Next permanent Scotland manager

Richey Edwards

253 members have voted

1 hour ago, orfc said:

Nope 🙂 - Wingsy is just how he's known to all his unionist chums. "That b*****d who wants independence" to you Judean People's Front lot.

Sir Wingsy for FM 🙂

Mouthy transphobic arsehole you mean.

Edited by DeeTillEhDeh

SNP policy statement on gay rights.  Seems at odds with having a self confessed homophobe as party leader.

This is the first paragraph:

We believe that there is no place in Scotland for prejudice or discrimination, and that everyone deserves to be treated fairly, regardless of their sexual orientation.

The SNP has a proud record of advancing and championing LGBTI rights while in government. We have delivered the most progressive and extensive equal marriage legislation, a pardon for historical ‘homosexual offences’, and equal civil partnerships.  We opened up adoption and IVF for same-sex couples, reformed blood donation rules, established a Working Group on Non-Binary Equality and made Scotland the first country in the UK to approve the provision of PrEP by the NHS. We passed the Hate Crime Act at the end of the last parliament which makes it an offence to stir up hatred against people on the grounds of sexual orientation, transgender identity and variations in sex characteristics.

We continue to demand the full devolution of equality, employment and immigration powers so that the Scottish Parliament has the powers to protect LGBTI equality and make Scotland a fairer and more equal place to live.

There is no place for conversion therapy in Scotland. Such practices are discriminatory and harmful to the mental health and wellbeing of LGBTI people. The UK Government made a commitment to ban conversion therapy in their LGBT Action Plan, and we fully support this, as we know making a ban fully comprehensive will involve action in reserved areas. However, if the UK Government does not take action, we will bring forward our own legislation insofar as is possible within the powers of the Scottish Parliament.

We remain fully committed to progressing delivery of the world‐leading recommendations on LGBT Inclusive Education across the curriculum in order to improve the learning environment for all children and young people. We believe an educational approach to tackling homophobic, biphobic, and transphobic bullying and prejudice in schools is essential. LGBT history, role models and equalities education should be taught in schools to tackle the prejudice which often leads to the bullying and social exclusion of LGBT young people. To achieve this, we have funded Time For Inclusive Education (TIE) to work with decision makers, produce curriculum resources, and deliver services for teachers and pupils to raise awareness, heighten knowledge, and foster good relations. We are committed to that work and will continue to fund it until the prejudice that has blighted too many young lives is eradicated.

We will introduce an overarching Scottish Diversity and Inclusion Strategy covering the public sector, our educational institutions, justice system, and workplaces. This strategy will focus on the removal of institutional, cultural and financial barriers which lead to inequalities in relation to gender, race, religion, sexual orientation, disability and social mobility.

We will increase and improve our data collection so that across all our policies we will be able to have a strong evidence base, gauge intersectional inequality, measure outcomes, and recommend improvements.

39 minutes ago, ScotiaNostra said:

Every time I see any clip of them I just get a worse and worse feeling, its all fecked

This is inevitable...

Fire This Is Fine GIF by MOODMAN

Trying to work out who will be the least bad option is tricky. Frankly, I doubt any can really advance the cause. Which is a depressing thought.

2 hours ago, Trogdor said:

This is inevitable...

Fire This Is Fine GIF by MOODMAN

Trying to work out who will be the least bad option is tricky. Frankly, I doubt any can really advance the cause. Which is a depressing thought.

Some legacy for Sturgeon. A united movement for independence that she inherited in 2014.

The Brexit vote with all of her and Blackfords speeches about not allowing Scotland to be taken out of the EU against our will.

Cameron stepping down after Brexit and then a clear run of 3 of the worst PMs in living memory. Did she take the opportunity?

Need somebody with a bit of get up and go. Not really been inspired by any of the candidates so far to be honest.

Humza looks to be continuity Sturgeon so that is a pass for me.

7 hours ago, wirez said:

Some legacy for Sturgeon. A united movement for independence that she inherited in 2014.

The Brexit vote with all of her and Blackfords speeches about not allowing Scotland to be taken out of the EU against our will.

Cameron stepping down after Brexit and then a clear run of 3 of the worst PMs in living memory. Did she take the opportunity?

Need somebody with a bit of get up and go. Not really been inspired by any of the candidates so far to be honest.

Humza looks to be continuity Sturgeon so that is a pass for me.

To be fair, that United movement was never going to remain so, and was splitting up by 2016 when the RIC crew formed Rise. Further splintering into Alba can hardly be laid at Sturgeon's door either.

As for actually advancing the Indy cause, well that has relied on the British Government acting in good faith. Bear in mind that Cameron was under no legal obligation to entertain the first referendum in 2012 and only did so because he was high on the success of squashing the AV issue via a referendum and thought he could do so again.

I suspect only election mandates are now left as a means of escape, but even then the UK government can ignore that mandate.

I actually think the best medium term tactical move the SNP could make is to wait for a hung parliament and negotiate holding up a Labour government not on the promise of another s30, but on an amendment to the Scotland Act that would permanently cede to Holyrood the power to legislate for a referendum on an agreed cadence.

In the short term, rebuilding a coherent Indy movement, and trying to drive progressive reforms in Scotland is the best the SNP can probably achieve.

It'll be interesting to see how tonight's debate goes.

A lot of it will depend on the format, and whether they're prepared to interrupt each other, put each other down and go for soundbites to get cheers from the audience.

Humza Yousaf could either sink or swim in this environment.  He's an obnoxious wee nyaff, so may show himself up.

15 minutes ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

It'll be interesting to see how tonight's debate goes.

A lot of it will depend on the format, and whether they're prepared to interrupt each other, put each other down and go for soundbites to get cheers from the audience.

Humza Yousaf could either sink or swim in this environment.  He's an obnoxious wee nyaff, so may show himself up.

The desperation of unionists for the good guys to act like unionists is delicious. Nothing has indicated that this will be like a Tory or Labour leader hustings. 

44 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

The hustings have all been very civilised so far, it will be interested to see how it goes without a hand picked member audience asking the questions.

What are the odds that we get some genital inspector screaming 'can a wummin huv a penis ?' at Humza ?

3 minutes ago, Wingman said:

And why not?

Who would want a flat earther or science denier as FM?

Aye, we wouldn't want some numpty who didn't know there's a difference between sex and gender.

1 hour ago, Bodie said:

What are the odds that we get some genital inspector screaming 'can a wummin huv a penis ?' at Humza ?

Probably not. Allegedly the reason there was so many in the Holyrood galleries was because the Tories were helping them get tickets. I don’t know that they’d be able to go online to book without getting distracted and hit up Twitter to scream abuse at India Willoughby and end up missing the window.