Hillwalking Thread

5 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

Why is Sgùrr na Lapaich (the Mam Sodhail one) not a munro? I know it's not a huge amount of re-ascent but it's  a long way out

Sums up the flaws in Munro's tables - there are hills in the East that are classified as munros with way less justification - I remember thinking exactly the same after heading over Lapaich on the way out to Beinn Fionlaidh...

57 minutes ago, Central Belt Caley said:

Schiehallion today for me and seen some surreal views once I broke through the clouds. Sat at the top and admired the views for a while! 

Are Cloud Inversions common or have I been a lucky boy today? 😂

0CF327EE-CB1A-45BC-B4ED-E6CE2CC58FDE.jpeg

F57BB1C5-C233-4F55-82F4-898362DCB11D.jpeg

I have done 200 munros and have seen a proper inversion, as opposed to some misty slopes, twice so reasonably rare. That one looks as good as they get.

That said its also because I'm lazy, they are more common in the morning and they are more common in high pressure winter days and I do most of my walking May to October.

16 hours ago, Swello said:

Sums up the flaws in Munro's tables - there are hills in the East that are classified as munros with way less justification - I remember thinking exactly the same after heading over Lapaich on the way out to Beinn Fionlaidh...

Friday night with a dram trying to work out out furthest top from a parent peak it is then.

I didn't see my life turning out this way in my 20s

23 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

I have done 200 munros and have seen a proper inversion, as opposed to some misty slopes, twice so reasonably rare. That one looks as good as they get.

That said its also because I'm lazy, they are more common in the morning and they are more common in high pressure winter days and I do most of my walking May to October.

Wow! So defo been lucky then! Both pictures were taken well before 9 o’clock this morning. 

Spoke to 2 girls when I was nearly back at the car and showed them those pictures and they practically ran up the hill afterwards hoping to see the same

25 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Friday night with a dram trying to work out out furthest top from a parent peak it is then.

Bound to be some minor bump on the Cairgorms plateau - good luck with the search :)

1 minute ago, Central Belt Caley said:

Wow! So defo been lucky then! Both pictures were taken well before 9 o’clock this morning. 

Doing a lot of summit camps helps as lots of inversions disappear very early as the temperature equalises - I've rarely seen them on normal hillwalks but seen them very regularly around sunrise on wild camping trips.

31957790_1928567590551948_5640933428644806656_o.thumb.jpg.4b019b79fba72ac2283e7dabdcddd53d.jpg

PXL_20200920_061256728.thumb.jpg.a2832e741367c7b9c228f7651ac543f0.jpg

19 minutes ago, Swello said:

Doing a lot of summit camps helps as lots of inversions disappear very early as the temperature equalises - I've rarely seen them on normal hillwalks but seen them very regularly around sunrise on wild camping trips.

31957790_1928567590551948_5640933428644806656_o.thumb.jpg.4b019b79fba72ac2283e7dabdcddd53d.jpg

These pics are magnificent.

2 hours ago, Swello said:

Agree 100% with Keptie, those pictures are stunning! 

How long have you been doing the summit camps for? 

25 minutes ago, Central Belt Caley said:

Agree 100% with Keptie, those pictures are stunning! 

How long have you been doing the summit camps for? 

I've been doing high camps from pretty early on - some of the remote munros lend themselves to that sort of camping - but in the last 6 or 7 years, I've been doing more wild camping as a parallel hobby - so sometimes go out just for the camping and no hill bagging attached to it. I try to do the "bivvy a month" thing throughout the entire year - but Covid has totally screwed that up recently. Totally recommend it BTW.

Some more nice high places if folk like that sort of thing:

20161126_074259.thumb.jpg.aea9b08de5a602cdf8d92d136b5b14d5.jpg

20170505_205241.thumb.jpg.95cfaa61258e44d99d30fd2b0510834a.jpg

DSC04407.thumb.jpg.e637baabb7cff2e9ca65635ace7e6649.jpg

IMG_20190511_205519.thumb.jpg.581abe2fc993d4bade5ca90a1940dcc6.jpg

PXL_20210422_194043632.thumb.jpg.6dd7773eaf4f74a7048bae30ab63ba36.jpg

14 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

14 hours ago, Swello said:

Bound to be some minor bump on the Cairgorms plateau - good luck with the search :)

I was going to suggest Meall Ganeimh on the Ben Avon plateau as it's something like 3 miles from the munro summit, as I'd vaguely remembered discussion on WH about it. 

Thankfully for top baggers everywhere, it's reassessment meant it fell 80cm short. 

Re-assessment article

Ended up having to opt for the tourist path up Ben Nevis due to the wind picking up to around 40mph which I wasn't willing risk with the few inexperienced boys in our group. Up and down in about 6 hours total with a stop for a few beers at the top, an absolute trudge the whole way with no views to show for it.

Considering a trip back up this weekend coming as the weather on the Sunday looks like it could be cracking. That will get both the Arete and Carn Dearg ticket off although unsure if the latter actually counts as a munro due to how close it is to the Ben?

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

Càrn Mòr Dearg is a munro. 9th or 10th highest if memory serves right 

Aye, circled in red below is the one I'm on about;

image.png.bc86d017c42f13d57f949994d0097d4f.png

Sits at around 1010m but doesn't seem to count as a separate munro from what I could see at lunch, time dependant I'll probably nip out to it regardless. There is one with an identical name out just West of the Cairngorms though.

1 hour ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Aye, circled in red below is the one I'm on about;

image.png.bc86d017c42f13d57f949994d0097d4f.png

Sits at around 1010m but doesn't seem to count as a separate munro from what I could see at lunch, time dependant I'll probably nip out to it regardless. There is one with an identical name out just West of the Cairngorms though.

Carn Dearg is a Munro Top - only usually useful if they are a nice view point or if you have interest in climbing them all (there are 227 of them). Sometimes Tops have become munros and vice-versa but that one won't be changing...

ETA: You will pass over another Top - Carn Dearg Meadhonach (which is a subsidiary summit of Car Mor Dearg) en route to the Arete.

Edited by Swello

Been a few weeks since the last walk so when the laddie said he wanted to do his first Munro it got me back in the mood.  We had a night at a hotel in Newtonmore to use up, so after a quick look at Walkhighlands, we opted for A' Mharconaich and Geal Chàrn and booked up for last night.

Amazing how quickly the hill fitness regresses, I was gassing after 15 mins and it felt like a total slog up Geal Chàrn but once we were on the shoulder it kicked in and we made good pace from then on.

Wee stop at the shoulder cairn.

20210913_133703_compress63.thumb.jpg.16d02ce96896cf8904299cb9fa4fce72.jpg

Onto the summit, then a cracking descent to the bealach, followed by another slog up onto the long plateau of A' Mharconaich.

20210913_151033_compress4.thumb.jpg.0f022b65abe7a30265e96d46921321f6.jpg

A few strips of these thingys along the plateau,  assume it's to get some growth back up there to stop erosion??

20210913_151000_compress25.thumb.jpg.dab72b719e2637c51bf048dc08288f7f.jpg

Cracking views of the Drumochter Pass and beyond and the descent was fairly easy on the knees, and just a few boggy sections.

Done in just under 4 hrs, descent walk in good weather, and most importantly the bairn loved it. 

20210913_161537_compress92.thumb.jpg.b09104f4f96a63502e0e440704d1a930.jpg

9 hours ago, Robin.Hood said:

Lairig Ghru. Did this when I was in my teens but can't remember much about it. Worth doing again ? 

Yeah but it's a pain in the hoop because there is no public transport to/from Braemar so you need to do it both ways or get dropped off/picked up at one end.

If you want to make a slightly longer trip you can get a train to Blair Atholl and walk to aviemore over two days and get train home