Things that might die (out) in your lifetime

3 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Suitcases without wheels, if they haven't already. 

How did it take so long for someone to come up with the suitcase on wheels? 

Suitcases on wheels are ok if they're massive suitcases on really flat ground. Other than that they're a pain to drag about and a trip hazard. Stations in London are full of guys half my age dragging wee holdall sized things or even a laptop case behind them like my granny with the mesaages. They should be made to pick them up and carry them properly and wear a big badge saying "lazy, inconsiderate c**t" 

I remember playing Muirfield when I was about 15 and my mum putting a tie in my rucksack saying I'll need that to get into the clubhouse for the lunch after. What she didn't tell me (and I found out when the man on the door stopped me going in) was it had to be tied in a Windsor knot. 

Had no idea what it was so just looked glaikit at the doorman who huffed then put my tie in a Windsor knot for me.

3 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Suitcases without wheels, if they haven't already. 

I remember having to go to India on a work trip about 10 years ago. Said trip was fairly long so it was big suitcase territory.  I was meeting someone in Doha who was flying out from Bath and he turned up with a wheel-less suitcase like some fucking 1970s spiv.

10 days with him trawling his 20kg canvas box around the Indian subcontinent. What a fucking melt.

38 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

I remember having to go to India on a work trip about 10 years ago. Said trip was fairly long so it was big suitcase territory.  I was meeting someone in Doha who was flying out from Bath and he turned up with a wheel-less suitcase like some fucking 1970s spiv.

10 days with him trawling his 20kg canvas box around the Indian subcontinent. What a fucking melt.

James Beck actor from the BBC TV series Dads Army. James plays the ...

1 hour ago, Richey Edwards said:

Sectarianism in Scottish football has f**k all to do with religion. For some inexplicable reason (I would wager said "inexplicable reason" is stupidity tbh), people confuse following certain football teams with being part of a particular religion. None of these people know the first thing about the religions they claim to follow. 

I have had conversations like the following:

Idiot: Ahm a Proddy m8

Me: So you believe in Jesus?

Idiot: Naw that's a pure tarrier hing 

Me:

b1cdcd6b67d1ad9bbd3ffb6a2aeb29bb.gif.0c97cf631c8d11e8749e9ee763eccd39.gif

"Why do you hate Celtic?"

"They believe in transubstantiation, and, quite frankly, that's something I simply can't get on board with"

8 hours ago, paranoid android said:

Rock music.

Nah it's going the way of Jazz, there'll be enough people around to support a small number of new bands plus older acts will still pull biggish crowds as long as they're still around. Looking forward to when 90% of the audience at a Bob Dylan concert are using a Zimmer man! 

10 hours ago, ICTChris said:

I wonder if pubs are a dying industry or at least one that is changing significantly.  Around the time of the smoking ban I worked, briefly, for a large brewery who also owned pubs.  We went to a presentation that showed the plans for pubs post-smoking ban.  Essentially the model for a profitable pub was one that was large, focused on food and had significant contained outdoor spaces that could be covered and heated.  This meant that groups of people socialising could sit outside where some could smoke without getting rained on or cold, people wanting to eat could sit inside.  All seating areas could have screens to attract people for sporting events etc.  Obviously this model excludes the majority of pubs and a lot of places have closed over the years and that's without taking into account the three horsemen of the service industry apocolpyse - Brexit, Covid and War in Ukraine/cost of living.

This is the number of pubs in the UK between 2000 and 2020

image.thumb.png.86c2beef931d1dbdaaa704fd649c8372.png

The increase in costs of drinks is what will do most in, as more folk will stop going and pubs will then put the prices up even more to compensate causing a vicious circle.

1 hour ago, btb said:

Nah it's going the way of Jazz, there'll be enough people around to support a small number of new bands plus older acts will still pull biggish crowds as long as they're still around. Looking forward to when 90% of the audience at a Bob Dylan concert are using a Zimmer man! 

I wish Jazz would die out. 

It's fuckin shite.

The high heid yin at Nestlé has already gone on record to say that access to clean, safe drinking water is not a human right and should’nt be free. 

Given the power corporations already have over world politics, I see a massive rise in the commodification of resources we currently take for granted. 

4 minutes ago, Shotgun said:

The high heid yin at Nestlé has already gone on record to say that access to clean, safe drinking water is not a human right and should’nt be free. 

Given the power corporations already have over world politics, I see a massive rise in the commodification of resources we currently take for granted. 

The Milky Bar Kid?

12 hours ago, paranoid android said:

Rock music.

Maybe rock bands are more at risk.  A songwriter can now use computers to do all the instruments being played by other people.  A band like The Beatles where more than one member can write songs - maybe that is less common now.

5 hours ago, Richey Edwards said:

Sectarianism in Scottish football has f**k all to do with religion. For some inexplicable reason (I would wager said "inexplicable reason" is stupidity tbh), people confuse following certain football teams with being part of a particular religion. None of these people know the first thing about the religions they claim to follow. 

I have had conversations like the following:

Idiot: Ahm a Proddy m8

Me: So you believe in Jesus?

Idiot: Naw that's a pure tarrier hing 

Me:

b1cdcd6b67d1ad9bbd3ffb6a2aeb29bb.gif.0c97cf631c8d11e8749e9ee763eccd39.gif

Uh oh.............that's you on Andy Dufresne's hit list for a warning point Richey.