Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

20 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

Irish whiskey.

Something that is definitely a PTTGOYN for me is pubs that have some shitey laminated "Whiskey" menu which on inspection is chock full of Scotch Whisky and maybe a wee Jamesons at the end as a token gesture. 

My wife has asked why this annoys me but I prefer just to find another pub.

1 hour ago, Leith Green said:

Something that is definitely a PTTGOYN for me is pubs that have some shitey laminated "Whiskey" menu which on inspection is chock full of Scotch Whisky and maybe a wee Jamesons at the end as a token gesture. 

My wife has asked why this annoys me but I prefer just to find another pub.

She thinks I'm being unreasonable. I refuse to go in places with mistakes in their boards outside, or want to leave if the menu has errors or Americanisms.

2 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

She thinks I'm being unreasonable. I refuse to go in places with mistakes in their boards outside, or want to leave if the menu has errors or Americanisms.

I'm not that bothered about misspelled signage or incorrect use of apostrophes on handwritten shop signs enough to refuse them my custom if in general it looks like somewhere I'd like. The one place however that I would absolutely refuse to even entertain giving them my custom is the tattoo shop in Larkhall that has tattoo incorrectly spelled on their sign ! 

9 minutes ago, JamesP_81 said:

I'm not that bothered about misspelled signage or incorrect use of apostrophes on handwritten shop signs enough to refuse them my custom if in general it looks like somewhere I'd like. The one place however that I would absolutely refuse to even entertain giving them my custom is the tattoo shop in Larkhall that has tattoo incorrectly spelled on their sign ! 

Reminds of a wee newspaper cartoon I saw decades ago, for some reason has stuck with me.........tattooist is standing with a piece of paper in his hand on which 'BERTHA' is written. Beside tattooist is a huge, musclebound, angry customer with 'BERT' tattooed on his chest in large letters. He's saying "Well, you'd better find some more ink, hadn't you......"

(Yeah, I know, you had to be there..)

48 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I had occasion to be in Waitrose earlier.

It's not like I didn't know what the place was about before, but f**k me that must be the snobbiest environment iv ever set foot in.

I parked in the one in Morningside during the week (I was working in a place round the corner with almost zero parking spots).

After finishing the job, I went into the shop to "get a couple of things", spent £20 and had next to f**k all the cheeky buggers. The people shopping there regularly must be loaded.

35 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

I parked in the one in Morningside during the week (I was working in a place round the corner with almost zero parking spots).

After finishing the job, I went into the shop to "get a couple of things", spent £20 and had next to f**k all the cheeky buggers. The people shopping there regularly must be loaded.

Aye the prices are fucking obscene. 

I was looking at the fish counter and seen this auld couple getting a bag of Scallops that they were casually told would be 40 quid 😂

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

There weren't any. Just an enormous number of posh English couples, of pension age. 

5 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Aye the prices are fucking obscene. 

I was looking at the fish counter and seen this auld couple getting a bag of Scallops that they were casually told would be 40 quid 😂

These cvnts perhaps ??........................

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

There weren't any. Just an enormous number of posh English couples, of pension age. 

Which one were you in, as a matter of interest?

1 hour ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

Go back about 5pm.

My MIL lives in Bridge of Allan, and uses the Stirling Waitrose, but only at the times when she knows stuff gets marked down.

She doesnt even buy a Christmas turkey in advance, just hovers about there on christmas eve to get a bargain 🤣

7 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Which one were you in, as a matter of interest?

My MIL lives in Bridge of Allan, and uses the Stirling Waitrose, but only at the times when she knows stuff gets marked down.

She doesnt even buy a Christmas turkey in advance, just hovers about there on christmas eve to get a bargain 🤣

The Stirling one it was