Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

50 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

If anybody says "I work offshore*" and then asks what I do, I reply with "I work onshore".

*so which do I presume:  cook/cleaner/steward, admin, electrician, welder, geologist, engineer, driller, roughneck, labourer, logistics coordinator, company man... ?

"I work offshore. I'm a Somali pirate"

Guest JTS98
3 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

People who say "Illinois in the US" as if we wouldn't know where Illinois is otherwise. 

Also, Weegies who presume that everybody is as geographically ignorant as them:

"Where are you from?" 

"A place just outside of Glasgow, doubt you'll know it"

"Try me... "

"OK, Irvine"

Maybe I'm being whooshed here, but you can't accuse others of geographical ignorance and then label someone from Errshurr as a weegie.

Irvine's almost as far from Glasgow as Edinburgh is.

3 hours ago, coprolite said:

People asking where I'm from is a pttgomn.  I usually just say Aberdeen* because it's easier than asking what people mean by "from" or why they think it's important. 

*(Aberdeen, Scotland i lived there longer than i lived anywhere else, but i'm not really "from" there.) 

"Where are you from"

"Scotland"

"Whereabouts?"

"Between Edinburgh and Glasgow."

"What's it called?"

"Grangemouth."

"Wherethefuck's that?"

sigh..

13 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

"Where are you from"

"Scotland"

"Whereabouts?"

"Between Edinburgh and Glasgow."

"What's it called?"

"Grangemouth."

"Wherethefuck's that?"

sigh..

Genuine conversation I had in Aberdeen a couple of years ago:

Me: Where are you from?

Him: Half way between Aberdeen & Inverness.

Me: Around Keith?

Him [surprised that I knew where Keith was]:  Well, a wee place outside of it.

Me: Drummuir?

Him: Aye

Me: Do you know [insert name of person]?

Him:  Aye, that's my cousin.  How do you know him?

Me:  I was speaking to him yesterday.

Edited by Hedgecutter

Just now, Trackdaybob said:

It's crazy. Why would he want to be associated with that game of thrones pish. 

He was at his absolute best in Escape to Victory :) 

I think that is one for "best performance in something shite" actually. He really is utterly wonderful in it.

6 hours ago, hk blues said:

It's not the worst example - Paris, France and London,  England being amongst the better ones.  It's as if we're so dumb that we'd assume they meant Paris, Texas or London, Ohio otherwise.  

I feel the need to differentiate between London, England and London, Ontario every time I talk about one or the other places to someone. Same with Hamilton if I'm talking to my family in Scotland

Blondes with brown eyes instead of blue ones.  Just, naw.
maryam-dabo-as-kara-milovy-in-the-living-daylights.jpg&key=e75640018168127a5f3a2109f4a101e197b3199c5274d35dbe9a1fd16fd39d2e
For avoidance of doubt, this is not (I repeat not) a proposal for an Aryan master-race society.  Some of my best friends are brunettes.

Nah, yer awright!

katiehopkins.jpeg

1 hour ago, Hedgecutter said:

Blondes with brown eyes instead of blue ones.  Just, naw.

maryam-dabo-as-kara-milovy-in-the-living

For avoidance of doubt, this is not (I repeat not) a proposal for an Aryan master-race society.  Some of my best friends are brunettes.

Adolf Hedgecutter.