Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Heart of Midlothian 0 Killie 1. League Cup, Second Round.

I don't get to these shiny big grounds very often, so I enjoyed my trip to Tynecastle where their cute wee disco lights got an outing before the game.

Killie were well worth the win. Taylor putting in an incredible performance at the back, and Killie looking so much better than last time I saw them at Montrose. c352db18668b630870c3266e73617e15.jpg6b536de62d5820d2966ebd31c8997ba7.jpg718ceebd3347108444224ff1a7c4d597.jpg

Coldstream 2 Dunbar United 2

Who'd have thought 20 years ago I'd have seen THE DEVIL'S ILLUMINATION arrive at Home Park? Coldstream defended well, especially in the second half when Dunbar had most of the play. The match was held up in the first half when the Dunbar keeper rushed out of his box and clattered a Coldstream player. The keeper was lucky to get only a caution and the unfortunate Coldy player suffered a broken arm. Fortunately, the ambulance came quite quickly- he might have had a wait in Edinburgh. Not a bad turnout and an entertaining game for the neutral. 

coldA.thumb.jpg.c13a7ce2b44ba47fd12cd75988ed81e2.jpg

cold8.jpg.c02b8ae54d297672fca98f6d815b98cf.jpg

cold12.thumb.jpg.74771238e95d36cbe7fb974822c42fd4.jpg

Benburb 0 - 1 Blantyre Vics

Friday Football Fest in Fo... Govan. I say fest but the first half here made West Germany v Austria in 1982 look like peak Brazil 1970 or Barcelona 2011. A red card for Benburb after about half an hour gave the game a kick up the arse and came to life for a bit and Blantyre scored a deserved goal just after half time.

A few rumours flying about from the probable "to increase the attendance" (which to be fair it did) to the conspiratorial "to let the players watch the Old Firm game". Given the often turgid football on display and disappointing New Tinto Park I wonder how many of the enlarged crowd will be back? We're going back to the East for a while in the huff.2f8e57a4155548c2e58ec5029f08289e.jpg7c0fe9f21c8029430d0549a98f2d8018.jpg5d53074065fe0a740edd34d1f990bc39.jpgdd69d5c4f634cb7aa6f0a0ae4d70dbe3.jpg

Camelon 2-3 Preston Athletic

Mair like it! Should have listened to myself earlier. The East is a far better league for entertainment.

Like a basketball game at times. Camelon open the scoring after the Preston player is nutmegged by a through ball. Some lovely football on show. Preston got 3-2 ahead just after half time and managed to kill the game.

[emoji445] "Go East, the fitbaw's better there" [emoji445]1f8f2fa07fb96a84bd7c42ccc293a724.jpge8f1d4be526a61d658f6d961f651f07f.jpgbeeb94df32da14ced51cb2a1af8dc805.jpg

Lothian Thistle Hutchinson Vale 1-5 Blackburn United. Not the random game I intended going to but due to public transport in Edinburgh grinding to a halt ended up heading to Anislie Park for this one. Blackburn 2nd was a great free kick and they were miles ahead of LTHV today. 

D076912C-E9E1-47E8-9664-58AA5FC9A84E.jpeg

3F11BD02-E784-41EE-BE4E-5CE63ADF08A6.jpeg

ETA - There has been a bit of progress with the new stand at Ainslie Park with roof frame now in place. 

BC1BA1EE-8A23-436B-9778-4A0D2409F22F.jpeg

Edited by Jute

11/42: Livingston 1-0 Hearts, 3/9/2022 - Premiership.

My first time at Livingston for 17 years. I just don't enjoy going there, so usually use it as an excuse to go and see another game. But this season I needed to go, so along I went yesterday.

Thought Hearts started pretty well and controlled the game until going behind. After that Livi managed the game well and easily deserved to win. Desperately poor from Hearts once they went behind.

I didn't enjoy it enough to reverse my policy of avoiding this venue, but top marks to the curry pies. Also weird to see Candy Floss on sale. Is this normal and I've just not been paying attention?

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

BSC Glasgow Women 1-3 St Mirren Women. 

St Mirren in control at 2-0 up, but BSC scored with 15 minutes to go and made it a frantic ending. St Mirren scoring a late third while BSC were pushing for an equaliser. Decent standard in the fourth tier of the Women's game.

Crowd around 25 including Navid from Still Game.

20220904_140533.jpg

53 minutes ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

BSC Glasgow Women 1-3 St Mirren Women. 

St Mirren in control at 2-0 up, but BSC scored with 15 minutes to go and made it a frantic ending. St Mirren scoring a late third while BSC were pushing for an equaliser. Decent standard in the fourth tier of the Women's game.

Crowd around 25 including Navid from Still Game.

20220904_140533.jpg

I think that's Isa in goals.

Arbroath Victoria 2-2 Tayport

A late change of plan led to a visit to Ogilvy Park. The idiomatic game of two halves - Vics were the better team in the 1st half and led 2-0 at the break. Tayport were much improved in the 2nd half and the pressure eventually earned them the draw. Vics may feel it was 2 points dropped as there was more than a hint of offside to the late equaliser.

20220903_152341.jpg

20220903_151721.jpg

Edited by forfarton

On 04/09/2022 at 10:08, DoingThe42 said:

11/42: Livingston 1-0 Hearts, 3/9/2022 - Premiership.

My first time at Livingston for 17 years. I just don't enjoy going there, so usually use it as an excuse to go and see another game. But this season I needed to go, so along I went yesterday.

Thought Hearts started pretty well and controlled the game until going behind. After that Livi managed the game well and easily deserved to win. Desperately poor from Hearts once they went behind.

I didn't enjoy it enough to reverse my policy of avoiding this venue, but top marks to the curry pies. Also weird to see Candy Floss on sale. Is this normal and I've just not been paying attention?

4.jpg

I think we're trying to do a lot more to engage with younger supporters now, they were selling those stupid kazoo things too :D I think last season we gave 2-3k tickets away to school kids about 3 or 4 times so there's finally a dedicated effort again set out to building up our fanbase. Nice to see the club at least doing something about it, we need to make the most of it while we're in the top flight and try get fans to get behind the team. 

I think we're at something like 1,200-1,400 season ticket holders up from 700 5 years ago. Next milestone to aim for is 2,000 hopefully. 

Edinburgh United 2-2 Ormiston Primrose 🌸 @ Paties Road Stadium on Tuesday 23rd August. United twice came from behind ⚽️ to earn a fourth successive draw in East of Scotland League Division 2. Both sides with chances to win it in the closing stages but it ended honours even. 🧮 Crowd 49.

A5555527-67A6-4F9C-BD6F-3D4D25382A40.jpeg

EA0359F2-CDCA-4B15-AA7B-5743DCB55EA9.jpeg

CAD11D79-D64D-4D51-98B9-23A19CFCE5D2.jpeg

FC Edinburgh 3-2 Stranraer @ Meadowbank Stadium 🌱. The home side through to Round 3 of the SPFL Trust Trophy 🏆 thanks to a Danny Handling hat-trick ⚽⚽. Stranraer competed well  but didn’t take their chances and the 2nd came too late in injury time. Crowd 248.

BE20B122-1A86-44AD-BE33-4A39A538DDC7.jpeg

300EDFE8-3B34-4EDC-811F-96A463CE7763.jpeg

835B4CF7-0776-4144-9683-00574449B107.jpeg

Edited by Crow

Heart of Midlothian 0-1 FC Zurich🇨🇭 (1-3 on Aggregate) @ Tynecastle Park. UEFA Europa League 🏆 PO. Hearts are impressive for 54 minutes but don’t take their chances and are reduced 🔴 to 10 men. FC Zurich finished the tie off with a goal with 10 minutes to go. Crowd 17,225.

2A22C2B8-FDA3-4446-918B-53D371F14C5F.jpeg

6A077B48-26D2-4686-BE35-DE90DE4D0FF7.jpeg

488CAC98-DA2C-4E57-B7FE-1F30CA53810D.jpeg

Early start for Liverpool U18 4-2 Manchester United U18 @ LFC Academy on Saturday 27th August. Really good game with Trent Kone-Doherty putting the home side 2-0 up at the break. United pulled one back but a 3rd and 4th followed before a late penalty. Ben Doak 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 outstanding. Crowd 175.

236861E0-0D64-45E1-808E-5C90199EBF5E.jpeg

3067B81F-A3E5-430C-897F-D5E7634A159D.jpeg

201EA910-646B-46FA-8D47-A69E9A040006.jpeg

5469D345-C781-4525-8901-9F5440335EF0.jpeg

Edited by Crow

Rangers 3-1 Queen of the South @ Ibrox Stadium 🌱. Premier Sports Cup 🏆 R2 action in Glasgow and not a bad effort at all from League 1 Queens. The highlight a 17th minute equaliser 💥. Rangers only sealing the win in the 86th minute. Crowd 30,569 with just under 1000 away fans.

10083791-6451-419E-B8D0-EE287F007A5E.jpeg

FF846B7C-37EB-4498-BED6-42B1F66A4B10.jpeg

4DF07407-CF05-4861-851C-188B555F3ADA.jpeg

EBF03A2F-6732-40DE-91F7-7049097B3527.jpeg

Everton 0-0 Liverpool 🔵🔴 @ Goodison Park. 12.30pm kick-off on Saturday and a pretty frantic 💥 game that either side could have won but it somehow ended goalless. Mo Salah hit the woodwork in injury time and the ball ⚽ somehow stayed out. Crowd 39,240.

032D5E07-1B35-41E9-A15F-F3D2CD7C3551.jpeg

4E5F103D-E50B-49F9-9415-58EEA225BA58.jpeg

FA5DA9CB-79AE-4F2D-AFED-9D38ACB28E65.jpeg

Edited by Crow

This weekend I went to Tonbridge Angels against Dulwich Hamlet in National League South. After a close-ish first half the Angels sent a pisspoor Hamlet staggering back up the road, their ears ringing from a 3-1 cuffing.

Hamlet have a good and noisy following but they were unable to help their team, whose manager Gavin Rose is in the carrion stage of his job there; it's not working, the players are arguing amongst themselves, no pace or organisation at all about the side. Tonbrige were suffering from a lot of injuries and had had a run of defeats before the game but they ended up winning deservedly. Four fine goals with Gard's late run at a defence which obligingly opened up for him the pick. Forwards Lewis Collins & winger Tetteh-Quaye Addy were good to watch as well. Long serving Angels keeper Jonathan Henly is a Scotland U-21 cap but I;d never come across him before. He had a really good game too.

There was a crowd of just under 1,000 there and it was a good day out. The ground, on the outskirts of town in the middle of a nice park, feels a bit half-built but they seems to be working on it a lot. I quite liked Angels, a friendly, laid back atmosphere with some good beers on offer for those on the supporters' bus and generally a decent day out. £15 to get in.

301368741_1237913280395502_8851050642367719262_n.jpg.dc6968230e12a83e205573e0932ec9cf.jpg  305181185_773832377259986_4013778499809092654_n.jpg.6aa7a84f2c723f5b587d0160d9e8db94.jpg