Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

24 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

Mods ffs.

When I worked in Aberdeen they all talked about getting a butterie at lunchtime and traipsed over to the corner shop every day to indulge.  I’d never heard of that or a rowie.  Are you saying that even Aberdonians don’t know what to call it?

Mrs. B is from Aberdeen.  She calls it a butterie.

They sound fucking rank and I’d never touch one btw.

It’s a rowie!!! My grandparents live right next to Thain’s on George Street and you’d have kicked out of their house (and probably the bakery) if you called it a butterie.

PTTGOYN today. Sent home from school and Covid tested just cow I had some mild flu-like symptoms after my flu shot.
Not allowed back til it’s clear. I feel fine now [emoji2959]

1 hour ago, Bert Raccoon said:

I've never tried a Rowie as I live in civilisation but I must admit they sound awfy good 

They are class and available in Aldi and Tesco albeit not as good as the ones in the NE

2 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

ITS A BUTTERY FOR f**k SAKE

Square go cunto.

Tak yer pish teuchter sayin's back tae eh ferm. 

Aberdeen - Rowie - correct 

Auld dung chuckin' fermers - Buttery - wrang

Fashermen fae eh Broch - Rolls - Just odd.

9 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I've never heard "bunker" being used for a worktop in Edinburgh. 

I think I might carve a proper neep lantern this year. I tried it years ago and just gained new admiration for my old man managing to do it every year 

It's not really just another term for a worktop, it's more specific.  It was used to describe the area of the kitchen under the sink or next to the window.  It's where the coal would've been stored in the past.  

35 minutes ago, hk blues said:

It's not really just another term for a worktop, it's more specific.  It was used to describe the area of the kitchen under the sink or next to the window.  It's where the coal would've been stored in the past.  

We are superior in Edinburgh...

..we had baths to keep the coal in!