Distant Doonhamer 3,618 Report post Posted January 10 Had this tonight on recommendation of a pal. Only £5.99 from Majestic so no huge expectation.Went pretty well with a nice steak but way better Malbecs out there for only a few quid more. Decent enough though given the price. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bernardblack 1,522 Report post Posted January 10 This is one of the best stouts I’ve ever had. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ylf 1,095 Report post Posted January 11 very good this. got in tesco. definitely buying more 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bairnardo 29,255 Report post Posted January 13 Tonights groundhog day consumption will be Pilsner Urquell (6 for £6), a couple of Westmalle Dubbels (research for my next brew), and an Imperial Stout from Buxton. 3 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tongue_tied_danny 3,929 Report post Posted January 15 I finish work in less than an hour so what better way to celebrate than with some stout. It's nice enough but I'd say Drygate and 71 both do better coffee stout. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bairnardo 29,255 Report post Posted January 15 Tonights groundhog day consumption will be Pilsner Urquell (6 for £6), a couple of Westmalle Dubbels (research for my next brew), and an Imperial Stout from Buxton. Imperial stout was pish. Not even a really strong one by imperial stout standards at 8.5 iirc but the alcohol was front and centre. Nae use. Urquell and Westmalle were obviously glorious. Another chance for Tiny Rebel tonight with Club Tropica. Cant remember which one of theirs I tried before and was underwhelmed. Hopefully not this one.... And from the top drawer, a couple of cans of Tin Man IPA from the William's Bros. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ParsJake 86 Report post Posted January 15 20 minutes ago, Bairnardo said: Another chance for Tiny Rebel tonight with Club Tropica. Cant remember which one of theirs I tried before and was underwhelmed. Hopefully not this one.... I'm guessing you mean their Club Tropicana, Club Tropica (NA) is their alcohol free version... Sainsbury's now stocking Tiny Rebel 4 packs so I guess they've hit the big time. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ylf 1,095 Report post Posted January 15 cheers everyone. this is very good imo 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Craig the Hunter 584 Report post Posted January 15 Another from my Beer52 box. It's fine, nothing to write home about but perfectly present. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Craig the Hunter 584 Report post Posted January 15 I'll double post since no one else seems to be drinking tonight haha. Decent little India Pale Lager from Lost and Grounded from Bristol. More on the crisp lager side than the IPA side, going down nicely. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vikingTON 16,451 Report post Posted January 15 Pilsner Urquell with some Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva. I also opened a bottle of El Dorado 12 year old rum earlier. It was decent on the first go with no harsh notes but surprisingly dry for a demerara rum. I expected it to be like Diplomatico or OVD on steroids so it takes some adjusting. -1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Craig the Hunter 584 Report post Posted January 15 Wild Beer call it a pale ale, Untappd call it a fruit beer. Its probably somewhere in between. It's OK, was expecting it to be fruitier. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spud131 439 Report post Posted January 16 Wild Beer call it a pale ale, Untappd call it a fruit beer. Its probably somewhere in between. It's OK, was expecting it to be fruitier.My experience with Wild Beer Co is that they generally sound better than they taste. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Archie McSquackle 416 Report post Posted January 16 Last night's tipples: a few supermarket offerings and a couple from Beer 52. The 3 from Asda are all tried and tested and nothing new. Quite liked Out Too Far from Sailors Grave Brewing (Melbourne box) and the Double Free Verse IPA from Virginia Beer Co was glorious but at 8.6%, I'm slightly regretting it this morning. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bairnardo 29,255 Report post Posted January 16 Last night's tipples: a few supermarket offerings and a couple from Beer 52. The 3 from Asda are all tried and tested and nothing new. Quite liked Out Too Far from Sailors Grave Brewing (Melbourne box) and the Double Free Verse IPA from Virginia Beer Co was glorious but at 8.6%, I'm slightly regretting it this morning. You get Anchor Steam in Asda? 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Archie McSquackle 416 Report post Posted January 16 Yeah, it's been there for months in cultured Maryhill so a regular purchase for me! Lovely stuff and it's only £1.50 a bottle.Edited to correct the price. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Craig the Hunter 584 Report post Posted January 16 Found this is Morrisons. Reasonable supermarket beer. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bernardblack 1,522 Report post Posted January 16 Last night's tipples: a few supermarket offerings and a couple from Beer 52. The 3 from Asda are all tried and tested and nothing new. Quite liked Out Too Far from Sailors Grave Brewing (Melbourne box) and the Double Free Verse IPA from Virginia Beer Co was glorious but at 8.6%, I'm slightly regretting it this morning. I never knew you could get Ossian in a can. 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bernardblack 1,522 Report post Posted January 16 Very good pale ale 0 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Archie McSquackle 416 Report post Posted January 16 I never knew you could get Ossian in a can. They've been doing 4 packs for a wee while and more recently Tesco have had 10 packs for £10. Bargain for a lovely beer. 1 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites