Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

1 hour ago, DiegoDiego said:

With these attendances do Bonnyrigg have a bit of cash to spend in January in hope of ensuring their survival?

You might get more joy on the League 2 forum although for a well supported club there’s only about 3 Rose fans there and one is a complete dunderheid. There’s a long standing saga whereby the Rose separated from the social club so they don’t benefit from it (may have been sorted out but not sure), and @newcastle broon might tell you about the car park if you encourage him 😂
They’ve missed a couple of key players through injury- Dean Brett returned this week but Lee Currie is still missing. So they’ve had a few inexperienced youngsters who have had to fill their shoes/boots.
I imagine the lack of investment in the squad is part loyalty and partly that they have had to spend a fair bit on the ground. I thought their home form would keep them up but it’s not been great. I know the chairman and the treasurer and I think they are good guys who have performed miracles,  but not being a supporter I don’t have a scooby about the finances and have never spoken to anybody who does.

On 12/11/2022 at 14:45, eindhovendee said:

Finally made it to Buxton.

Hell of a hill to climb to get here, reminds me of home.

Glad that you enjoyed Buxton, brings back memories of when I did the Northern Premier League a few years back, some smashing grounds and great places to see.

National League North..

Buxton v Banbury United.

Pint for £3.00 in the bar and £3.00 for a Hot Dog.

A hybrid pitch which looks perfect.

Buxton fans buzzing at getting Ipswich away in the FA Cup, believe it will be their biggest game to date 

20221112_141827.thumb.jpg.5b9b5af549b7f1190c9b92e91a0418c4.jpg

20221112_141901.thumb.jpg.b102f5cad95981d7c451171079cdace2.jpg20221112_143224.thumb.jpg.be5266ba8d7ef221c547d308d9eb2521.jpg20221112_143136.thumb.jpg.1817aa303155d5aebebb0d2cfe4eda48.jpg20221112_142007.thumb.jpg.a9af4ff24d8f7f34b135ed46c1d3362c.jpg

Cumnock 3-3 Glenafton

We weren't even meant to be here. Were meant to be at Talbot v Clydebank but that was called off 30 minutes before kick off. Chic Young can go feck himself. AstroTurf pitches are the only way for teams at this level to have games on at this time of year.

What a game by the way! Tremendous stuff. Fiesty East Ayrshire Derby, Cumnock fans accusing the Glens of Mutton molestation, Glenafton taking a two nil lead into half time and then chuck it away only to score again to make it 3-3. Me getting cramp in my jaw because it was so cold.

Fantastic advert for the West of Scotland league. Townhead Park is smashing as well 2nd game here after the West Cup Final in June. Get yourself down if you can. Still haven't been to Beechwood [emoji1787]157c6767930068b1a103455c211263a6.jpgd2e614023a7b51245d47150a6269f4cf.jpgabdd6ecc6facb96cb14cd2de13f11ea5.jpg690ec1cd790a6056a2a052375c851881.jpg

Bonnyrigg Rose 3-1 Queen of the South ... Women’s Scottish Cup 🏆 R3 @ Poltonhall Recreation Park 🌱 on Sunday. With the scores level 1-1 at the break the home side took the lead and then sealed it late on. A crowd of 78 braved a pretty miserable 🥶 December afternoon.

5146D67C-4BB0-4CEF-88D8-339B4B3D28D9.jpeg

F38B575C-1549-4919-ACE0-689975A817D5.jpeg

BC39D757-8665-400B-B147-F3A6B240BF86.jpeg

Bo'ness Athletic 11-1 Livingston United.

Back to where the official groundhopping started in February as this game was one of the few that survived the cauld. 

We were at the reverse fixture and it was one of our favourite games. Knew Bo'ness were free scoring but christ, this was a pumping. Livi don't lose many games, it's the draws that have killed them. 

Bo'ness have the East of Scotland Third Division Haaland in Tiwi Daramola. A cheat code of a striker who can just do silly things, like keepie ups, cut inside then score. They'd scored 89 league goals in 16 game before today and they, unbelievably, managed to hit 100 on the 10th December! They didn't score in the 2-0 defeat to Livi. A new record for our ground hopping beating 5-4 at Sauchie, my record pumping ever, previously 9-2 and also beats that game for the most goals I've seen in a game.

I like Newton Park, I like both Bo'ness teams, good to see the relationship seems amicable. Problem for Athletic may be their players being pinched by the big team as some of the look Lowland League level.

20221210_152049.jpg

20221210_155529.jpg

20221210_155533.jpg

5 minutes ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

Bo'ness Athletic 11-1 Livingston United.

Back to where the official groundhopping started in February as this game was one of the few that survived the cauld. 

We were at the reverse fixture and it was one of our favourite games. Knew Bo'ness were free scoring but christ, this was a pumping. Livi don't lose many games, it's the draws that have killed them. 

Bo'ness have the East of Scotland Third Division Haaland in Tiwi Daramola. A cheat code of a striker who can just do silly things, like keepie ups, cut inside then score. They'd scored 89 league goals in 16 game before today and they, unbelievably, managed to hit 100 on the 10th December! They didn't score in the 2-0 defeat to Livi. A new record for our ground hopping beating 5-4 at Sauchie, my record pumping ever, previously 9-2 and also beats that game for the most goals I've seen in a game.

I like Newton Park, I like both Bo'ness teams, good to see the relationship seems amicable. Problem for Athletic may be their players being pinched by the big team as some of the look Lowland League level.

20221210_152049.jpg

20221210_155529.jpg

20221210_155533.jpg

The last I heard the clubs had fallen out, maybe they sorted it out though.

7b/42: Queens Park 2-0 Montrose, Challenge Cup, 10/12/22.

My sense of completeness forced me to take a trip to the national stadium yesterday, just as it will force me to go and see QP play at Lesser once they are moved in.

Montrose were by far the better side in the first half, but simply couldn't take any of the chances they created. A combination of poor finishing and good goalkeeping from Ferrie.

At half time I had to move and sit down nearer the front. Partly just for a change of scene, but mainly because the guy behind me was one of these unbelievable fucking bores who commentates through a game. 'Nice, Simon. Nice. Nice. Unlucky Simon. Come on, now, press. Come on, Dom. Nice, Dom. Nice. Play the pass. Go outside. No, come inside. Go outside. Nice. Nice. Nice. Unlucky.' SHUT THE f**k UP.

Boateng looked a good player for Queens Park, without really having a good game. Just looks technically good and probably has a level to go up. But in general they were really flat in this game. Dom Thomas put them ahead against the run of play with what I think was their only shot on target in the first half. Josh McPake finished it off on the break in injury time as Montrose pushed to try and force penalties.

Queens Park had improved in the second half, and it's a cup tie so they'll not be bothered. But an opportunity missed here for Montrose.

Had a wee look through the fence at Lesser. Given up trying to guess when they'll get in there, but I'll need to get along when they do.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5 hours ago, DoingThe42 said:

7b/42: Queens Park 2-0 Montrose, Challenge Cup, 10/12/22.

My sense of completeness forced me to take a trip to the national stadium yesterday, just as it will force me to go and see QP play at Lesser once they are moved in.

Montrose were by far the better side in the first half, but simply couldn't take any of the chances they created. A combination of poor finishing and good goalkeeping from Ferrie.

At half time I had to move and sit down nearer the front. Partly just for a change of scene, but mainly because the guy behind me was one of these unbelievable fucking bores who commentates through a game. 'Nice, Simon. Nice. Nice. Unlucky Simon. Come on, now, press. Come on, Dom. Nice, Dom. Nice. Play the pass. Go outside. No, come inside. Go outside. Nice. Nice. Nice. Unlucky.' SHUT THE f**k UP.

Boateng looked a good player for Queens Park, without really having a good game. Just looks technically good and probably has a level to go up. But in general they were really flat in this game. Dom Thomas put them ahead against the run of play with what I think was their only shot on target in the first half. Josh McPake finished it off on the break in injury time as Montrose pushed to try and force penalties.

Queens Park had improved in the second half, and it's a cup tie so they'll not be bothered. But an opportunity missed here for Montrose.

Had a wee look through the fence at Lesser. Given up trying to guess when they'll get in there, but I'll need to get along when they do.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Why were they allowed  to use Hampden?

SWPL Cup Final at Tynecastle. Rangers 2 Hibernian 0 in front of 3727. Hoped for a shock Hibs win but Rangers won comfortably with a goal in each half from Lizzie Arnot and Kirsty Howat. Adults were £8 but auld c***s like me were only £1 🥃

Hopped a bus back into town for a pint at the Kenilworth to warm up.IMG_7724.thumb.JPG.ca8ff44710153adc8ed16a8052711959.JPG

IMG_7727.thumb.JPG.92bea3721a722335f6b9b070c3146cca.JPG

IMG_7733.thumb.JPG.21fc9be9404a2f90b179cae1c0ab0b89.JPG

IMG_7737.thumb.JPG.645e92f580ab5844c3d1db550756b6df.JPG

Preston Athletic 0 Newtongrange Star 4. EOSL Div 1. Pennypit Park. Nitten kept up their title challenge with a convincing win in front of c150. As always, an excuse to visit the Goth at Prestonpans which has a brewery in the back, and they were offering a 6.8% dark ale at £3.60.

IMG_7721.thumb.JPG.ae2ff4d6f17db9b74483c6aa7aab4ef2.JPG

IMG_7722.thumb.JPG.ff1aa23f6c4b0a7ad5f2ad9ee97878f4.JPG

IMG_7718.thumb.JPG.592abc5335406c90501a0db372ba4e31.JPG

IMG_7723.thumb.JPG.8f5d7f42d83d6d72f1bfb1a2dad632cb.JPG

Dryburgh Athletic 0-0 FC Edinburgh Women (pen. 4-5)

The final of the SWF Championship & League One cup at the Indodrill Stadium in Alloa. It was a tight affair with both teams having a number of chances but failing to score, meaning the game went to penalties. Both missed once in the initial serie of 5 each. Then it went to sudden death and Dryburgh missed the first one, meaning FC Edinburgh win the cup. I didn't count the attendance, but it was very good for 2 third tier women's sides. The main stand I was at was pretty full, and a decent number of people on the stand opposite & standing on the sidelines too.

This is the second coldest I've been at a football match in Scotland, only beaten by... my first visit to the Indodrill Stadium!

20221211_150315.thumb.jpg.7088d1e8758ed31483e8ee060e10766b.jpg

20221211_143249.thumb.jpg.4c646356d644fe58445f6197d36cd648.jpg

20221211_135726.thumb.jpg.5b9afd5943c519f812fe85340554fbcc.jpg

20221211_135619.thumb.jpg.421ea15156670083962c793db92d498e.jpg

On 11/12/2022 at 16:58, The Mantis said:

Preston Athletic 0 Newtongrange Star 4. EOSL Div 1. Pennypit Park. Nitten kept up their title challenge with a convincing win in front of c150. As always, an excuse to visit the Goth at Prestonpans which has a brewery in the back, and they were offering a 6.8% dark ale at £3.60.

IMG_7721.thumb.JPG.ae2ff4d6f17db9b74483c6aa7aab4ef2.JPG

IMG_7722.thumb.JPG.ff1aa23f6c4b0a7ad5f2ad9ee97878f4.JPG

IMG_7718.thumb.JPG.592abc5335406c90501a0db372ba4e31.JPG

IMG_7723.thumb.JPG.8f5d7f42d83d6d72f1bfb1a2dad632cb.JPG

Love that pub. Was meant to be closing in January,  but fortunately they found a new tenant.

13 hours ago, philpy said:

Love that pub. Was meant to be closing in January,  but fortunately they found a new tenant.

Never knew that. Thought some of the Nitten fans would be in pre-match, but sadly there was only one other guy there who was just leaving when I came in. It’s a place I would go if it was handier.

With only QoS and FC Edinburgh surviving the freeze below the Championship the only other options in the East were Rosyth at Tier 7 and Heriot-Watt at Tier 8. So rather than stay in the hoose and watch Croatia - Morocco I headed along to Oriam. Plenty other EOS regulars there including @tamthebam.
The Watt looked a very good side and were comfortably 3-0 up at the break. A bit more even second half and it finished Heriot-Watt 3 Lochgelly Albert 0. The Watt challenging well in Div 2 but the Albert could be in trouble at the other end.

image.thumb.jpeg.33b9577bf2399206efa704f609a08bb4.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.5cd9aa9e4d56df2db033792d5274d0d5.jpeg

Edited by The Mantis

32/42: Queen of the South 1-2 Kelty Hearts, League One, 17/12/22.

A day that saw Plan A (Peterhead v Clyde) and Plan B (East Fife v Stranraer) called off ended up with a visit to Palmerston to see Kelty come from behind with two goals in the last ten minutes to move level with Queens and comfortably clear of the play-offs.

This was the first time I'd seen either side this season, and Kelty certainly seemed to have more about them than the hosts. Kelty played lots of decent build-up stuff but struggled to break through. I thought they had a decent shout for a penalty in the first half, after going 1-0 down to a nicely-worked goal from Paton.

Even at 1-0 up the home fans around me seemed less than impressed with the home team's less than imaginative style. 'PLAY SOME FUCKIN FITBA!' being one memorable shout.

Kelty equalised (deservedly) through Nathan Austin with a decent far-post finish before Higginbotham won it with a penalty a few minutes later after a foul by the keeper.

So, bad new for me, really. As I think Kelty's win today is the final nail in the Clyde coffin. A straight shoot-out between Clyde and Peterhead to make the play-offs and avoid going down automatically. In truth, that was probably the case weeks ago. But there we go.

Palmerston remains excellent. Shite pies, mind.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg