Hillwalking Thread

I tend to have a close season for hillwalking in late June and all of July because of holidays and family stuff - so I decided to start the new season with a bang and finally do something that's been bugging me for 20 years. The Cobbler was the first hill I ever climbed but at that stage, I had no idea I would end up getting into this as a hobby and so I took one look at Threading the Needle and said "err, no".

400+ hills later, it remained as the only technically "difficult" summit I still had to do - so when I saw the forecast for this week (and the nice dry rock that would result), I decided to finish work early and go for an evening walk to avoid the mad crowds (the main reason I haven't been back). I headed off from Succoth at about 6pm, said hello to about 100 people on their way down the zigzags of doom and was soon up at the Narnian boulders enjoying the perfect weather (light breeze, no midges).

PXL_20220810_170103292.thumb.jpg.e8e9487615718e8482f6de67bfb4a8b5.jpg

I don't get to walk on many motorway paths all the way to the summit now and I made good, sweaty time - and was up on top not much more than an hour and a quarter after leaving the car. First time looking at the dreaded needle for a long time

PXL_20220810_175422548.thumb.jpg.b502b0786012fe919c3fe91955a04879.jpg

PXL_20220810_175952586.thumb.jpg.821072ab2dd355d43a957b05b13f9ee8.jpg

I would have the summit to myself, which was a massive bonus - but there were two guys about to head down that offered to hang about and take a picture of me on top - so that was me committed :) 

PXL_20220810_175317492.thumb.jpg.80fda3079e5ffa936f5a239cf6220fa0.jpg

There is a lot of hype about this but when I climbed through the window in the rock, the ledge was wide enough that the exposure was a lot less than other stuff I've done - and the two scrambling moves were straightforward and not that exposed. The only part of the whole thing that was both exposed and CERTAIN DEATH if you came off was a little saddle that you climbed over once you were on the summit pinnacle - but even that was technically straightforward. Short story - if you've got any sort of head for heights, it's very do-able. 

Obligatory evidence photo 

PXL_20220810_174420465.thumb.jpg.81062ff9ea09e246c3bd14baf1f41d56.jpg

I climbed down, got my phone back and felt confident enough to go back up and take some photos. the down-climbs were the part I was interested in before but for a 6ft person, they were easy and I never felt any exposure.

I hung about at the summit for a while enjoying the peace and warm rock and then wandered off in the (vain) hope of getting any edible food in Arrochar after 8:30pm. Oh, and there is always someone that puts your minor scrambling adventure in perspective - b*****d.

PXL_20220810_181047746-2.thumb.jpg.6376f1bd16dadc9e3fa6f59b1bdca288.jpg

Edited by Swello

Headed for the Arrochar Alps this morning to enjoy the weather and was treated to some stunning views. Done both Beinn Narnain and Beinn Ime, swithered about doing The Cobbler too but decided against it. Took about 6 hours in all. Upto 10 munros now and already planning the next outing! 

Beinn Narnain:
7AFBE531-A9F9-498A-913B-BA5A06B05DB8.thumb.jpeg.42a72d0a6af7864d3b88b6d48f37a95f.jpeg

Beinn Ime:EF5E4D73-703A-4E3D-B19E-76DBE3180C7F.thumb.jpeg.36d5c5b449761e88701dc93adea7c2ce.jpeg

On 11/08/2022 at 11:00, Swello said:

Oh, and there is always someone that puts your minor scrambling adventure in perspective - b*****d.

PXL_20220810_181047746-2.thumb.jpg.6376f1bd16dadc9e3fa6f59b1bdca288.jpg

I was up The Cobbler a month or so back and there was a guy and his young son rock climbing on that same face. Did you follow the path round the back and summit that way, then back down the front? 

The zigzags are the real killer when doing the Cobbler, Narnain or Ime. For some reason I always feel like it only takes 15-20 minutes on the way up to get out of the trees and on to the main path, but double that time on the way down.  

Two "Interesting" days in Kintail with a glorious, roasting hot traverse of the South Glen Shiel ridge yesterday and a race (and loss) against an epic thunderstorm on the North Cluanie 3 today. Getting annihilated by hailstones, gales, 20 mins of thunder and lightning all around us was fun. One strike landed about halfway between us as we were running down from about 900m [emoji23] 

The midges at Shiel Bridge are ferocious also. Fucking love this country [emoji23]

94be0d82b5b5e7465e167d24930e6cc0.jpga1d7daccd757f02700b0c61547b38467.jpg54baadb7d0f06d8eec148f7033c73100.jpg98998d91b4f475b9eb585830b87f9b9c.jpga0019280d58163e84faa99a4166c7def.jpg5e448ca3f38073bd8273ee266070084a.jpg8e8a200441f2dd843c3f5c9274606d88.jpg9231432e96ba51f8c65c80581e0d604e.jpg

20220813_104124.thumb.jpg.78d32ceab47ff4d1eb22184dbe07b732.jpg20220813_104258.thumb.jpg.6c5b5bd801ea2ba4126101e477222316.jpgDid Buchaille Etive Mor on Saturday. Abaolute roaster of a day, but the midgies were surprisngly horrendous for such a hot/dry day - even at the summit.

Also folk on here who have done both Munros (Stob Dearg & Stob na Broig) will know of the absolute heartache when you realise that Stob na Doire isn't a Munro in it's own right!

10.5 miles done in 7 hours, feet were on fire by the end of it, still breaking in my boots, but would probably have gotten away with wearing my trail shoes.

Ps. Apologies for lack of photos, don't know how to compress to add more.

IMG-20220813-WA0048.thumb.jpg.9a19307484128cebfeb282d58c78a2d8.jpg

IMG-20220813-WA0054.jpg

Edited by Coldo

36 minutes ago, Coldo said:

20220813_104124.thumb.jpg.78d32ceab47ff4d1eb22184dbe07b732.jpg20220813_104258.thumb.jpg.6c5b5bd801ea2ba4126101e477222316.jpgDid Buchaille Etive Mor on Saturday. Abaolute roaster of a day, but the midgies were surprisngly horrendous for such a hot/dry day - even at the summit.

Also folk on here who have done both Munros (Stob Dearg & Stob na Broig) will know of the absolute heartache when you realise that Stob na Doire isn't a Munro in it's own right!

10.5 miles done in 7 hours, feet were on fire by the end of it, still breaking in my boots, but would probably have gotten away with wearing my trail shoes.

IMG-20220813-WA0054.jpg

Midges have been ridiculous this weekend. We didn't have any on the South Shiel Ridge summits on Saturday but there were fuckloads of flying ants, arsehole deer keds and instabams about (one of whom triggered an almighty rant from some angry da' on the I am Bagging the Munros FB page). 

Just noticed the photos on mine have gone up in a nonsense order. 

Edited by Day of the Lords

1 hour ago, Coldo said:

IMG-20220813-WA0054.jpg

Was my last munro(s) - did it in absolute pishing rain a few years back, so it's quite nice to see what it actually looks like.

I was up Buachaillie Etive Mor on Sunday. Also attacked by midges at the car park and on the way up but they disappeared near the summit. They were replaced by some big fly things which were equally as discomforting.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it. I was hoping to do the second Munro but noticed the clouds forming away in the West and with the thunder warnings I thought it wasn't worth the risk. I am never going to complete the Munros anyway so I'm not precious about racking them up. We did the Munro top next then descended the path down to the glen and walked along to the A82.

A great day and it's already got me buzzing for the next one. Which will be in 3 years time at current rates.

I did get from Kilwinning to Glencoe in less than 2 hours which is decent and reassuring that some really good climbs aren't that far away.

1 hour ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

On the topic of the Buachaillie, anyone climbed it via the curved ridge? Got half an eye on it but just trying to work out how bad the crux actually is since every video I seem to have watched has been using a fish eye lense.

I honestly can't remember who - but someone on this thread in the last year did it. I'd like to do it - but probably only with a climber in tow...

On 20/08/2022 at 20:04, invergowrie arab said:

Stac Pollaidh today, it never fails to amaze.

I had fancied a go at the true summit but there was a 40/50mph westerly coming in so left it for another time.

20220820_114433.jpg

20220820_131454.jpg

Glorious - it's one of my favourite mountains. The scramble is normally OK, just not in a gale 😂

After 10 munros last weeks in erm, mixed conditions, it was the Lawers range today to help my mate out (it's a two car job unless you start in Glen Lyon, or are Dan Bailey). We thought about adding on Meall nan Tarmachan, but after a long and utterly tedious, bogfest of a descent from Meall a'Choire Leith patched that idea fairly quickly. Mixed conditions again though, with views off Meall Greigh, then it absolutely pissed down for Meall Garbh and An Stuc, before the sun broke through on the ascent of Lawers itself. Cracking but tough day overall.

Lawers Traverse-01.jpg

Lawers Traverse-02.jpg

Lawers Traverse-03.jpg

Lawers Traverse-05.jpg

Lawers Traverse-06.jpg

Lawers Traverse-07.jpg

On 15/08/2022 at 16:36, Day of the Lords said:

Midges have been ridiculous this weekend. We didn't have any on the South Shiel Ridge summits on Saturday but there were fuckloads of flying ants, arsehole deer keds and instabams about (one of whom triggered an almighty rant from some angry da' on the I am Bagging the Munros FB page). 

Just noticed the photos on mine have gone up in a nonsense order. 

I climbed Nevis last Saturday morning and up until the half way lochan you couldn’t stop for more than a few steps without being completely surrounded by them. I found a rock to sit on so I could have a drink and there was so many of them you were literally breathing them in. 

1 minute ago, Day of the Lords said:

After 10 munros last weeks in erm, mixed conditions, it was the Lawers range today to help my mate out (it's a two car job unless you start in Glen Lyon, or are Dan Bailey). We thought about adding on Meall nan Tarmachan, but after a long and utterly tedious, bogfest of a descent from Meall a'Choire Leith patched that idea fairly quickly. Mixed conditions again though, with views off Meall Greigh, then it absolutely pissed down for Meall Garbh and An Stuc, before the sun broke through on the ascent of Lawers itself. Cracking but tough day overall.

Lawers Traverse-01.jpg

Lawers Traverse-02.jpg

Lawers Traverse-03.jpg

Lawers Traverse-05.jpg

Lawers Traverse-06.jpg

Lawers Traverse-07.jpg

Lawers is on my to do list. Is it 7 munros you can knock off on the one day if you follow the loop right round? 

1 minute ago, IrishBhoy said:

Lawers is on my to do list. Is it 7 munros you can knock off on the one day if you follow the loop right round? 

Yeah 7, although doing them from the Loch Tay side means your start and finish points are several miles apart, so you'll need a mate with a car to leave at the end (or if on your own you could stash a bike). The only realistic way to do them solo as a loop is from Glen Lyon OR Dan Bailey has a mental route which involved starting off from the Nature Reserve car park then nipping over a fence, hugging the 600m contour until you pick up a track which eventually takes you to Meall Greigh. It's a fucking massive day though. Having done the 7 in both directions I'd definitely recommend starting from Meall Greigh - f**k ever descending An Stuc's east face again. 

9 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:

Yeah 7, although doing them from the Loch Tay side means your start and finish points are several miles apart, so you'll need a mate with a car to leave at the end (or if on your own you could stash a bike). The only realistic way to do them solo as a loop is from Glen Lyon OR Dan Bailey has a mental route which involved starting off from the Nature Reserve car park then nipping over a fence, hugging the 600m contour until you pick up a track which eventually takes you to Meall Greigh. It's a fucking massive day though. Having done the 7 in both directions I'd definitely recommend starting from Meall Greigh - f**k ever descending An Stuc's east face again. 

The distance between the start and end points has put me off a few munros. Might need to invest in a couple of bikes as my friend doesn’t drive. Think Aonach Eagach was the same, you finish miles away from where you’ve parked the motor. 

7 hours ago, IrishBhoy said:

The distance between the start and end points has put me off a few munros. Might need to invest in a couple of bikes as my friend doesn’t drive. Think Aonach Eagach was the same, you finish miles away from where you’ve parked the motor. 

Aye I'd say if you're getting right into your hillwalking, at least a basic hardtail mountain bike is a great idea. There are a good few hills with estate tracks that get in close to the starts of the ascents and having a bike is a total godsend at time. 

The Aonach Eagach can be shortened by backtracking from the second munro a little bit and heading straight down into Glencoe. It's steep as f**k but I found a faint path for a fair bit of it, then lost it and ended up tramping through chest high bracken. Saves a good 2-3 miles of road walking from the car park at the other end though.