Official P&b Cycling Thread

Went out on Saturday morning.

Although a wee bit frosty,main roads were OK.

However,decided to take a wee short cut along a back road,hit some ice and came off.

Luckily I wasn't going to fast as could have been a nasty one.Right shoulder took most of the impact and a bit sore today.

The plan this summer is to dust the panniers off and set out for the Outer Hebrides. Looking to Get the ferry from Oban to Barra and island hop from Barra to South Uist, Benbecula, North Uist, Harris, Lewis and take the ferry back to Ullapool. Total cycling distance is about 130 miles and the scenery is meant to be spectacular. The weather can be either extreme, particularly the wind.

So the planning starts now. Has anyone done this route?

I was in Islay last year and spoke to two girls who were doing Colonsay,Islay,Jura,Mull, which sounded fantastic.

As you say,the wind can be the biggest problem if cycling on the islands,sounds brilliant though.

Getting back into a wee routine since the weather has been a bit better of late.

Did 13 miles on Friday and 16 yesterday.

I'm off tomorrow and planning to do around 30 miles.

Will either head up Carron Resevoir area,or take the flatter Fife Costal path route accompanied by sandwiches and a wee flask of tea.

This thread seems to have died a death which is a wee bit dissapointing.

Surely all the P&B members who posted aren't just fair weather cyclists?

What's happened to Monkeyblairs indoor roller machine thingy?

What routes have you done recently or are planning for Summer?

I was out as usual today and did around 18 miles.

Come on P&B cyclists,keep our wee thread alive

I'm seriously considering cycling to work once my bus pass expires (start of next month). It's only 3 miles or so, so should be a piece of piss but I'll probably need to get myself a new bike.

Get it through the cycle to work scheme and save yourself a fair few bob.

When I say "work" it would technically be more accurate to just say "uni", because I'm a PhD student. But it's a full-time job in all but name, so I just call it work.

But it does mean I'm not eligible for the cycle to work scheme. The uni does occasionally have a scheme where you pay £70, get a bike, use it for a month then get your deposit back and keep the bike. But there's no knowing when it'll come round again, and the bikes are, in all probability, shit.

I don't mind dipping into my savings to get a decent bike, because it'll pay for itself in a year or so through not needing a £90 bus pass every 12 weeks. And although I might be tempted to go back to the bus when winter comes back, I'm hoping I get so much into the habit of cycling that a wee bit of wind and rain won't bother me.

Edited by The Master

When I say "work" it would technically be more accurate to just say "uni", because I'm a PhD student. But it's a full-time job in all but name, so I just call it work.

But it does mean I'm not eligible for the cycle to work scheme. The uni does occasionally have a scheme where you pay £70, get a bike, use it for a month then get your deposit back and keep the bike. But there's no knowing when it'll come round again, and the bikes are, in all probability, shit.

I don't mind dipping into my savings to get a decent bike, because it'll pay for itself in a year or so through not needing a £90 bus pass every 12 weeks. And although I might be tempted to go back to the bus when winter comes back, I'm hoping I get so much into the habit of cycling that a wee bit of wind and rain won't bother me.

I would thoroughly recommed getting a hybrid,as a wee bit more robust.

I got a Specialized Crosstrail last year through the ctw scheme.Back then it was selling for just short of £800,but you can get them now for around £500.

I can't recommend it highly enough, as imho a brilliant bike

If your're loooking to buy some gear at good prices,Soccer Sports do a range of tops,gloves waterproofs etc at good prices and quality is OK.

The two things I would say not to skimp on are a decent helmet and pair of cycling shorts with paddded gusset !

specialized-crosstrail-comp-2010-mountain-bike.jpg?1249439053

I would thoroughly recommed getting a hybrid,as a wee bit more robust.

I got a Specialized Crosstrail last year through the ctw scheme.Back then it was selling for just short of £800,but you can get them now for around £500.

I can't recommend it highly enough, as imho a brilliant bike

If your're loooking to buy some gear at good prices,Soccer Sports do a range of tops,gloves waterproofs etc at good prices and quality is OK.

The two things I would say not to skimp on are a decent helmet and pair of cycling shorts with paddded gusset !

specialized-crosstrail-comp-2010-mountain-bike.jpg?1249439053

I agree with UTN, I hybrid is the way forward for you and a decent one at the moment won't cost you fortunes.

Tonight I am getting back into the saddle on my turbo trainer for the first time in a couple of months!!!

Never noticed this thread before. Trying to do 100 miles a week or ten hours which ever comes first. With the weather the way it has been, the mountain bike has been the weapon of choice so the ten hour mark has been the winner on hill runs. But as the sun shines and the grit starts to clear from the road, the road bike will be oot and aboot and the miles will fairly fly by.

Doing the etape in May which is 81 miles in around the 5 hour mark. :( seems to be coming round very quickly.

Used the turbo trainer in the garage on Monday night and have never sweated so much in my life!!

Great purchase and can't recommend it enough.

Must be honest,really don't fancy a turbo trainer either and am determined to keep going out during the winter, unless the weather is really bad .

TBH I dont mind the cold or rain that much,as lng as it's not too windy

No doubt,Monkeyblair will bide his time on this and remind us how nice and warm he was in his garage,on his turbo trainer,watching cable porn,while we were out freezing our nads off!

Here is a challenge.......

Why don't we keep a record for November as to what time you have spent on your bike and let's see who does more, I know it will be me......

Tonight I am getting back into the saddle on my turbo trainer for the first time in a couple of months!!!

:lol: :lol:

Bollocks...if only I had bothered to keep a record and made a wee bet with you, I reckon I'd be quids in!

:lol: :lol:

Bollocks...if only I had bothered to keep a record and made a wee bet with you, I reckon I'd be quids in!

My record of hours on the turbo trainer since then....

October - Nil

November - Nil

December - Nil

January - Nil

February - Nil

March (so far) - Nil :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have decided to ditch the idea for tonight and am heading out on the roads instead for an hour or so as I will make it beack from work quicker than expected.

Will update you later.

My record of hours on the turbo trainer since then....

October - Nil

November - Nil

December - Nil

January - Nil

February - Nil

March (so far) - Nil :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have decided to ditch the idea for tonight and am heading out on the roads instead for an hour or so as I will make it beack from work quicker than expected.

Will update you later.

Bugger!!

I reckon I've managed about 350 miles in the last few months,but at times it was absulotely baltic and came off my bike once after hitting black ice. :(

Looking forward to the light nights and better weather as reallly want to get into it more this year and try and do at least 100 miles a week

Bugger!!

I reckon I've managed about 350 miles in the last few months,but at times it was absulotely baltic and came off my bike once after hitting black ice. :(

Looking forward to the light nights and better weather as reallly want to get into it more this year and try and do at least 100 miles a week

I am going to be doing the 100 mile Pedal for Scotland Sportive ride in September so it's time to get back into it.

Over the Forth Road Bridge and towards Dunfermline tonight I think, will try and do 20 miles or so before it gets too dark!

I agree about getting a hybrid, I've got a Giant hybrid and am very happy with it.

I've only been out 2 or 3 times so far this year due to a combination of work, laziness and horrible weather. Would go out tonight if I didn't have 5's, but definitely getting back in the saddle this week.

Only managed 13.2 miles tonight in an hour so well down on usual average speed, long break has not helped.

Went over Forth Road Bridge, up to Pitreavie Golf Club which is where my bell end went that numb way (apologies if you have never experienced this) and decided to turn back and found myself cycling back into the wind which was tough.

My work has recently started the cycle2work scheme and quite a few of my colleagues including myself have taken part. I've just picked up a Crossfire 2 Hybrid and I'm planning to try it out tomorrow at Pollock park. I think with the cost of fuel rocketing recently I'd say it a great incentive to use it as much as I can.

Not a bad looking bike, with a set of handle bar ends it would look better and give you a different riding position too which I find more comfortable.

I got a a bike through the ridetowork scheme i just stuck with the MTB but now thinking i should have gotten a hybrid bike as i do alot of cycling at night on the cycle track. but i'll stick with it just now

I also use it going to work which is cat mouse when when you get to interchange at the airport but you just get the head down and go for it. there are some great apps on the smartphone markets to get track of all your times etc

Well back from Pollock Park and it seemed to handle everything very nicely. There is a wee bit of adjustment required in some bits but overall nicely put together. It is a faster bike than my old Boulder MTB and a lot more comfortable.Very happy indeed.