Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

4 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Dalkeith Thistle 0 Lochee United 0 HT.
Scottish Cup Preliminary Round.

The Road to Hampden started badly for the Lochee supporters bus, which turned up a good 30 minutes into the game. It's always a gamble pointing a vehicle around the City Bypass outwith the golden quiet hour of 2am-3am (on aleternate Sunday mornings). Lochee may have found this to their cost.

Fortunately their absence left me with a clear run at the pie hut, and I made good on my intention to demolish a steak pie. And another. Absolutely outstanding pies.

Game has been finely balanced so far. Dalkeith had a couple of good chances early on which surprised me as I thought this would be quite one sided.

5a3b77602ee771c68866a0949d3940ce.jpgacd3a44cee391f8516b758a98ce60345.jpg

Ah that’s why I never got a pie.

Game finished 3-1 to Lochee who managed to overcome a howler from their keeper that let Dalkeith back in the game. 

Thought crowd was a bit disappointing given Dalkeith’s decent start to the season and it being Scottish Cup.

2DC43CC2-AE07-446B-BC25-4200F54538E7.jpeg

A109A973-122D-4E98-B7C8-29CE7EDAD3DB.jpeg

2 minutes ago, Jute said:

Thought crowd was a bit disappointing given Dalkeith’s decent start to the season and it being Scottish Cup.

Tbf quite a few competing attractions in the area today for the neutrals... Bonnyrigg v Stirling Albion (crowd of 1,054) - Penicuik v Musselburgh (crowd of 341) and Whitehill v Camelon in cup... etc.

I’m down south so took in Bromley v Scunthorpe in the National League.

For two full time teams game was of a poor Scots League One standard. The first half was more entertaining with Bromley’s captain dismissed for a brainless stamp on Scunthorpe’s no.9, with the home coach dismissed shortly afterwards, after a prolonged seething meltdown on the touchline.

Scunthorpe unfortunately are comically shit these days and despite the man advantage were laboured and disjointed. Bromley scored a comedy-stricken goal early in the second half after some appalling defending and never looked like letting the narrow lead slip.

Bromley are a big physical side likely to be on the fringes of the NL play-offs. As for Scunthorpe, oblivion beckons I’m afraid. An absentee owner, terrible manager & poor squad means they are likely to face yet another battle to avoid dropping into Tier 6. 

Nice ground, a bit sunburnt. 

F952B143-0145-4CB2-BEA9-A1A65DBF68C2.jpeg

4957ADE8-777B-4AB6-AD01-6DB562FE7F02.jpeg

FC0AFE24-5DFC-4BCC-9D75-37D7507B997E.jpeg

Tbf quite a few competing attractions in the area today for the neutrals... Bonnyrigg v Stirling Albion (crowd of 1,054) - Penicuik v Musselburgh (crowd of 341) and Whitehill v Camelon in cup... etc.
I don't know what the exact crowd at the Pennypit was today, but I was expecting there to be a bigger crowd than there appeared to be.

22 hours ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

Whitehill Welfare 1-4 Camelon

Scottish Cup preliminary round.

Here to recomplete the Lowland Legaue without having to entertain Hearts B. Good grief what a game though.

Bad tempered game with many meaty challenges flying in, that's okay though as there were no future World Cup winners on show. Did something happen between the two clubs?

Whitehill apparently missing some players and it did show. Camelon the better team throughout deserved win for the Mariners.

If you were behind the Camelon goals first half and are bearded, grey on top and slightly, ehhh, rotund then you're in one of my photos 😉

23 minutes ago, The Mantis said:

If you were behind the Camelon goals first half and are bearded, grey on top and slightly, ehhh, rotund then you're in one of my photos 😉

Innocent on that one my lud. Purple polo shirt near the pavilion 

2 minutes ago, Autistisches Nilpferd said:

Innocent on that one my lud. Purple polo shirt near the pavilion 

Ah right, I just had a guess from your first shot. I was down where the players enter the park for the last 10 mins. I hope you noted the best trees in the league, at least that's something WW can brag about 😂

Pollok 6-0 Girvan in the preliminary round of the Scottish Cup.

Probably time to stop filing Pollok under random matches for me - my third trip to Newlandsfield and fourth time overall watching them in recent months. (The three games at Newlandsfield have yielded 18 goals!)

Pollok comfortably the better team, although a 6-goal difference was probably a touch flattering. Still about 30 minutes left to play when it went to 6-0 and I was wondering if my record of never seeing a team score more than 7 was about to be broken, but not to be.

Here’s goal number 5 going going gone in…

F08B9E55-CE9E-4E01-91D6-E5B7D2F4CCD9.jpeg

9E2FA52E-6570-4014-A857-306C8176EC7D.jpeg

Gartcairn Women 3-2 Montrose
A decent game was unfortunately overshadowed by an incident midway through the first half. Two players collided with their heads and the Montrose player had to be taken to hospital. I can only hope that she will be OK and recover soon. The Gartcairn player had to come off too but it didn't seem too bad in comparison. Hopefully she'll be OK too.
c3fe773ddd52d18a3514f3e0d7ec990d.jpgcfa4909182b162dd4977e0c819389d66.jpg

Back to Tynecastle (last visit for a league game for quite a while, I think) for Sunday's home win over St Johnstone. My first time in the Gorgie Stand for about twenty years. Full of weans and uninterested parents. Not for me.

An exciting game, and mainly just relieved Hearts got the job done. A decent, noisy St Johnstone support. Lovely day for it as well.

Main Stand.jpg

St J fans.jpg

Tynecastle.jpg

Wheatfield.jpg

20220829_145405.thumb.jpg.8870eb795081e84d1caada7f712930a8.jpgJust a 10 minute drive to Ironmould Lane for Western League Division 1 Brislington v Wincanton. Scrappy on a bone hard pitch, Bris raced into a 30 lead through poor defending tbh and it seemed game over.31 tight angle finish 32 far post tap in and on around 90+8 a cross from the right was stabbed home to delight the travelling support in a crowd of around the 90-100 mark.

19 minutes ago, Andy groundhopper said:

20220829_145405.thumb.jpg.8870eb795081e84d1caada7f712930a8.jpgJust a 10 minute drive to Ironmould Lane for Western League Division 1 Brislington v Wincanton. Scrappy on a bone hard pitch, Bris raced into a 30 lead through poor defending tbh and it seemed game over.31 tight angle finish 32 far post tap in and on around 90+8 a cross from the right was stabbed home to delight the travelling support in a crowd of around the 90-100 mark.

Some slope on that pitch

Livingston United 2-0 Bo'ness Athletic

The wee team in Livingston against the wee team in Bo'ness. A poor way to spend a Tuesday night you'd think? How wrong you'd be, early contender for one of the best nights of the season.

Superb game, only two goals but Bo'ness managed to never look like scoring despite hitting the bar and side netting twice, the post once and missing a penalty. Also a man sent off in the first half.

The crowd of about 50 were thoroughly entertained. We were standing between the dugouts and if you do visit Station Park I suggest you stand there too. Brilliant banter and seethe between the dugouts and a linesman with a fantastic sense of humour. Loved our visit here favourite game since our 5-4 at Sauchie in May.db80b0555d5904f89708acc3fc65e773.jpg3df47152a5084951b1a8e4be32a10c45.jpgaa93ffb6682d37ac7771e46c3f85a199.jpg

East Kilbride 1-1 East Stirlingshire, Lowland League 30/8.

League leaders EK drop 2 points at home to Shire, who more than deserved their result.

EL led at half time, but had never really convinced. Dean Watson equalised for Shire with a beauty in off the near post in the second half. Shire went down to ten men but were still easily worth their point.

My first time at EK in about four years and it's noticeable how little the club has grown. Even though they do well on the park, they don't seem to have caught on in the town at all. We stood chatting to some Shire fans all through the game. Good guys and I was pleased their team got a result.

Horrible looking top of the Lowland League with EK followed by Rangers B and Caledonian Braves then Open Goal Broomhill. Absolutely vile.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Bathgate Thistle 2-3 Pumpherston
A very entertaining game. Pumpherston scored a screamer early on, but Bathgate took the lead before half time. Pumphy scored an even better goal for their equaliser. A draw would probably have been a fair result, but the guests grabbed the win deep into stoppage time.

I've now visited 58 out of 60 clubs in the East of Scotland League. 1b26232508fdcf933664bc883dafd390.jpgd0b307ad5b37b1ebeea956ddf76aef91.jpg526342f2ca282b050b9b6ef2eb5a9e5a.jpg1a2cf1c52ac7eaf4294d6548ab052026.jpg01a0cab0904e084f66e06cb05da160a7.jpg

5 minutes ago, Marten said:

Bathgate Thistle 2-3 Pumpherston
A very entertaining game. Pumpherston scored a screamer early on, but Bathgate took the lead before half time. Pumphy scored an even better goal for their equaliser. A draw would probably have been a fair result, but the guests grabbed the win deep into stoppage time.

I've now visited 58 out of 60 clubs in the East of Scotland League. 1b26232508fdcf933664bc883dafd390.jpgd0b307ad5b37b1ebeea956ddf76aef91.jpg526342f2ca282b050b9b6ef2eb5a9e5a.jpg1a2cf1c52ac7eaf4294d6548ab052026.jpg01a0cab0904e084f66e06cb05da160a7.jpg

Cracking ground that one. Who's left?

Sunderland 3-0 Rotherham United. Win was even more comfortable than score line suggests. Simms and Stewart both excellent and forming a really good partnership on tonight’s evidence. 

Train down was cancelled so another refund on its way. Managed to get on to earlier Cross Country train so got down earlier than original train. 

6754954B-A742-4524-8035-2C1B0CFE90F5.jpeg

Edited by Jute