Obscure/unique

10 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Aircraft coming and going over Renfrew and Clydebank/Yoker.

The ones going out of Edinburgh go over Pumpherston and near to Broxburn and you can spot them coming in from Spartans and Civil Service Strollers too.

I think Dyce play next to Aberdeen airport too.

48 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I think Dyce play next to Aberdeen airport too.

Although Dyce's Ian Mair Park is not far from Aberdeen airport, it's Stoneywood-Parkvale's that is literally at the end of the runway.

When they're landing and taking off during a match, you have to stop yourself automatically wanting to duck.

My local side Inverurie Locos has a concrete works behind one goal, which towers over the ground, with a chute coming down at an angle from the highest point.

Campbeltown Pupils has a helipad next door.

I wish I'd used it to get to the game I did there - there and back in a day from home was a blummin' long drive !

The Stanks at Berwick is a pitch two sides of which are tight against the historic city walls. There's a charity tournament held there each year. Watching the Final from up the top of the walls was not good for my vertigo.

At least they don't have to go fetch the ball back when they shoot wide!

Edited by LeedsPhil

RAF Lossiemouth (Moray Welfare summer football) play inside the military base. You have to have special permission to attend as a spectator, and be met at the gatehouse by your host who escorts you past the fighter jets to get to the pitch. 

10 hours ago, Josuke Higashikata said:

The old Muirkirk ground was in the middle of nowhere. Imagine going up there in early January.

5ED24FF5-BCBE-41A6-ACFE-D385B0506289.jpeg

My workmate has a track car and regularly raced at Kames, he thought I was talking pish when I told him there used to be a football ground further up the hill. 

The pitch at Knockburn Sports Loch, outside Banchory, is used for Aberdeenshire Amateurs matches and the Mid-Deeside summer league.

It's within a triathlon training and competition complex, so as you're trying to watch a match there are athletes cycling and running on the tarmacked route alongside, and open-water swimming in the man-made lake behind the goal.

It was dreich in the first half. "Rather them than me", I thought about the swimmers in the freezing loch.

But then the rain stopped, The sun came out ...and so did the midges. I suddenly saw the attraction of going and jumping in the loch - to get away from the pesky biters!

Invergordon have 14(ish) big fuel storage tanks that are linked to the secret WW2 bunker hidden inside the hills behind the town.

They, along with a few others, are within a few 100 yards of a distillery so I don't know if it's unique enough to count.

Orkney's offical home ground is at the beginning of a causeway between 2 islands

19 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Aircraft coming and going over Renfrew and Clydebank/Yoker.

8 hours ago, tamthebam said:

The ones going out of Edinburgh go over Pumpherston

Here you go. Things to do at Pumphy when the game is poor…

CBEE5DC7-99ED-4C19-9FCE-457B310012EB.thumb.jpeg.bb0d16ce6c81ba2eee6f431f7b9fe62f.jpeg

In theory the quickest way to walk to Neilston railway station from the Brig O'Lee ground would be to walk along the disused railway line behind the far away goal.

Although the railway cops might take notice when you reached the single line turn back track just outside the station.

53 minutes ago, energyzone said:

Given the right set of fixtures you could technically get a glimpse of matches at Thorn Athletic, Kilwinning, Irvine Vics and Troon all on the same train journey.

Would like to know of an old Junior gound that's wasn't next to a railway at some point.