Hillwalking Thread

image.png.c8789bd9a232f8a86e1dfc2f70d6de76.png

Typical that Sunday is the day I was planning to go somewhere😆

Not sure what to do for my next walk, was up Aonach Eagach two weeks ago which took me to 46 munros. Keen to do a 4 munro route to take me to 50 and Ring of Steall has caught my eye. Any other suggestions?

Edited by Chinatoon Bairn

Just got back from a few days up north with the Mrs. I've recently got her into camping but I think hillwalking is a stretch too far for her anytime soon, so need to content myself with some hill porn from down below. With more time I'd have liked to travel further north, but we had a nice tour around between Ullapool & Dornoch, a wee day out in the pishing rain in Stornoway, and down to Gairloch & Loch Maree on the way home. The north west is absolutely stunning.

kinlochewe.jpg

5 minutes ago, Zetterlund said:

Just got back from a few days up north with the Mrs. I've recently got her into camping but I think hillwalking is a stretch too far for her anytime soon, so need to content myself with some hill porn from down below. With more time I'd have liked to travel further north, but we had a nice tour around between Ullapool & Dornoch, a wee day out in the pishing rain in Stornoway, and down to Gairloch & Loch Maree on the way home. The north west is absolutely stunning.

kinlochewe.jpg

Up there with best car park view anywhere that one at the head of Glen Docherty - I still stop there every time I pass.

1 hour ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Not sure what to do for my next walk, was up Aonach Eagach two weeks ago which took me to 46 munros. Keen to do a 4 munro route to take me to 50 and Ring of Steall has caught my eye. Any other suggestions?

Grey Corries (with Stob Ban) is a brilliant summer epic and would get you to 50 in a memorable way. I parked at the old tramway (NN255789) and walked into Laraig Leacach bothy the night before to shorten it a bit. Ring of Steall via Steall meadow is also a classic. Doing either when the cloud is down is a crime :)

4 hours ago, jamamafegan said:

£31 quid to sit in the bigot den surrounded by 51000 knuckle draggers on a glorious day, knowing that I could have spent the weekend bagging hills, wild swimming and tanning some #cans in the sun instead? I’ll pass!

Aye me too.  Going to Glen Tilt. 

https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/news/northern-part-of-rum-cuillin-closed-due-to-avian-flu/

My late August Bank holiday plan goes up in smoke. I'm beginning to think this walk is cursed for me - this is the 5th time I've had to can a trip to do the Rum Cuillin before I set foot on the ferry.

Fully understand/support the reasons.

I know this is probably quite mainstream, but having never done it before I'm looking forward to climbing Buachaillie Etive Mor at the weekend. I think this would be my 4th Munro - I'm not very experienced as you can guess, but I don't think I've ever actually had a good view at the top of any of the mountains I've been on, whether Munros or not, so hopefully this weekend will be different.

Has anyone split Fisherfield? f**k that noise of a 12-18 hour walk plus walks in and out.

I'm thinking Eastern 3 from Kinlochewe camping at bottom then  picking up Slioch on the walk out to make a circuit.

Then on another weekend the western two from Poolewe with a camp around Carnmore. The western approach to A' Mhaighdean looks epic. 

3 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Has anyone split Fisherfield? f**k that noise of a 12-18 hour walk plus walks in and out.

I'm thinking Eastern 3 from Kinlochewe camping at bottom then  picking up Slioch on the walk out to make a circuit.

Then on another weekend the western two from Poolewe with a camp around Carnmore. The western approach to A' Mhaighdean looks epic. 

I've split them various ways. First time on A'Mhaighdean/Ruadh Stac, we did it from Poolewe and camped at the causeway between the Fionn and Dubh lochs. Epic walk, amazing campsite and good fun way onto A'Mhaighdean. 

Another option for the eastern 3 is a (pleasant) walk in from Loch a Bhraoin and a camp across from the the slabs on Sgurr Ban - That was a *much* nicer way than from Shenevall (especially if you aren't arsed about Beinn a Chlaidheimh....)

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

Totally recommend coming in from Incheril - I did this in late Spring and camped beside Lochan Fada, an utterly fantastic spot. Annoyingly the cycle in was completely brutal on a hot day and I sacked it after Beinn Tarsuinn, I was gubbed, A'Mhaighdean looked fucking miles away and I only had a packet of 4 cocoa breakfast biscuits left, so I fucked off back to the tent to drink whisky and smoke fags all evening. Glorious. 

I'll probably do AM and RSM from Poolewe, leaving the other two + Corbett probably from Loch a'Bhraoin, as ascending the Sgurr Ban slabs looks tremendous. 

6 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Cheers. The only bummer with splitting is a double ascent of MCMF.

TBH ots the sting in the tail of river crossings and bog I'm keen to avoid with the whole round. It would break me.

Aye it's a total "f**k that" for me as well. Me and a mate just did the circular lowish level walk from Corriehallie to Shenavall and back out, adding 5 summits and 3000m of ascent to that can get straight in the bin. One old boy on WH claimed he did it all in 14hrs which was pish. It's an absolutely enormous c**t of a day. 

ETA - you can avoid the double ascent of MCMF: reference "Spiderwebb"s TR on Walkhighlands which refers to mildly hairy traverse "path" which allows you to meet the path under Meall Garbh, via the north side of MCMF, then return over it after Tarsuinn. I've asked him about this a couple of times, he describes it as fairly easy although the path soon peters out. 

Edited by Day of the Lords

23 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Cheers. The only bummer with splitting is a double ascent of MCMF.

TBH ots the sting in the tail of river crossings and bog I'm keen to avoid with the whole round. It would break me.

I'm pretty sure this was the reason that I opted for the easterly way from Loch a Bhroan - makes it a relatively straightforward circular walk as far as I remember it...

Campsite nr Loch an Nid

CpgyvSlXEAE3ogb?format=jpg&name=large

16 hours ago, Swello said:

Up there with best car park view anywhere that one at the head of Glen Docherty - I still stop there every time I pass.

Grey Corries (with Stob Ban) is a brilliant summer epic and would get you to 50 in a memorable way. I parked at the old tramway (NN255789) and walked into Laraig Leacach bothy the night before to shorten it a bit. Ring of Steall via Steall meadow is also a classic. Doing either when the cloud is down is a crime :)

Grey Corries with Stob Ban is a good shout. How'd you find the traverse from Stob Ban to Stob Choire Claurigh? The 150 odd metre descent before what seems to be a fairly sharp 350m ascent will be a right good laugh.

3 hours ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Grey Corries with Stob Ban is a good shout. How'd you find the traverse from Stob Ban to Stob Choire Claurigh? The 150 odd metre descent before what seems to be a fairly sharp 350m ascent will be a right good laugh.

In good visibility it’s totally fine but if the cloud is down, you need to be careful that you’re descending on the right line. I did it in full winter conditions and it was a steep but pretty quick climb up the other side. The drop and reascent involved in the last Munro was more of a pain TBH but that was because I was tired and it was tricky under snow and ice. One of my favourite ever days that one. 

Was out on Sunday accompanying my wife's pal up her first Munro. She let me choose, so I opted for Meall nan Tarmachan. Third time up this one for me - I finally got weather and views.

First Munro for me in over a year after wrecking my feet on the Drumochter four last summer.

1172556602_18.LochTay.JPG.a11fa9b3c4eed4adbaa6a0319a3a0877.JPG

52024340_44.LookingaheadtoMeallnanTarmachan.JPG.396e736fadb48dff4847bfe55a8c46d5.JPG

1659398302_60.LochbelowtheLawersHills.JPG.29d73973480b38fdb66183ad3276d231.JPG

974738351_70.MeallGarbhandBeinnnanEachan.JPG.a0a0d84305e1711a7837632f5744c96b.JPG

24 minutes ago, AyrshireTon said:

Was out on Sunday accompanying my wife's pal up her first Munro. She let me choose, so I opted for Meall nan Tarmachan. Third time up this one for me - I finally got weather and views.

First Munro for me in over a year after wrecking my feet on the Drumochter four last summer.

1172556602_18.LochTay.JPG.a11fa9b3c4eed4adbaa6a0319a3a0877.JPG

52024340_44.LookingaheadtoMeallnanTarmachan.JPG.396e736fadb48dff4847bfe55a8c46d5.JPG

1659398302_60.LochbelowtheLawersHills.JPG.29d73973480b38fdb66183ad3276d231.JPG

974738351_70.MeallGarbhandBeinnnanEachan.JPG.a0a0d84305e1711a7837632f5744c96b.JPG

Did you do the ridge walk? If not, I'd highly recommend it. I did it two years ago and loved it and only met 7 people ( in three groups) on the whole walk. Bliss.

1 hour ago, microdave said:

Did you do the ridge walk? If not, I'd highly recommend it. I did it two years ago and loved it and only met 7 people ( in three groups) on the whole walk. Bliss.

If I'd been alone I'd have given the other peaks a go, but she was content with the Munro summit. Wants to do more - think she's got the bug after that.

1 hour ago, Swello said:

It’s the best “take a beginner” walk in Munro world - if you do the ridge, it pretty much covers everything they’ll be doing for the next couple of years as they build their experience. 

It's the 3rd time I'd used it for someone else's 1st Munro. It's ideal even in foul weather with a very good path.