Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

4 hours ago, Empty It said:

I don't let them get almost nearly as far as this, "are you busy?" "Yes" the end.

As soon as I see one approaching me, I whip out my phone and "take a call".

5 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Charity doorsteppers launching into a big scripted spiel.

Also when they try to give it "its only a tiny amount of your household budget" and "loads of your neighbours have been so generous today"

I had one of those at the door a few months back. Made the mistake of letting the chat go on too long and rather than simply saying no, I signed up somebody  of a different name with my old bank details to a Standing Order

2 hours ago, Bert Raccoon said:

I did the whole door to door charity thing in my early 20s when I was young and desperate for cash. First day they sent us to a high rise in Ibrox (I think), nearly every door was opened by someone with limited English or at least pretending to have limited English and clearly the area was not going to be frequented by folk with money spare to give to a donkey sanctuary or whatever crap we were attempting to get money for. Also it was all commission based so no sales, no wage.

Anyway, after about two hours I decided this clearly wasn't for me. Made my excuses and said I was gonna nip out on the landing for a quick cigarette while the female I was with harassed another poor soul. Once out on the landing I just kept walking, jumped in the lift then walked to the train station and never looked back. Fair play to anyone that can do that but two hours of it was soul destroying 

I lasted four weeks. Last day it was pissing down in Bellshill, one person had answered the door all day, some local urchins asked me if i was CID (i had a long coat on) and i said yes so they followed me and i was bursting for a shite. 

3 hours ago, Hillonearth said:

It's a shitty job to have I guess, but sometimes they really must be on autopilot. There was one time I was in the shower and the door went - my missus had just left a few minutes before so I assumed she'd forgotten her keys and wanted back in. I answered with a towel round my waist and dripping wet hair, to be confronted by some daft bint whose opening gambit was:

"Hi - I'm from such and such a charity. I won't take up more than five or ten minutes of your time...."

"Five or ten seconds you mean. Beat it."

Worst porno ever 

2 minutes ago, die hard doonhamer said:

Perth and Kinross council’s grass cutting schedule meaning that I’m having to worry about getting a full cricket pitch cut on a day’s notice. Might have to do it with my own push mower, which could take ages. 

You crease me up.

8 hours ago, FK1Bairn said:

I had one of those at the door a few months back. Made the mistake of letting the chat go on too long and rather than simply saying no, I signed up somebody  of a different name with my old bank details to a Standing Order

I seen a video where the guy answers his door to them countering what they have with other door knockers tripe. 

If a salesman comes to the door asking if he has double glazing he replies with "are you ready to let the lord Jesus Christ our saviour save your soul?" and the other way round. 

Seems a decent tactic, tbh.

12 hours ago, Lyle Lanley said:

Evri (Hermes) claiming I wasn’t home when they tried to deliver my parcel and is now being returned to the sender. 

My area must have the only decent Evri driver.

Edited by RH33

29 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Also, being borderline for needing the heating on.

Sweating my tits aff in bed the past wee while. Decided last night every window was being left open. Up at 3am for a pish and thought "it's affy cold". Up at 6 for work and f**k me, like living in a freezer.

14 minutes ago, Mr. Alli said:

Sweating my tits aff in bed the past wee while. Decided last night every window was being left open. Up at 3am for a pish and thought "it's affy cold". Up at 6 for work and f**k me, like living in a freezer.

We're the same - we have aircon and by the middle of the night the wife and son are huddled under the duvet as it's Baltic but no chance they'll let me turn it off

22 minutes ago, Mr. Alli said:

Our neighbours have chickens. Whenever we try to sleep with the window open, these things start their pish at 4 am. Very annoying, just so that she can have a few free eggs or whatever she does with them. 

My neighbour has chickens too. I like them. They eat stuff I'm throwing out and are generally soothing to watch.

11 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

My neighbour has chickens too. I like them. They eat stuff I'm throwing out and are generally soothing to watch.

I find chickens soothing to watch, too. The way they go all golden-brown and crispy over the course of 90 minutes in the oven.