Pie And Bovril Needs Your Help Now !

Ok - our website here at P&B has proved to be incredibly popular. It has exceeded all expectations and continues to grow and grow.

I set this site up as a non-proft making adventure, hence why there are no adverts on the site and why it is completely free to use. It has been this way for three years now.

The website sits on a shared webserver which basically means we share the same physical computer as dozens of other websites - this is why occasionally the site slows down to a snails pace - either because we are very busy ourselves - or one of the other websites on our shared box is hogging all the power.

The hosting costs me about £150 per annum which I am happy to pay for myself and alwyas have been. We take money back in through some ad hoc donations, some wee bits of web hosting we do for other sites and the like. With small prizes and the like the site costs me a couple of hundred quid a year (this also pays for B&W Army and Greenockmorton.net which are sites on our network).

Anyway - cutting to the chase. Our hosting company have now told us that our site is just TOO popular to be on a shared computer and they want us to move to our very own physical box.

The benefits of this are good. The site will run much faster - and if we have a problem we can reboot the machine all on our own. We also get some groovy software which could allow us to set up online stores or the like in future as we continue to expand.

The downside, as always, is the cost.

The annual dedicated server package will cost me $1200 ($99 per month). This is roughly £700 and I need to pay this in the next week or so to get the server move sorted and keep the website running.

I am happy to pitch in my usual £200 but this still leaves me well short and I can't honestly justify spending £500 of my own dosh just to keep P&B going.

So - I need help :)

I am looking for one of two things from as many people who use the site regularly as possible;

Donations

If you would like to donate to the fund to keep the site going then you can either use Paypal to donate directy to me online by sending your payment to webmaster@pieandbovril.co.uk or you can send me a cheque as follows;

Made payable to;

David MacDonald

5 Lounsdale Grove

Paisley

Renfrewshire

PA2 9LU

or

Affiliate Quick Fix

Our affiliate scheme is now at an end. Thanks to all who took part !

Going Forward

If we raise any more than £500 I will go ahead with the new server and invest the rest of the money back into the website through giveaways or whatever.

Going forward I will then investigate ways of making the site self financing.

If we don't raise sufficient funds within the next week or so then I will either need to look at robbing a bank, or more likely closing down or severely scaling down the website and it's functions.

Over to you boys and girls - I am sorry to ask and know it is the worst time of year to ask - but this has kind of been forced upon me by our hosts and I do not want to move as I think we'll have the same problems elsewhere and the thought of moving is fairly painful.

HELP :(

• Replies 89

If any Clyde fan can use paypal/send a cheque for £20, I'll give you the dosh tomorrow night or Sunday.

Similarily, if any other fans wishes to do so, I'll see you for the money at a future game.

Please post on here obviously :lol:

Can I ask why you don't have advertising on here? I personally wouldn't be too bothered about it, and I don't imagine others would object too much.

Other than that, why not have a joining fee?

Anyway, I'll try and remember my password for paypal and make a wee donation ;)

I'm in for £20, I'll find the cheque book.

If any Clyde fan can use paypal/send a cheque for £20, I'll give you the dosh tomorrow night or Sunday.

Similarily, if any other fans wishes to do so, I'll see you for the money at a future game.

£20 on it's way Div!

I'll make that £40, David, PM me if you've made other arrangements!

Ok will do Div. Assume paypal is safer than sending cheques to paisley :P

Can I ask why you don't have advertising on here? I personally wouldn't be too bothered about it, and I don't imagine others would object too much.

Other than that, why not have a joining fee?

Anyway, I'll try and remember my password for paypal and make a wee donation ;)

Much obliged. An encouraging start and no mistake :)

Any minimum amount required for 888.com? And how can I tell that you're getting the commission? That way seems to get most money to you quickly

David, if you give it my way tomorrow night, i'll drive over to divs and hand it over to him personally for you, I only live 5 minutes away from him, so will have no probs passing it over.

Div, At the moment I can't hand anything over although i'd love to. Was made redundant about 5 or 6 weeks ago and am totally skint. I'll hopefully be able to donate in the future.

Cheers bud!

Hopefully it will get rid of the arseholes. :rolleyes:

Well, that's why a 'subscription fee' would be a good idea IMO. I can't imagine the trouble makers would be willing to pay £10 a year or whatever....

Any minimum amount required for 888.com? And how can I tell that you're getting the commission? That way seems to get most money to you quickly

Yes that seems more sensible as it will only take a few to sign up to make the money up.

Signing up now. BTW Div thanks for all you tremendous work here and on B&W army.

£20 on it's way Div!

I'll make that £40, David, PM me if you've made other arrangements!

Cheers mate, give me a shout next time you see me ;)

Edited to say: I've just seen Duff Man's post. Thanks, but I've just PM'd Livi Clyde about it :)

Well, that's why a 'subscription fee' would be a good idea IMO. I can't imagine the trouble makers would be willing to pay £10 a year or whatever....

Its more the weans I was thinking about. ;)

Get them tae f'k. :rolleyes:

I dont mind paying at all, but at the moment the site is going through a lull for me, probably because the SPL Forum is so dull. Probably wont be the case soon though. :rolleyes:

This is the deal Rob;

We get $200 US for every "Real Money" player who signs up. A Real Money player is defined as follows;

What is the minimum deposit one has to make in order to be considered a Real New Money Player?

A. The 888.com official affiliate program will pay every affiliate who brings Real New Money Player.

A "Real New Player" is defined as an Internet user who accesses the Casino Site or the Poker Site directly through the a Link, opens a new user account and make the required minimum deposit in such account.

The minimum first time deposit differs according to the brand the player makes the actual deposit in, and the payment method he uses to deposit the funds in his account (full details can be found on www.888.com & www.pacificpoker.com).

The average minimum first time deposit amounts are $20 for Pacific Poker and $50 for Casino-on-Net.

We could arrange to pay back the $50 to each player who signs up to 888. That way the person signing up gets $50 of free bets, and we get $150 nett for each sign up.

If you do sign up for it please PM me and we can arrange to refund you the $50 deposit if you wish once we have received our commission.