Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Loving the fact you are working, just off a bit paper. I have mines down on excel, but am looking to get as much information on the trips as possible. I am having to research okd raith games for attendances and scores. Which is a lot harder than it should be. I have my dad finding old programmes for me as well.
The blue are the ones i/we have been to. The small blue ones are ones i will be doing again.
a871cd9630c60ed6935ef50f31ee0db8.jpg
Give me the dates of the rovers games you need the attendances for as have a bunch of old programs there I can check

Lesmahagow 3-v0 Carluke

First visit to the tremendous natural amphitheatre, Craighead Park Lesmahagow for another game in the West of Scotland Third Division.

Had some great times in the 9th tier so far and this was no different. I know Craighead Park is infamous for landslides and postponements and even a fire but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Even if it was a but hairy coming down the 74 when it was chucking it and thinking we might have to reroute.

The Gow the better team throughout and well deserving of the comfortable victory. Some cracking goals including directly from a free kick and a penalty which killed the game as a contest.

Would recommend but doubt you'll have much chance to be there before March. 3d9d56536e97fb43ff864ff5fa3b4e6b.jpg9a0cd4175e1f054dd0b2bc7adbb2019b.jpg642a1dd68e013845f0b245949df0eac1.jpgb2134b376e1c4cfb5741817d1eb66335.jpg9fa8f276f65dc524ced6b947a524ea88.jpg

IMG_6557.jpg
IMG_6556.jpg
IMG_6563.jpg
IMG_6559.jpg
Keith 1 v 1 Nairn
A late deflected goal gave Nairn a point from a game they dominated from start to finish. Keith took the lead just before half time with a stonewall penalty, but it was against the run of play. Well deserved point for Nairn in the end. Enjoyable day out, couple of beers in the club bar and decent pies.

24/42: Alloa 2-1 Clyde, League One, 29/10/22

An absolute sickener for the BW at Recreation Park, losing to a last-minute goal (Luke Donnelly's second of the game) to make it ten defeats in a row.

Robbery is maybe a bit strong a word to use for this one, but Clyde didn't deserve to lose. They're struggling to get a break at the moment, summed up by the two-minute first-half spell when Clyde had a shot narrowly deflected wide, then Donnelly had a shot deflected into the top corner to give Alloa the lead.

Clyde rallied and produced a really strong performance. Levelled with a good goal from Kurtis Roberts, who put in a really good shift. Cameron had a strong second half for Clyde, and Ray Grant was good throughout.

But Clyde went down to ten men after Kennedy's second booking, a tired challenge. He should have been subbed earlier. Then lost it after failing to defend a free-kick in injury time. Whole move could have been stopped if Gomis had been a bit braver in the middle of the park.

So, a tenth consecutive defeat to begin the post-Lennon era. Grim. And this was a sore one. Clyde played well and should have taken something.

Special mention to the referee, who was spectacularly poor. He and his linesman in front of the Clyde fans were just guessing half the time.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Dalbeattie Star 0-2 Tranent Juniors
Islecroft is a delightful ground. An absolutely lovely old stand. The game wasn't the best, probably also due to the torrential rain during most of the game. Tranent were clearly the better side, but weren't very effective going forward which kept it exciting until they scored their second goal.

That gets me to 14/16 in the Lowland League and 160/283 overall. 6b0d83cbcdfb9cc95a5473add97739b5.jpgd94046dfa792bbc7f76fdf1986033c17.jpga002d7381531fe6b3310421a0216db7e.jpgcb3b636a7c0661fd36f4b1f657e51c1d.jpgc3e668f85bad36152f4d4bbb52370c85.jpg

East Craigie 3 Ellon United 1

Scottish Junior Cup

The Shipbuilders were the better side in the first half and should have gone in at the break more than one up. Ellon started the second half well and got a deserved equaliser. East Craigie came back into the match and scored a penalty before a convincing winner.

Great people at Craigie Park and made to feel very welcome. Will definitely be back.

Wishing them all the best in the next round against St Roch's.

20221029_151901.jpg

20221029_134151.jpg

20221029_144521.jpg

Tayport 0 Rutherglen Glencairn 4 (HT 0-4)

SJC, Round 3 at the Canniepairt. £6/£3 entry and £3 for a pie & Bovril. Never in doubt from the 11th minute when Glens went ahead following shoddy marking at a corner. The next 2 goals were poor defensively but the 4th by Burns was a cracking 30 yarder*.

*OK, 25 yarder, having just seen the highlights 😉

IMG_7591.thumb.JPG.a9f2712d9670d61baf0e205ae3650c02.JPG

IMG_7566.thumb.JPG.efb1f172c55a1f52804bc7f2bf2f838f.JPG

IMG_7571.thumb.JPG.881c7b528a582c6a7b54250675034efa.JPG

IMG_7587.thumb.JPG.b88c70cbe01f378860b036b7a176d9df.JPG

IMG_7596.thumb.JPG.5538785b0c6baf871714bb7db3ba842a.JPG

Edited by The Mantis

In Dundee for the weekend so went to Thompson Park for Lochee United v North End in the Quest Engineering cup.

Screenshot_20221030-115834_Gallery.thumb.jpg.f650c8d50d62a9db024a9a8b8dfd943e.jpg

Screenshot_20221030-115903_Gallery.thumb.jpg.ff0ab97690f7b986b80456200f131563.jpgScreenshot_20221030-115935_Gallery.thumb.jpg.24c5b4a6c2898c3b48dd28efda346801.jpg

Brilliant entertainment with a 4-3 win for North End. Some cracking goals.

Lochee were the better team for most of the game but couldn't put it to bed, up 3-2 with 10 mins to go they took their left back off who had been very steady and started a lot of their most dangerous moves.

Within  a few mins NE had scored twice to take the lead and held on.

Not a great result for The Chee who have since parted company with George Shields and Jinky.

Spoke with Kevin McNaughton after the game in the Logie Club and he was buzzing at a great result in his first game in charge at North End. 

On 27/10/2022 at 15:08, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

I've done the 42 having now given up the top four leagues for various reasons we're now on doing the 283 in the whole pyramid. On 101 (ish) of the current grounds

Wiki says 292 but don't shoot the messenger.
I've got to 245 in Scotland but that's including old ones like Muirton & Brockville. Not a fanatical groundhopper at all, just seen a lot of fitba since I was taken to Tynecastle in 1966 as a wee laddie for Bonnyrigg v Penicuik in the Junior Cup.
My totals are bumped up by watching Caley in the HL and ICT moving up the leagues, and my local teams Bonnyrigg in the Juniors and Whitehill in the EOS. Seen ICT at 55 grounds.

Edited by The Mantis

25/42: Ross County 1-2 Hearts, Premiership, 30/10/22.

Finally, a 42 Hearts or Clyde win. Only took the nine attempts.

Great three points for Hearts, but had to dig in with the - now usual - makeshift defence looking ropey pretty much all day. Got the points in the bag though, and the league table looks much healthier for Hearts suddenly. Big run of games coming up.

It's a great away day, but getting out of The Mallard is key. I don't know about other clubs, but when Hearts go there it's just rammed full of young team and is hard work. There are better options for your discerning fan.

What a month it's been. I've added twelve to my 42 tally, and have been to sixteen games in total in October. I think a more serene November now that I've broken the back of the 42. Maybe even a Saturday off.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

32 minutes ago, DoingThe42 said:

25/42: Ross County 1-2 Hearts, Premiership, 30/10/22.

Finally, a 42 Hearts or Clyde win. Only took the nine attempts.

Great three points for Hearts, but had to dig in with the - now usual - makeshift defence looking ropey pretty much all day. Got the points in the bag though, and the league table looks much healthier for Hearts suddenly. Big run of games coming up.

It's a great away day, but getting out of The Mallard is key. I don't know about other clubs, but when Hearts go there it's just rammed full of young team and is hard work. There are better options for your discerning fan.

What a month it's been. I've added twelve to my 42 tally, and have been to sixteen games in total in October. I think a more serene November now that I've broken the back of the 42. Maybe even a Saturday off.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Changed a bit since my only visit in 1991 (County 1 Meadowbank 6)! 

18 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

Changed a bit since my only visit in 1991 (County 1 Meadowbank 6)! 

I remember that one. Tam Hendrie brought me back a programme. Might even have the goals on video somewhere.

16 minutes ago, The Mantis said:

I remember that one. Tam Hendrie brought me back a programme. Might even have the goals on video somewhere.

It's certainly on YouTube

Match was oft postponed and the 3rd round tie went ahead on the day of the 4th round. 

Snow had been cleared off the pitch and the grass terrace was still a bit treacherous. Thistle scored and the Brake Club went sliding down the muddy slope to the tune of Ski Sunday! 

Edited by tamthebam
Spellung

Newcastle u21s 1 v Sunderland u21s 1 in action this evening in Premier League 2. A crowd of 2511 and a stoppage time equaliser from the Sunderland keeper . Segregation even at this level made it an amusing evening especially with the travelling fans going wild wi the equaliser. Only chance al get to see St.James' Park this season. £3 £1 entry. 

20221031_193252~2.jpg

20221031_190354.jpg

20221031_192016.jpg

Edited by newcastle broon