Official P&b Cycling Thread

Ah, alright then.

I'm just trying to get fit again and it's damn near 30 years since I was on a bike. I've been given some kind of mountain bike by my step-son and I've been out on that a few times but it's obviously not the best for using on the road. I've no real intention of going off road, so is it practicable to change the stupid knobbly tyres to road tyres? Also, I presume the gearing is different so how easy/sensible is it to change this?

This video show how to remove a tyre.

You can pick up new tyres for around £16,

Last Wednesday, coming down from Beinn Ime (beside The Cobbler) at 350 metres we met two mountain bikers who had just cycled all the way up and were going on in spite of the huge drainage gaps and ridiculously stony paths. Pure mental. I expect that they were going to career down again as well so we were watching our backs.

Are there any of you mental enough to do that sort of stuff?

Last Wednesday, coming down from Beinn Ime (beside The Cobbler) at 350 metres we met two mountain bikers who had just cycled all the way up and were going on in spite of the huge drainage gaps and ridiculously stony paths. Pure mental. I expect that they were going to career down again as well so we were watching our backs.

Nope.

Did 30.02 miles yesterday going from Dunbar up to Gifford / Haddington and back.

Really struggled uphill and into the wind going but much easier on the way back!!

Still took 2hr 16 mins which is quite poor.

Need to lose weight.

The hills on my commute are getting easier now, thankfully.

But for the past week, there's been a very slight easterly breeze when coming home, which seems to be amplified 10-fold when cycliing into it.

Negotiated my first (and second!) cattle grid on a skinny-tyred road bike at reasonable pace today. I have to say that the feat was accomplished with some aplomb, though, for a brief moment, I was convinved that a fucker in a people carrier behind me intended to traverse the thing at the same time :rolleyes:

I've booked an appointment to see my dentist first thing tomorrow morning :P

Back in the day, I managed to get 2/3 of the way up Ben Venue on the MTB, then chucked it as the path faded to nothing. On the way back down I hit a drainage trough having attempted to pull of a shite bunny hop at speed and my back tyre blew. I had to stop to change the tube and was eaten alive by midges. We're talking about a black cloud of the little bastards descending on me, and they got me everywhere - inside my mouth, eyelids, knickers and all sorts. I'm still suffering from PTSD, and alternate my flashbacks of this day with those of the CIS cup final last March :(

Edited by Drooper

Back out on the bike today for the first time in 2 weeks,as was away working overseas.

Only did 18 miles and found it tough as hell,but mind you,much of it into a strong headwind.

At one stage got up to 26 mph on the flat,granted,with wind behind me

I nearly got caught out with a couple of cross-winds today. Otherwise, it was a cracking morning to get out.

En route, an old arsehole in an Audi coming in the other direction sounded his horn and gesticulated at the foot/cycle path that runs adjacent to the road, obviously suggesting that I should be using that as opposed to inconveniencing him and his fellow motorists. Aside from the fact that the path is strewn with debris and gravel that passing cars cast up, I don't fancy the interface of road bike doing speeds of up to 40 mph, and couple out strolling with kiddie in buggy, or on a bike with stabilisers.

Fucking bellend, but there is always (at least) one <_<

I nearly got caught out with a couple of cross-winds today. Otherwise, it was a cracking morning to get out.

En route, an old arsehole in an Audi coming in the other direction sounded his horn and gesticulated at the foot/cycle path that runs adjacent to the road, obviously suggesting that I should be using that as opposed to inconveniencing him and his fellow motorists. Aside from the fact that the path is strewn with debris and gravel that passing cars cast up, I don't fancy the interface of road bike doing speeds of up to 40 mph, and couple out strolling with kiddie in buggy, or on a bike with stabilisers.

Fucking bellend, but there is always (at least) one dry.gif

Aye,it amazes me the amount of total cocks there are these days out driving and had a couple of close things myself,especially with one who was on his mobile phone at the time and just missed me.

Still thinking about buying a road bike (in addition to my hybrid), as the thought of being able to do higher speeds really appeals to me and if I get to a decent enough standard,fancy joining the local cycling club.

If I manage to average around 16 mph with my Hybrid Crosstrail,what speed do you think I'd average witha decentish road bike using the same effort?

Edited by Unleash The Nade

Aye,it amazes me the amount of total cocks there are these days out driving and had a couple of close things myself,especially with one who was on his mobile phone at the time and just missed me.

Still thinking about buying a road bike (in addition to my hybrid), as the thought of being able to do higher speeds really appeals to me and if I get to a decent enough standard,fancy joining the local cycling club.

If I manage to average around 16 mph with my Hybrid Crosstrail,what speed do you think I'd average witha decentish road bike using the same effort?

If you are averaging 16 mph on a hybrid, you're doing very well indeed and will probably be entering racing snake territory if you get a road bike. I suppose a lot depends on the terrain you routinely cycle, and the type of roaf bike you opt for.

I'm new to road biking myself, having decided to give it a bash on my late father-in-law's Flying Scot to see how it went. It was all a bit speculative, but I have to say that I'm enjoying it hugely. I now hope to get myself a new road bike as I'm well and truly hooked. Seriously mate, dip your toe in the water and I can guarantee that you won't look back - well....at least not unless you're turning right into a junction :P

The temptation is to go for something racey as opposed to a drop bar bike equipped with bosses for guards and racks etc., and if you already have a decent thrashing/commute machine (as do I - my modified MTB) then I'd say go for it.

Edited by Drooper

If you are averaging 16 mph on a hybrid, you're doing very well indeed and will probably be entering racing snake territory if you get a road bike. I suppose a lot depends on the terrain you routinely cycle, and the type of roaf bike you opt for.

I'm new to road biking myself, having decided to give it a bash on my late father-in-law's Flying Scot to see how it went. It was all a bit speculative, but I have to say that I'm enjoying it hugely. I now hope to get myself a new road bike as I'm well and truly hooked. Seriously mate, dip your toe in the water and I can guarantee that you won't look back - well....at least not unless you're turning right into a junction :P

The temptation is to go for something racey as opposed to a drop bar bike equipped with bosses for guards and racks etc., and if you already have a decent thrashing/commute machine (as do I - my modified MTB) then I'd say go for it.

Got one of these (Specialized Crosstrail)

post-25568-0-81412000-1304175488_thumb.j

And looking at one of these (Specialized Secteur)

post-25568-0-92035100-1304175540_thumb.j

However,just a wee bit concerned that if I get a road bike,I'll neglect my Hybrid,which I love and cost me £699

Really cant make up my mind to just stick with what I have,or go for an additional bike

Edit to Add;The Flying Scot is and always will be an iconic road bike and always wanted one when I was younger

Got one of these (Specialized Crosstrail)

post-25568-0-81412000-1304175488_thumb.j

And looking at one of these (Specialized Secteur)

post-25568-0-92035100-1304175540_thumb.j

However,just a wee bit concerned that if I get a road bike,I'll neglect my Hybrid,which I love and cost me £699

Really cant make up my mind to just stick with what I have,or go for an additional bike

Edit to Add;The Flying Scot is and always will be an iconic road bike and always wanted one when I was younger

You'll get the benefit of the hybrid in the shittier weather - especially if you buy a road bike that won't take mudguards.

The other consideration is that, if you do ultimately neglect the crosstrail, you could always punt it and have a few bob to spend on sexing up your new steed :)

The Scot is a great bike, but it is only a loan to be honest. The frame is also a bit on the large side for me. It's well equipped, though, and goes like stink - even with an old dobber like me on it :D

You'll get the benefit of the hybrid in the shittier weather - especially if you buy a road bike that won't take mudguards.

The other consideration is that, if you do ultimately neglect the crosstrail, you could always punt it and have a few bob to spend on sexing up your new steed :)

The Scot is a great bike, but it is only a loan to be honest. The frame is also a bit on the large side for me. It's well equipped, though, and goes like stink - even with an old dobber like me on it :D

You've got me seriously thinking about doing this now!

Even the missus is telling me to go for it!