Who’s best equipped to go up and stay up?

We’ve had the likes of Hearts, Hibs and Dundee Utd regain their place in the Premiership in recent years, with decent returns where they’ve added something to the top division. Then we’ve had the likes of Dundee and Kilmarnock who didn’t seem to respond to the challenge properly and added nothing to the division. Who do you think would take promotion by the horns and make their presence felt in our top division, by their style of football, fans’ involvement, stadium, innovate ideas and commercial acumen? Basically which club would just grasp the opportunity and grow into it like the breath of fresh air our stagnate top division cries out for like a baby desperate for attention?

None of them will 'add' anything until common sense prevails and the top league is increased to 16 or 18 teams.  Then there will be less of a 'fear' of the drop, and teams could develop better players after consolidation.

Wont ever happen though due to the p***ks who cannot see past playing the bigot brothers twice each at home.

34 minutes ago, Heid_The_Baw said:

None of them will 'add' anything until common sense prevails and the top league is increased to 16 or 18 teams.  Then there will be less of a 'fear' of the drop, and teams could develop better players after consolidation.

Wont ever happen though due to the p***ks who cannot see past playing the bigot brothers twice each at home.

This format would be terrible 😅

Going from 38 games to 34 cuts everyone's budget and makes it even harder to compete with clubs down south for players. And we don't have enough European slots to justify a league of that size, which means from about January onwards there will be a big cluster of teams in the middle with nothing to play for.

Your last bit is right, it won't ever happen, and thank goodness!

Dundee have the experience, Queens Park have the money.

7 minutes ago, Lex said:

Going from 38 games to 34 cuts everyone's budget and makes it even harder to compete with clubs down south for players. And we don't have enough European slots to justify a league of that size, which means from about January onwards there will be a big cluster of teams in the middle with nothing to play for.

Supporters are furious that Celtic FC branding was put up at St Mirren Park  ahead of the Glasgow club's friendlies - Daily Record

Depends what you mean by 'best equipped' because at present, if the squads were unchanged, then whoever goes up would absolutely be the whipping boys of the league.

We are in a good position if we do go up because we can pretty much release our squad because only 3 are contracted past this season and 2 of those are also unlikely to be with us next season (Rudden & Byrne). Starting afresh will be Bowyer's plan whether we go up or not tbh.

Signing a completely new squad after promotion always has its risks as well, undoubtedly, but the last time we did this, we weren't in the position we are now with so many out of contract and Hartley still released the lot (likely hampering our budget) and we finished in the top 6.

So I'd be fairly comfortable with what we've got in store if we do manage to shitfest our way up with this group of bang average Championship players.

Whoever goes up this year from the championship will need an enormous squad overall to even hope to be competitive. Not saying it's not possible though, could easily see Queens Park becoming the new Hamilton for a few years in the top flight if they splash their cash right, and fair play to them if they did.

I think Dundee are destined to be a Premiership / Championship yo-yo club for eternity.

Edited by AuAl

My guess would be that current top flight fans would prefer at least one of Ayr, Morton or, to a lesser extent, Queens to go up since both us and Dundee have spent a fair bit of time in the top flight recently.

I think every one of the current squads would be firm favourites to go back down if promoted. Queens Park almost certainly have the most capacity to improve. 

48 minutes ago, Lex said:

Three leagues of 14 teams playing home and away once, with a split for the final 12 games, which would also be home and away, should keep things interesting. 

53 minutes ago, Lex said:

It's not exactly hard to solve this.  Prem & champ teams enter the Scottish cup earlier.  

1 hour ago, Lex said:

Considering how saturated the football calendar gets in winter period, I disagree.

If anything we offer an alternative to the Saturday-Wednesday-Saturday every week slog that is English football.

Edited by the jambo-rocker

Who is best equipped for promotion…no one. That’s the basic problem with fitba, isn’t it. The Premiership is designed like a very nice club, with all the members eager for the occasional new member to drain dry and discard. It’s like a sleigh-load of people rushing through the woods being chased by wolves, they have to toss someone off now and then to lighten the load and slow the wolves down…then they get a little breathing room and someone new parachutes onto the back, slowing them down again. At that point, the new arrival has to fight their way forward to survive and push another off the back. On the whole, you might argue for Dundee, as the best of a load of bad choices.

Queen’s can’t be best equipped because their home ground is the most spectacular clusterf**k since Operation Barbarossa.

Dundee can be questioned as the best equipped because of a yo-yo propensity, indicative of a club management scheme that is dysfunctional.

Ayr’s stumbling efforts of recent times raise questions of management and ownership commitment.

Partick are still in the middle of whatever the hell is going on with their management and ownership structure.

Morton are now “fan owned”, and unlikely to have the necessary resources.

Raith are in what seems to be their traditional ownership waffle with financial concerns.

ICT are reputed to make Raith, at least financially, look stable and secure.

Cove have proven they are probably not ready for the Championship, let alone the Premiership.

Arbroath’s team has aged out, and the rebuild isn’t going to plan.

The Accies have management that makes the incompetence at SVB look positively good by comparison, and appear on a trajectory for the Lowland a league.

4 hours ago, Lex said:

Narrow-minded pish. Would much rather we played less games a season than more games against the same opposition. Quality over quantity.

I 100% support a 16 team league like the Swedish Allsvenskan and Norwegian Eliteserien. Play each other once home and away, 30 games a season, bob's your uncle. No more ridiculous split and no more playing a team 4 times in the league. Games would be more enticing to go to home and away. 2 automatic relegation spots and relegation play-off would ensure that the relegation battle would be an exciting one every season and we would likely see new teams in the Premiership that haven't been there for many years, new teams to play and grounds to visit. 12 team league sucks arse and has become stale.

4 hours ago, Lex said:

Do you enjoy watching St Mirren play the same small cluster of teams 5 or 6 times a season? Wouldn’t you rather have more variety of opponent?

Small leagues are pish. They lead to lack of variety and turgid football.

I know it’s never going to change in the top flight while the bigot brothers still exist in our game, but there’s no reason to have boring 10-team divisions below.

As a side note, the Old Firm derby is one of the most tin pot derbies in world football. They play each other a minimum 4 times a season, this can rise to as much as 6 if they meet in the cups (like they will this season). The finest derbies in world football such as El Classico, Manchester Liverpool, Ajax Feyenoord, Bayern Dortmund, Merseyside Derby, North London etc are only contested twice a season and this hasn't diminished the status of those games. Add in the fact that the Old Firm aren't even letting away fans in, it's petty shite from two clubs that hold themselves in such high esteem. Both complete losers.

Edited by jamamafegan

1 hour ago, TxRover said:

Who is best equipped for promotion…no one. That’s the basic problem with fitba, isn’t it. The Premiership is designed like a very nice club, with all the members eager for the occasional new member to drain dry and discard. It’s like a sleigh-load of people rushing through the woods being chased by wolves, they have to toss someone off now and then to lighten the load and slow the wolves down…then they get a little breathing room and someone new parachutes onto the back, slowing them down again. At that point, the new arrival has to fight their way forward to survive and push another off the back. On the whole, you might argue for Dundee, as the best of a load of bad choices.

Queen’s can’t be best equipped because their home ground is the most spectacular clusterf**k since Operation Barbarossa.

Dundee can be questioned as the best equipped because of a yo-yo propensity, indicative of a club management scheme that is dysfunctional.

Ayr’s stumbling efforts of recent times raise questions of management and ownership commitment.

Partick are still in the middle of whatever the hell is going on with their management and ownership structure.

Morton are now “fan owned”, and unlikely to have the necessary resources.

Raith are in what seems to be their traditional ownership waffle with financial concerns.

ICT are reputed to make Raith, at least financially, look stable and secure.

Cove have proven they are probably not ready for the Championship, let alone the Premiership.

Arbroath’s team has aged out, and the rebuild isn’t going to plan.

The Accies have management that makes the incompetence at SVB look positively good by comparison, and appear on a trajectory for the Lowland a league.

In terms of off field management and ownership structure, I would say out of the 10 clubs we're top of the pile so that is probably the most nonsense statement on this thread :lol:

1 hour ago, jamamafegan said:

As a side note, the Old Firm derby is one of the most tin pot derbies in world football. They play each other a minimum 4 times a season, this can rise to as much as 6 if they meet in the cups (like they will this season). The finest derbies in world football such as El Classico, Manchester Liverpool, Ajax Feyenoord, Bayern Dortmund, Merseyside Derby, North London etc are only contested twice a season and this has diminished the status of those games. Add in the fact that the Old Firm aren't even letting away fans in, it's petty shite from two clubs that hold themselves in such high esteem. Both complete losers.

The Glasgow Arsecheeks are the biggest loser clubs in world football. Both supported by absolute pondlife who think both clubs are one of the biggest in the world. The fact that both clubs are minnows in Europe and routinely get ragdolled would say otherwise.

Compare the English Premier League with the Scottish Premiership from 10 years ago. How many teams were in the league in 2013 but aren't in them now?

Scotland: 2 

England: 8

The fact is that the Scottish top-flight has barely changed face over the past 10 years whilst in England there's a significant difference, thanks to the greater number of relegation spots which provide a better chance of fresh faces entering the league. There's only 5 teams from the past decade that have played in the Scottish top flight who aren't there just now! Hopefully Queens Park will buck the trend this season but even still, we are crying out for a more exciting league system than this.