Random Matches You Are Going To...

Haitch

Linton Hotspur 2-2 Tweeddale Rovers @ New Moor Road 🌱 last Thursday night. Really good friendly match at a cracking wee ground. Loads of chances at both ends and the woodwork hit 4 times. The home side 2-0 up in the 2nd half but Tweeddale pulled back level. 🧮 Crowd 58.

A808871B-7BF6-4E9F-A55D-7146CCA668ED.jpeg

F22EAC07-0803-4F65-A725-D1DC0E1B8A7B.jpeg

58C15D88-2B26-4E4D-90A2-8867CC3EBB52.jpeg

Barrow Town 1-5 Radford @ Riverside Park 🌱 in the United Counties League 1st Division on Saturday. Handy 1.45pm kick-off just outside Leicester with the visitors running out convincing winners. The home featured 3 different goalkeepers. 🧮 Crowd 240.

B178CCAF-147A-4F7A-8B85-5A23E0AAC8CD.jpeg

4BE40519-6A75-440D-888F-F0E7EA957E21.jpeg

ED479A0C-65AB-4F21-902E-335F68417A63.jpeg

On 29/07/2022 at 03:09, IrishBhoy said:

Me and my friend are trying to plan a European weekend away where we can take in a couple of matches. We’ve been to Germany and the Netherlands before, and fancied going somewhere that’s maybe not as popular but can still guarantee a lively atmosphere at the games as well as a nice city to explore. 

From the research I’ve done over the last few days Krakow looks like somewhere that could tick all those boxes. Neither of us have been to Poland before so that would be a bonus, and if we chose our games correctly I’m sure we could guarantee a good atmosphere. Has anyone got any experience of watching football in Krakow? Is it easy enough to get tickets etc. As well as either Wisla Krakow of Cracovia, we would quite like to take in a lower league game as well. I know there’s some guys on here with an encyclopaedic knowledge of lower league European football, are there any teams in the Krakow region that would be worth visiting anytime between the start of September and the end of October?

Cracovia might be a little tricky for tickets as their ground only holds 15,000, but then perhaps I'm being a little optimistic at their crowds. Wisla now play in the 2nd tier, so that could be an interesting experience. Just had a look at the 2nd tiers wikipedia page, and the stadium map shows that half the league is pretty close to Krakow so plenty choices there I'd think. Like the Ekstraklasa, the 2nd tier games are pretty well staggered out over the weekend too.

If you haven't booked yet, or are considering future trips, I'd highly recommend Hungary. Games spread out over a weekend, no problem at all getting tickets, and cheap as chips. Quality of football is pretty dire, but despite low crowds, every club has a good wee Ultra section to keep a decent atmosphere. Even if you don't fancy some games in Hungary, you can also do fairly short train journeys to Vienna, Bratislava and Prague.

Liverpool 3-1 Manchester City @ King Power Stadium. The Reds deservedly win the FA Community Shield in Leicester 🛡. Mo Salah ⚽ & Darwin Nunez ⚽ with late goals after Man City had equalised ⚽ Trent Alexander Arnold’s ⚽ 1st half strike. Standard frightening and a great game. Crowd 28,545.

86BE145A-73B4-4141-AC08-29266408DCEC.jpeg

9BB47BCE-49FE-4AAE-ABB0-F0D58AD50F07.jpeg

83E8F7F9-39FA-419B-965F-7BE93B24B22A.jpeg

Edited by Crow

Saturday 30th July - DFB Pokal - Viktoria Berlin 0-3 VfL Bochum - Att. 5000

While the rest of the country was heading off to the opening day of the new SPFL season, I was in Berlin for a long weekend which nicely coincided with the 1st round of the DFB Pokal. Was really hoping that Schalke would draw a team in Eastern Germany, but alas, it wasn't to be. A nice experience instead was had, at the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn Sportpark. Now, this isn't Viktoria Berlin's historical home, that would be the Stadion Lichterfeld. But that was fine, as their temporary home is only a short U-Bahn ride from Alexanderplatz where I was staying. The ground itself, as you can see, has shades of Hampden about it. View wasn't great from behind the goals I must say. But a pleasant enough stadium.

Viktoria themselves play in the Regionaliga, Germany's 4th tier. They were promoted to last seasons 3. Liga for the first time in their history, hence the stadium move, but immediately went back down. Viktoria did play some nice stuff against their Bundesliga opposition. First 15 or so, I did actually think we could see an upset on the cards, but in terms of chance conversion, Bochum's quality just shone through and Viktoria made it too easy for them at times. Crowd was listed at 5000, with Bochum fans accounting for 3/4000 of that number. Fair few in the Viktoria end seemed much like myself who were just there to watch a game of football.

5 Euros a beer or juice was a bit steep, and 4 euros for a Bratwurst served in, not a bread roll, but literally a slice of bread from a packet. Cash only too which wasn't ideal. The tiny club shop inside the stadium did take card, but only one scarf available which was a half and half scarf to commemorate the days tie. Not what I'd opt for but a nice souvenir all the same. 15 Euros for the match ticket wasn't too bad, but paid for my girlfriend too, so all in all, spent about 70 Euros on match tickets, food and drink and a scarf at a 4th tier clubs game. Suppose, every little helps though.

image.thumb.png.0ad55b641aa936a8d20dea9f823e0882.pngimage.thumb.png.e328485fc48dcc14c1789413bf07a190.png

Edited by Connor1874

Downfield 2-3 Kirrie Thistle (3 August)

Dundee United scored a great goal against AZ Alkmaar yesterday evening but I found the game overall a bit boring (watching on TV). The match at Downfield was a much more entertaining affair. A fairly even game in the first half with Kirrie going ahead after around 35 minutes and the equaliser shortly before HT. Downfield looked the better side in the 2nd half and deservedly took the lead. Kirrie scored with a penalty at around 84 minutes and nicked the 3 points with a 90+2 min goal. The ref won't want to return to Downfield Park in a hurry having made himself very unpopular with both the home dugout and the vocal support. 

Edited by forfarton

Second appearance of the week on this fine thread for Linton Hotspur. Tonight Edinburgh United U20s visited to be run ragged.

Crowd was 25 ish.

Random for me only in the sense that I went out for a walk after my tea and happened upon this two minutes along the road! Didn't know a game was on tonight.

216b3e33e587b9aa53c135db68730bbe.jpgdd4f07a77117f2b446ec737d0f315a0a.jpge1e6b6b7e31d8c80febfba8d80a0fbe8.jpg

Lothian Thistle Hutchinson Vale 1-2 Penicuik Athletic. Entertaining game just edged by 10 man Penicuik. Pleasant evening for watching football so a bit disappointing only around 100 came out to see it. 

721D7B76-3E0C-4A65-8359-394C697B9D26.jpeg

B39841DD-6156-42D8-BA50-5F9EC60ED0DD.jpeg

3 hours ago, Jute said:

Lothian Thistle Hutchinson Vale 1-2 Penicuik Athletic. Entertaining game just edged by 10 man Penicuik. Pleasant evening for watching football so a bit disappointing only around 100 came out to see it. 

721D7B76-3E0C-4A65-8359-394C697B9D26.jpeg

B39841DD-6156-42D8-BA50-5F9EC60ED0DD.jpeg

LTHV don't have many fans but I thought there might have been more from the Rookie Cookie who do have a decent support.

Ah well 

9 hours ago, Le Tout P'ti FC said:

Second appearance of the week on this fine thread for Linton Hotspur. Tonight Edinburgh United U20s visited to be run ragged.

Crowd was 25 ish.

Random for me only in the sense that I went out for a walk after my tea and happened upon this two minutes along the road! Didn't know a game was on tonight.

216b3e33e587b9aa53c135db68730bbe.jpgdd4f07a77117f2b446ec737d0f315a0a.jpge1e6b6b7e31d8c80febfba8d80a0fbe8.jpg

That is the kind of walk after tea I’m talking about lol. Great wee set up at LH ... wouldn’t be surprised to see them in the EOSFL next season. 

Melton Town 2-0 Selston @ Melton Sports Village 🌱. Saturday night United Counties League Premier Division North action and the home side secure the 3️⃣ points with goals shortly before and after half time to get their new season up and running. The home of the Melton Mowbray pie! Crowd 316.

B02850B7-BED7-4145-AB7F-30623343AB8D.jpeg

03A29AF2-F3C4-466E-A4B0-4C10F75E7ABF.jpeg

48CB6383-C539-45AA-9DE2-896197EC66FC.jpeg

Threave Rovers 4 Campbeltown Pupils 0 FT.

Grotesquely lopsided game. Threave took the lead after four minutes and it has been incessant attacks on the Campbeltown goal ever since.

Hopefully Campbeltown will give their away support (me plus me alone I think!) something to cheer in the second half.

Had a nice wander around Threave Castle before the game so all is not lost. Cracking day out actually. Never in a hundred years would I have visited here were it not for the fitba!

EDIT - much improved second half from Campbeltown. Kept Threave down to a few chances only and even got up the park themselves a few times.

270d0db837920e0bb3716b5ab02cfcd9.jpg0a9811259121323f05bcaaf146a091df.jpgfd220b6a47d8ceda1e61fa684c88e4c9.jpg

Brechin City 3-1 Formartine United

A long overdue visit to the Hedge for our first Highland League game of the Season.

City the better team throughout and could have won by more were it not for a wonder goal from former Brechinite Julian Wade and some not particularly generous refereeing.

Highly recommend Brechin as a day out. Town and surrounding area is nice and Glebe Park has always been a favourite of mine.88e39109ef74e083ac3750481609b0a1.jpg54cb28435abc7252d29d681f09b461ff.jpgab524945e285a3366ee6e4a22d32bc6b.jpg

Stoke City V Blackpool today. 2-0 Stoke. 23612 crowd. Ticket was £26, programme £3. 

First visit to Stoke and a pleasant afternoon and a decent game. Stoke were the much better team and deserved the win. 

Stoke doesn't look much of a town from what I've seen. But you have to walk along the Trent canal to get from the station to the stadium which was nice. There's also a barge selling the famous Stoke Oakcakes (not like Scottish Oakcakes, more of a pancake!).

Enjoyable day out. Have a ticket for Manchester United V Brighton tomorrow. 

IMG_20220806_163346.jpg

IMG_20220806_134434.jpg

Partick Thistle 1-1 Hamilton Accies.

Went along for a work thing today (which may or may not have been connected to the half time entertainment!)

- Best own goal I’ve seen live in several years.

- A few young guys in the Accies support into the Green Street cosplay. They tried to charge the Thistle supporters at one point, but I suspect it was in the full knowledge that the stewards would block them before any of that.

- A draw felt pretty fair overall, I thought.

9EBDC630-71B1-4FD5-979B-C15CB9CC8095.jpeg

2DE16A74-D170-4E55-B91F-D05713371B35.jpeg

Edited by Adamski

Manchester United V Brighton & Hove Albion. A well deserved 1-2 win for the Seagull's. 73711 crowd. Ticket £42. Programme and magazine £7 (programme £3.50) 

Brighton looked bright and exciting. They played very well. 

Manchester United looked devoid of ideas, far to narrow and very slow in their build up play. To such an extent that I thought this was a very easy game for Brighton. 

Been to Old Trafford a few times now. What I find interesting is that they are trying to make as much money out of you as possible. They had two sets of the premier League trophy, Fa Cup and European cup outside and were charging fans £5 a pop at a photo! With YOUR OWN CAMERA! 

IMG_20220807_135713.jpg

IMG_20220807_151120.jpg

IMG_20220807_100419.jpg

7/42: Queens Park 2-3 Ayr United. Championship 05/08.

Brilliant game at Ochilview. Ayr were thoroughly pish for the first 45 and excellent in the second. You could feel the momentum swing and the equaliser seemed inevitable by the time it came, and the winner was a great moment. Fans on the pitch from the pretty good away support.

Loved this. Station Hotel pre-match was great too. Top marks for a night at the fitba.

Ayr Celebrate.jpeg

Ayr Fans.jpeg

AyrFT.jpg

QP Fans.jpeg