Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

On 08/06/2023 at 07:22, scottsdad said:

I remember us getting Sky TV in the early 90s and finding that it picked up a German channel. RTL, I think. Always showed an Emmanuel movie on Friday nights when my folks were out. 

Aye, we got Sky for a while in 1990, and the old Astra satellite transmitted French and German channels if you looked for them. They were mental in comparison to the UK channels of the time - random topless women in car adverts and suchlike in the middle of the day  :blink:

Seemed like the Germans made a fair amount of their own "Confessions" style shite soft porn with hilarious misunderstandings leading to shenanigans.

On 08/06/2023 at 11:19, Newbornbairn said:

Travelling with smokers

"Wah, just one fag before the taxi!"

At the airport - "Wah, just one puff before we check in"

After check in

""Wah, a quick puff before we go security"

"Wah - got to get my duty free got to get my duty free, get fags, buy fags, get fags. Can you carry some through on your allowance?"

Through Duty Free

"Wah - I've heard there's a smoking area - is that it? Look over there, is that it? Where is it? Wah Wah Wah - they've got to let folk have a quick puff"

FFS. I seem to spend half my lfe standing around smoking areas with my eyes streaming and coughing from the stink whilst my mum/dad/wife kill themselves with cancer sticks.

Hiya @Melanius Mullarkay, hiya pal.

On 09/06/2023 at 08:34, 101 said:

I don't get why everyone doesn't smoke cigars or pipes rather than fags. Particularly pipes, they are no more expensive, have less chemicals and you can use them to point to things.

Reminded me of this classic...

My wife was a smoker when we first got together, although I hated it and always tried to encourage her to stop. She switched to vaping some years ago and only likes very mild menthol flavour which hardly produces any vapour and doesn't bother me at all.

Some of the fruity ones are rancid. You see clouds of it coming out of car windows and can smell it from 100 yards away driving along the motorway. That cannot be good for the insides of the person inhaling it.

Just now, Zetterlund said:

My wife was a smoker when we first got together, although I hated it and always tried to encourage her to stop. She switched to vaping some years ago and only likes very mild menthol flavour which hardly produces any vapour and doesn't bother me at all.

Some of the fruity ones are rancid. You see clouds of it coming out of car windows and can smell it from 100 yards away driving along the motorway. That cannot be good for the insides of the person inhaling it.

I think as a halfway house for previous smokers to help them quit vapes probably had a place. 

But what they have been turned into is a product/habit in their own right. It seems like madness for folk to pick up vaping who weren't smokers trying to quit, but that's what's happening. 

Why would you inflict a nicotine addiction on yourself in that way. 

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I think as a halfway house for previous smokers to help them quit vapes probably had a place. 

But what they have been turned into is a product/habit in their own right. It seems like madness for folk to pick up vaping who weren't smokers trying to quit, but that's what's happening. 

Thinking it looks cool is my best guess. Bit like starting smoking at 12 years old. 

Just now, Cosmic Joe said:

Thinking it looks cool is my best guess. Bit like starting smoking at 12 years old. 

Yeah it must be a huge chuck of it that. It looks significantly less cool than what smoking did back in its heyday of cool though. 

2 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

As originally suggested, with only low and no nicotine juices available, it was a viable plan.

2 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Tobacco companies were never going to make products to ease people out of smoking. Vapes were created to make smoking (and continuing to give them money) more financially and socially acceptable. It's worked.

Which is what happened the second the profit motivation came into it and big tobacco then started buying up vape companies. On the whole, based upon standard levels, about 14 vape puffs equal a cigarette in terms of nicotine…but the rate at which people vapes seems massively faster than they smoked cigarettes.

Almost every smoker I know that switched to vaping very quickly switched to customized vapes that had much larger juice tanks, higher capacity batteries and a higher nicotine level juice. When I asked them about it, it was always a “better value” to buy the higher level juices, “more nicotine for the money” was how they put it.

Edited by TxRover

2 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

A boy I know says the parents of the kids in his son's year, S1, buy them Vapes.

Of all the things to give your kids a crippling nicotine addiction seems a bit daft

3 hours ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

Season one of Kevin Can F*** Himself being free on Prime Video but having to pay for Season two.

Welcome to the future of streaming. Someone was recently complaining that Amazon had split a five-season TV series into more than a dozen parts and were charging a standard rate per "season". No reason for it; purely so they could squeeze more money from unsuspecting new viewers.

Eventually they'll be poorer value than renting or buying DVDs was, and they'll wonder why there's another piracy boom.

Edit: as far as vaping goes, surely nobody considers it cool. You used to see film stars and models posing with a fag in their mouth, but you don't see them whipping out their wee electric bubble stink machines when they see paparazzi across the street.

Edited by BTFD

The A93 being closed at Dalrulzion forcing me to divert through Glen Isla, Alyth then Blairgowrie putting a hour on my journey. Eventually home at 0220 hrs :angry:  

Kamikaze scottish wildlife. 

g02hMnM.jpg

N8idepm.jpg

Chump in Tesco today with no means whatsoever to pay insisting on trying the same cards again and again.

Then the chump at the checkout I move to who seems more concerned chatting on his phone than packing, paying and fucking off.

"We're slaves to these phones these days" he laughs.

Yer just a dick that can't prioritise :rolleyes: 

And breath.........

:) 

5 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Mines was a stress thing. I hadn't smoked since about 13yrs old and after two blahs it knocked me for six and I was chilled. It's now developed into a £10 a day habit basically, two Crystals. 

I can 100% walk away from it if I never worked with folk going for 'tabby time'. It fucking grates on me.

I'm on banana and strawberry the day. I now no longer get any joy from the blah.