Hillwalking Thread

There's a horrible bit of the Lairig Ghru thats all boulders like that and I had hurt my knee so was trudging along swearing to myself and whacking my bent walking pole off rocks without realising a couple were nervously trying to overtake me :unsure:
There's a couple of sections like that. The worst is the Chalamain Gap at the northern end. Huge leg breaking boulders. I crossed them when they were dew covered a few years ago. Took me fucking ages [emoji38]

On 5/5/2019 at 15:32, jupe1407 said:

I'm on 225 mate, but as with most East coasters I did everything around me first and now have about a 3 hour drive to my nearest unclimbed Munro emoji38.png

The Glenshee ones I did the other week were the 4 across the road. Bigger day than the Cairnwells but still good to do get under your belt early doors. A bit of a pain in the arse if you're on your own though as it's linear and means a long walk back to the start.

I had the exact experience on Carn Aosda. It was my 11th Munro. I got up it in about 25 minutes and checked the map about 3 times looking for the actual summit emoji38.png

Have you done any west coast/north west highland ones yet? Some utterly glorious walks and views to be had.

I've only ever done two outwith Angus/Perth/Aberdeen area and that was near Dalwhinnie - Geal Charn agus A'Mharconaidh, on a fantastic day and again, there was just me, and a woman walking her dog near the car park bit.

I'm hoping to do a lot more in the summer. Should probably do the Angus ones since I'm outside Dundee.

I've only ever done two outwith Angus/Perth/Aberdeen area and that was near Dalwhinnie - Geal Charn agus A'Mharconaidh, on a fantastic day and again, there was just me, and a woman walking her dog near the car park bit.
I'm hoping to do a lot more in the summer. Should probably do the Angus ones since I'm outside Dundee.
Aye I did those two early doors as well. Fab views down Loch Ericht. Driesh and Mayar aren't the most exciting of hills but their approaches can be. Corrie Fee en-route to Mayar is tremendous. If you're ok with route-finding and navigation taking the Scorrie Ridge up to Driesh is good fun, giving excellent views down Glen Clova.

Mount Keen is shite. There's no dressing that up [emoji38] If you've got a decent mountain bike I'd be using that. You can get miles in, indeed to the summit with a MTB if you can be arsed.

1 hour ago, jupe1407 said:

Mount Keen is shite. There's no dressing that up emoji38.png If you've got a decent mountain bike I'd be using that. You can get miles in, indeed to the summit with a MTB if you can be arsed.

Seconded. A colleague of mine went up Mount Keen in his office attire in November. Met two Germans on the way up who were fully fitted out with skis and allsorts. Not sure who looked more stupid.

Edited by mathematics

Last hill day - wee Sgurr na Stri. It's a mere 494m high but one of the best viewpoints in the country. This was my second visit there after a glorious summit camp a couple of years back. This time we got the boat in and out from Elgol. Totally recommend the "Misty Isle" boat trips, even if you just want to fanny about round Loch Coruisk, check out seals etc etc. IMG_20190510_130820.jpgIMG_20190510_144620.jpgIMG_20190510_151805.jpgIMG_20190510_172136.jpg

Great day yesterday - decided to revisit Ben Vorlich (Loch Lomond one) 13 years on.

Beinn Ime & Ben Vane.

5cd7cf3e5cf68_14.BeinnImeBenVane.thumb.JPG.6793bc368ba0e676d320b60e16528e0d.JPG

New steps on the path - put in a couple of years ago apparently.

5cd7cf4916972_24.Newstepsonthepath.thumb.JPG.cdcd0191a25801b18dbae754eb2d1927.JPG

Loch Sloy.

5cd7cf500611c_42.LochSloy.thumb.JPG.cc8e81f5c46407d23ad90c4f9266304b.JPG

Lochan below the summit.

5cd7cf583bb73_89.Lochannearthesummit.thumb.JPG.bb86c0f46ab88c8f7a4aa8e1ee53536c.JPG

Trig point with the true summit left of centre behind it.

5cd7cf61204ff_93.BenVorlichtrigpoint.thumb.JPG.e94430f98ce0a16da8e60cf3712c26d5.JPG

The Arrochar Alps.

5cd7cf6a2ef0c_94.TheArrocharAlps.thumb.JPG.7fd34d12962519c812df2fc293bcb28b.JPG

Snow covered Ben More and Stob Binnien in the distance.

5cd7cf7134a81_97.LookingovertoBenMoreStobBinnien.thumb.JPG.df29ce824a9eb4760f546ace94fd5d82.JPG

Ben Lomond & Loch Lomond.

5cd7cf77a7ad0_115.BenLomondLochLomond.thumb.JPG.0e4cb4249e795a9a17ea490beb189ee8.JPG

Edited by AyrshireTon

Local bivvy last night - on the flat summit of Pykestone Hill (737m) - amazing sky and a very icy tent as it hit -7c, which I wasn't really expecting. Wandered over Middle Hill and Drumelzier law on the way back in warm sunshine this morning...

IMG_20190511_203614.thumb.jpg.9d65698b421c7110889b1fc18729ce67.jpg

IMG_20190511_204039.thumb.jpg.fdcada1546435beee0c089f7242ecb01.jpg

IMG_20190511_205519.thumb.jpg.c9b0aa9f2d8143c3f62edff8b979e5d2.jpg

IMG_20190511_210852.thumb.jpg.7140e63f088262ddaa57c9d2eb7c3083.jpg

IMG_20190512_074531.thumb.jpg.2ae0f32a1b98f1f37ff3b9384f7651c7.jpg

Best thread on pie and bovril.as a keen hiker usually loch doon,Galloway forrest area. In the last few weeks I have done the merrick ,goat fell and Ben donich .And really enjoying it .next up is probably Ben lomond looking forward too scaling some munros. :thumsup2

Did Shalloch on Minnoch in the Galloways on Saturday, with our neighbour. When I mentioned that I had done a circular route over rough ground once with a group of Gold DofE kids, she asked if we could do that too. Ended up doing Craigmasheenie and Cornish Hill on the way back. Weather was showery but it was a pretty good day out.

Looking back north at many lochs from near the summit. 

5cec6429e8a54_29.Lookingbackdown.JPG.866e172378dc70db173a45ad1499e70a.JPG

Approaching the trig point - which isn't the summit.

5cec642cba6df_30.Trigpointapproaching.JPG.3f970fe4171587375ff48b8c862dd196.JPG

Looking through the cloud at the trig from the summit.

5cec642ee346a_44.Lookingbackatthetrigpoint.JPG.b8f3e4d928d82c46aa7f775b3096d669.JPG

Corserine and the Rhinns of Kells in the distance.

5cec6431446f3_49.CorserinebehindMullwharchar.JPG.ddf34829d72f371b825ce3a7bba67f12.JPG

Merrick.

5cec6434455dc_52.Merrick.JPG.1a0222bbc7d08351b247f7cbe45943b1.JPG

Loch Girvan Eye below Craigmasheenie, with Loch Riecawr to the right.

5cec64372522b_78.LochsGirvanEyeRiecawr.JPG.6c8d2c8fe65dbe14895b0bce52c95d53.JPG

Loch Girvan Eye from Craigmasheenie.

5cec643a464c6_95.LochGirvanEye.JPG.59beab72f6ce3312169b917543dd5437.JPG

Edited by AyrshireTon

• 4 weeks later...
36 minutes ago, dysartrovers said:

I've done Ben Nevis twice now but unsure how it measures up to other mountains. Want to climb more but where is best to go for a novice?

Ice climbing aside, if Nevis was 100m shorter then it would be visited a mere fraction of the time it actually is. Personally, I think it's shite.

Presuming you're still in Fife, I would recommend the following Driesh / Mayar combination seeing as Corrie Fee is a rather nice spot to pass through.  Relatively easy and a rather rewarding day trip without any particular strenuous post-walk drive home :

https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/angus/mayar-driesh.shtml

12 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

Ice climbing aside, if Nevis was 100m shorter then it would be visited a mere fraction of the time it actually is. Personally, I think it's shite.

Presuming you're still in Fife, I would recommend the following Driesh / Mayar combination seeing as Corrie Fee is a rather nice spot to pass through.  Relatively easy and a rather rewarding day trip without any particular strenuous post-walk drive home :

https://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/angus/mayar-driesh.shtml

If you go up Nevis via the mountain track it's shite. If you go via the CMD arete it would be a top 10 Scottish mountain day regardless of the height.

Wee wander up Càrn Bhac yesterday to go alongside a horseshoe of some minor tops around Glenshee last weekend reminding me of what I loved about hillwalking when I first started which was leaving the house about 9 am 6 hours on the hill and back home in plenty time for fish supper and a pint.

In recent years it's more like book 2 nights away to fit in a 10 hour epic or leave house at 6am and home midnight  to get the ticks.

Thing is I really like getting the ticks

20190622_130447.jpg