiring it for a while and finally visited today. This is magnificent. Pavilion, proper toilets, covered enclosure and room to expand if they ever need to. The walk up the stairs to the entry is superb. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Slight downer that the game wasn't great, Nitten's promotion hopes take a dent but there is no harm done to Welfare's survival hopes. A softish penalty in the first half followed by an overhead kick with 15 to go in the difference.

20230311_150949.jpg

20230311_140538.jpg

20230311_145202.jpg

Yeah, really like Newtongrange’s ground as well, great place to watch a match. I think being mostly surrounded by tall trees gives it a right compact feeling.

5 hours ago, Cowdenleith said:

Not sure if going to my own team’s game counts as a random match, but my first trip to Netherdale today.

That iconic concrete stand is just wow, I loved it. Great view from there, watched the second half from the grass banking on the other side.

Seemed a friendly enough bunch of locals, great turnout of Cowden fans today, and lentil soup for £1.50 on a cold day was absolutely top notch:

A596B389-FC7C-44DF-AD8A-CC0F3A5DBDDB.jpeg

627C4C43-CD93-43E7-AC79-3C396DE8D0EB.jpeg

Womersley's Folly as it's known,named after architect Peter Womersley. Nice to see it's back in use again after repairs.

The wee stand on the other side came from Selkirk after they went bust.

8 hours ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

20230311_150949.jpg

20230311_140538.jpg

20230311_145202.jpg

The old Star ground was quite spectacular too- I posted a couple of photos on the History of Scottish Football thread the other week.

NVP was built on an old coal bing in 1994 by Walker Construction. I used to have a set of plans but I lent them to someone and never got them back...

Gala Fairydean Rovers 1-1 Cowdenbeath

My last ground in the Lowland League and I saved the best 'till last. What a wonderful old stand. The game was close, it was very clear that finishing is the main issue for Cowdenbeath. About 30 minutes in the hosts took the lead through a penalty, late on in the first half the visitors equalised. Cowdenbeath were defending very well and didn't let Gala go through, but they lacked the fire power up front. Gala Fairydean Rovers is very friendly club, there was a good atmosphere and I had a lovely chat with some Cowdenbeath fans on the train back after the game. Good day out all together.

image.thumb.jpeg.b79275cee43c0e896b7f5410aaeea1c6.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.7b314bd864eae692462abeddcfdf258b.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.253806af92fcc81407a6cc8ea2319746.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.ab749efaaad3398ccbc84a3a62c7ef95.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.ec062a879a1e0abb2d23a621e654c517.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.6b4c4c27ae0400dca7af216d1e697044.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.4479377c0dec8bdee14eb5842f69dc3c.jpeg

Banks o'Dee 1 Buckie Thistle 3. With ICT not playing, a chance for me to re-complete the HL grounds. Passed it many a time in the train.
£15 return auld c**t train ticket from Midlothian. 50p added for card payment entry (why?). £2 a strip for raffles? Nae pies left before kickoff. A carton of soup £2 but it was cold so got thrown away.
Weird ground, didn't like it much at all. Tucked among industrial units, worse than Cove imo. Only decent view was on the far side but the two shelters were packed and you were looking right into the sun. Buckie well worth it though, could have been more.

image.thumb.jpeg.ac08fd89e6d184eb60a534753abace7e.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.9323eec38eb541dac78ea5605bbde5b3.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.66c512549e2fbfd2c4cedf3277235ac0.jpeg

AFC Bournemouth 1-0 Liverpool @ Vitality Stadium 🍒. FA Premier League. The visitors start pretty well but don’t score, concede, then struggle badly to find a way back with Mo Salah even missing a penalty midway through the 2nd half. Bournemouth move off the bottom. Crowd 10,536.

AD6DC145-8266-4447-8A9D-C01C0DAE8A51.jpeg

40B0139C-A748-4F25-A245-DCB0337ECD14.jpeg

5C4E17FC-88A1-491B-82F8-8B2C51BB53B3.jpeg

16 hours ago, Cowdenleith said:

11 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Womersley's Folly as it's known,named after architect Peter Womersley. Nice to see it's back in use again after repairs.

2 hours ago, Marten said:

Gala Fairydean Rovers 1-1 Cowdenbeath

My last ground in the Lowland League and I saved the best 'till last. What a wonderful old stand. The game was close, it was very clear that finishing is the main issue for Cowdenbeath. About 30 minutes in the hosts took the lead through a penalty, late on in the first half the visitors equalised. Cowdenbeath were defending very well and didn't let Gala go through, but they lacked the fire power up front. Gala Fairydean Rovers is very friendly club, there was a good atmosphere and I had a lovely chat with some Cowdenbeath fans on the train back after the game. Good day out all together.

Got a visit from this guy David Bauckham when we were there with Whitehill in 2017. He flew up from Sussex for the day. A very long article and if you look closely there are one or two notorious p&b regulars in there

Gala Article

18 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Didn’t realise it had been closed, good that they made the effort, it certainly looks in good nick, though I needed a map to try and find the loo.  Eventually a kind local official let me use the referee’s toilet under the stand. 🤣

The wee stand on the other side is definitely on the dinky side, maybe FC Edinburgh could make a bid for it when they are upgrading the Marionville Road side of the ground. 🤔

East Stirlingshire 5, Dalbeattie Star 1

Was passing through the pebbledashed suburban skidmarks in between Edinburgh and Glasgow yesterday and it was a toss up between this and the Stenny game. As I hadn't seen the Shire since the day they dropped out of the SPFL set up in 2016, I opted for a freezing afternoon in the echoing Falkirk stadium..

Entry was free but I donated my ticket money to the collection for a local hospice. It was good to see that Shire still have a reasonable following of jovial eccentrics and outsiders although sad to recall that Mad Bill is no longer with us. Reckon there was 150-200 there and fair play to the half-handful of Dalbeattie fans who travelled all the way to watch this pish.

Shire, clad in a strange black shirt that seemed to have had white artex sprayed on it, were in front almost immediately and accumulated steadily. Pick of the goals was the nutmeg of the keeper for the second or the rifling drive for the fourth but the fact that Niyah Joseph scored four of Shire's five gives you an idea of the overall quality. Dalbeattie scored late on in rare breakaway and the Shire keeper was beside himself with rage at losing a clean sheet against the divisional backmackers, berating his defence for a good minute after the goal went in.

Dalbeattie's no 10 was ordered off for (?) I really don't know, maybe dissent or badmouthing the referee, and protested long and loudly on his way off the park. Rumour was the Police Scotland wanted to speak to him for being in possession of an indecent moustache, which had got in a time machine from Stevie Maskrey in 1983 straight onto his top lip, the poor lad.

The Shire fans are a friendly, welcoming bunch and long years of deadening failure have learned them not to take the game too seriously. They had one or two decent wee players but hard to judge them against such poor opposition. Sandy Clark is trying his best with virtually no resource it seems and his side did try and pass and move at pace, with mixed success. Decision making was patchy and a good cross was often followed by a dismal, aimless sclaff into the yawning empty whale's mouth of the south stand.

Dalbeattie tried to be organised but largely failed, and seemed to have accepted their impending relegation some time ago.

A quick detour to see the Kelpies on the way home so not bad overall

.334918732_579364864133617_4206710881876205632_n.thumb.jpg.41b9e499186679f52c029cb6d420271d.jpg

334909930_225180976557526_3848990598442704881_n.jpg.2ec6bc63ec91ee305bd5ff57970738b9.jpg

335078978_737966168029230_4264257012878235256_n.jpg.6e09f397be912436336e463abcf0145a.jpg

Edited by Ivo den Bieman

7 hours ago, The Mantis said:

Got a visit from this guy David Bauckham when we were there with Whitehill in 2017. He flew up from Sussex for the day. A very long article and if you look closely there are one or two notorious p&b regulars in there

Gala Article

Fascinating article, thanks for sharing, and some great pictures.

Looks like the repairs to the stand began shortly after this article was written in 2017, so glad they made the effort. 

4 hours ago, Ivo den Bieman said:

East Stirlingshire 5, Dalbeattie Star 1

Was passing through the pebbledashed suburban skidmarks in between Edinburgh and Glasgow yesterday and it was a toss up between this and the Stenny game. As I hadn't seen the Shire since the day they dropped out of the SPFL set up in 2016, I opted for a freezing afternoon in the echoing Falkirk stadium..

Entry was free but I donated my ticket money to the collection for a local hospice. It was good to see that Shire still have a reasonable following of jovial eccentrics and outsiders although sad to recall that Mad Bill is no longer with us. Reckon there was 150-200 there and fair play to the half-handful of Dalbeattie fans who travelled all the way to watch this pish.

Shire, clad in a strange black shirt that seemed to have had white artex sprayed on it, were in front almost immediately and accumulated steadily. Pick of the goals was the nutmeg of the keeper for the second or the rifling drive for the fourth but the fact that Niyah Joseph scored four of Shire's five gives you an idea of the overall quality. Dalbeattie scored late on in rare breakaway and the Shire keeper was beside himself with rage at losing a clean sheet against the divisional backmackers, berating his defence for a good minute after the goal went in.

Dalbeattie's no 10 was ordered off for (?) I really don't know, maybe dissent or badmouthing the referee, and protested long and loudly on his way off the park. Rumour was the Police Scotland wanted to speak to him for being in possession of an indecent moustache, which had got in a time machine from Stevie Maskrey in 1983 straight onto his top lip, the poor lad.

The Shire fans are a friendly, welcoming bunch and long years of deadening failure have learned them not to take the game too seriously. They had one or two decent wee players but hard to judge them against such poor opposition. Sandy Clark is trying his best with virtually no resource it seems and his side did try and pass and move at pace, with mixed success. Decision making was patchy and a good cross was often followed by a dismal, aimless sclaff into the yawning empty whale's mouth of the south stand.

Dalbeattie tried to be organised but largely failed, and seemed to have accepted their impending relegation some time ago.

A quick detour to see the Kelpies on the way home so not bad overall

.334918732_579364864133617_4206710881876205632_n.thumb.jpg.41b9e499186679f52c029cb6d420271d.jpg

334909930_225180976557526_3848990598442704881_n.jpg.2ec6bc63ec91ee305bd5ff57970738b9.jpg

335078978_737966168029230_4264257012878235256_n.jpg.6e09f397be912436336e463abcf0145a.jpg

Mad Bill unfortunately passed away a few years ago.

I saw his passion at Shire games certainly but there was another side of Bill- his daughter played (and still does) for a women's team and he was very supportive of her in a more calm way that when he was watching the Shire. He was a good lad to talk to on those occasions 

11 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Mad Bill unfortunately passed away a few years ago.

I saw his passion at Shire games certainly but there was another side of Bill- his daughter played (and still does) for a women's team and he was very supportive of her in a more calm way that when he was watching the Shire. He was a good lad to talk to on those occasions 

Yes Bill & Sophie were there supporting Montrose when we ejected Edinburgh City from the Cup at Meadowbank c. 2010. Probably the last time I saw him- behind the "jakey with a plastic bag" image which he played up to, he was a good guy.