Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

8 minutes ago, Deanburn Dave said:

American cop shows where the criminal and then the cop jump off one flat roof down to another flat roof. 20 foot leap with a 20 foot drop apparently isn't a problem for these guys.

In reality though it's at least one broken legs and a load of swear words.

Avoid the two footed straight-legged landing and you should be okay in this scenario. It's all about the landing. Trying to avoid closing your eyes on take off as well.

Hope this helps. 

Todays PTTGOYN.... Mrs Bs pathological need to one up things. Only specific things mind, chief among which being when I have had the kids all day and am a bit crabbit because they have been a pair or wee shites, and she feels the need to give it "aye they can be hard work" in a tone as if I dont already know that, or "welcome to my world" as some sort of dig at the time I spent working away. Absolutely loves playing the martyr when it come to the Bairnardinãs

31 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Todays PTTGOYN.... Mrs Bs pathological need to one up things. Only specific things mind, chief among which being when I have had the kids all day and am a bit crabbit because they have been a pair or wee shites, and she feels the need to give it "aye they can be hard work" in a tone as if I dont already know that, or "welcome to my world" as some sort of dig at the time I spent working away. Absolutely loves playing the martyr when it come to the Bairnardinãs

Well, if they take after you...

My PTTGOYN is flat hunting. Been looking at renting somewhere and it’s a bloody pain in the arse.

Agents are the first annoyance. Some have been ok, but some are like “we have one viewing, Monday at 11am”. Nothing that can reasonably be taken as lunch-time or after work, no opportunity to arrange anything else. I assume they want me to be employed to afford the fucking rent after all.

Secondly, despite looking at some fairly large-priced flats in the centre of town, some of the flats are absolute shit-holes. They post photos of flats that look clean and nice, you get there and the walls are dirty and damp, one had a filthy kitchen and the oven was covered in grease - surely they would think about cleaning the place before showing folk around?

Bollocks to all of them. c***s.

2 hours ago, Jambomo said:

My PTTGOYN is flat hunting. Been looking at renting somewhere and it’s a bloody pain in the arse.

Agents are the first annoyance. Some have been ok, but some are like “we have one viewing, Monday at 11am”. Nothing that can reasonably be taken as lunch-time or after work, no opportunity to arrange anything else. I assume they want me to be employed to afford the fucking rent after all.

Secondly, despite looking at some fairly large-priced flats in the centre of town, some of the flats are absolute shit-holes. They post photos of flats that look clean and nice, you get there and the walls are dirty and damp, one had a filthy kitchen and the oven was covered in grease - surely they would think about cleaning the place before showing folk around?

Bollocks to all of them. c***s.

Tbf I am tangentially involved in the industry and I could quite easily spend my working week doing viewings to accommodate all sorts of tyre kickers who will walk in the front door and instantly say wrong address/too small/too expensive/too greasy a cooker. Sum total of which earns me/my work naff all. Guess where my motivation goes? And as always it is the minority that have spoiled it for the whole. 

I’d say do your homework in your free time, narrow it down to a very short list and aim to kill it in a (half/) day off work. 

it’s the landlord that owns and should clean the flat. The agent can only deal with the product they’ve been delivered. 

if you demand recompense on the way in for what looks like a shit tip any decent agent will most likely accommodate that. 

8 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Tbf I am tangentially involved in the industry and I could quite easily spend my working week doing viewings to accommodate all sorts of tyre kickers who will walk in the front door and instantly say wrong address/too small/too expensive/too greasy a cooker. Sum total of which earns me/my work naff all. Guess where my motivation goes? And as always it is the minority that have spoiled it for the whole. 

I’d say do your homework in your free time, narrow it down to a very short list and aim to kill it in a (half/) day off work. 

it’s the landlord that owns and should clean the flat. The agent can only deal with the product they’ve been delivered. 

if you demand recompense on the way in for what looks like a shit tip any decent agent will most likely accommodate that. 

Estate agent and Rangers supporter, dear God!

8 hours ago, alta-pete said:

I totally understand about the tyre kickers - I’ve narrowed down the areas I’d stay in and know the price range I’ll pay etc there’s no excuse for turning up and using those as reasons not to take a place.

I’ve been trying to get all the viewings into one day/afternoon, but this is why I am complaining, I just can’t because the agents say “this is the time and that’s it”. I.e this afternoon I am going to see a place at 4pm (means leaving early as I finish at 5pm) I want to see another place a few streets away so tried to get it for this afternoon so I could take a half day holiday. Nope, tomorrow at 2.15pm is the only viewing time. So either I don’t go or have to get more time off work. 

it’s why it pisses me off so much when I turn up and it’s horrible. I don’t mind if the place looks like it would be ok with a good scrub but these places had marks all over the wallpaper and holes in the walls and stuff. I’m not fixing that shit and they’d clearly be a nightmare if stuff broke because they don’t care about the flat at all.

26 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

I totally understand about the tyre kickers - I’ve narrowed down the areas I’d stay in and know the price range I’ll pay etc there’s no excuse for turning up and using those as reasons not to take a place.

I’ve been trying to get all the viewings into one day/afternoon, but this is why I am complaining, I just can’t because the agents say “this is the time and that’s it”. I.e this afternoon I am going to see a place at 4pm (means leaving early as I finish at 5pm) I want to see another place a few streets away so tried to get it for this afternoon so I could take a half day holiday. Nope, tomorrow at 2.15pm is the only viewing time. So either I don’t go or have to get more time off work. 

it’s why it pisses me off so much when I turn up and it’s horrible. I don’t mind if the place looks like it would be ok with a good scrub but these places had marks all over the wallpaper and holes in the walls and stuff. I’m not fixing that shit and they’d clearly be a nightmare if stuff broke because they don’t care about the flat at all.

And that, sad to say it, is the nub of the problem with the vast majority of landlords in the rental market - they don’t. 

You don’t fancy it, fair enough. Another victim will be along soon enough, particularly in the more fashionable areas of the big cities.  

1 minute ago, alta-pete said:

And that, sad to say it, is the nub of the problem with the vast majority of landlords in the rental market - they don’t. 

You don’t fancy it, fair enough. Another victim will be along soon enough, particularly in the more fashionable areas of the big cities.  

It sounds like you have a real passion for the work m8.