Warriors vs Sons

Outcome?  

19 members have voted

1. 1. Outcome?

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 04/02/23 at 15:00

Stenhousemuir are a club who each season go from one false dawn to another. Perpetual diddies. They'll be lucky not to get relegated either this season or soon enough. If the pyramid has given us one good thing, it's the natural order. The likes of Shire, Cowden and Berwick are already where they belong and staying there. It'll be Stenny sooner or later.

20 minutes ago, Sweet Pete said:

Stenhousemuir are a club who each season go from one false dawn to another. Perpetual diddies. They'll be lucky not to get relegated either this season or soon enough. If the pyramid has given us one good thing, it's the natural order. The likes of Shire, Cowden and Berwick are already where they belong and staying there. It'll be Stenny sooner or later.

Make that a Stenny win then.

46 minutes ago, Sweet Pete said:

I like that the pyramid has opened up but I don't think it goes far enough. The team that finishes bottom of the other three spfl divisions are automatically relegated and I can't see why that doesn't happen to the L2 side. 

1 hour ago, microdave said:

I like that the pyramid has opened up but I don't think it goes far enough. The team that finishes bottom of the other three spfl divisions are automatically relegated and I can't see why that doesn't happen to the L2 side. 

Completely agree. The shake up was long overdue, but didn't go far enough. It's a halfway house. Bottom should go. And 9th should be a playoff.

11 minutes ago, Sweet Pete said:

Completely agree. The shake up was long overdue, but didn't go far enough. It's a halfway house. Bottom should go. And 9th should be a playoff.

I'd been thinking 10th would be replaced by the winner of HL/LL play off. Who would you have 9th playing off against?

2 hours ago, Sweet Pete said:

I should probably add, in the interest of both fairness and realism, it'll be Bonny Wee Mary who'll finish bottom this season.

2 hours ago, Sweet Pete said:

🎣🎣🎣

I'm looking forward to this game. A couple of weeks ago, I would have been dreading this kind of encounter but we appear reinvigorated under our new manager and everything about Stenhousemuir feels far more positive. We did not give a good account of ourselves last time we faced Dumbarton and lost three dreadful goals, including one of the worst I've ever seen, when little Finlay Gray was allowed to jog from inside his own half to finish, and I'd like to think we can make amends this time around.

Gary Naysmith has largely used the same players throughout his tenure and he'll do the same here. The only changes he'll make are Sean Crighton in for Dan Higgins at centre-back and, maybe, in attack, with Tam Orr in for Will Sewell (or another striker, should we sign one).

- Will Sewell -

- Euan O'Reilly - Adam Brown - Matty Yates -

- Nat Wedderbun - Mikey Miller -

- Callum Yeats - Sean Crighton - Nicky Jamieson - Adam Corbett -

- Curtis Lyle -

I'm under no illusions about how difficult this will be but, conversely, I don't see why we can't give Dumbarton something to think about.

On 29/01/2023 at 00:00, Francesc Fabregas said:

I'm looking forward to this game. A couple of weeks ago, I would have been dreading this kind of encounter but we appear reinvigorated under our new manager and everything about Stenhousemuir feels far more positive. We did not give a good account of ourselves last time we faced Dumbarton and lost three dreadful goals, including one of the worst I've ever seen, when little Finlay Gray was allowed to jog from inside his own half to finish, and I'd like to think we can make amends this time around.

Gary Naysmith has largely used the same players throughout his tenure and he'll do the same here. The only changes he'll make are Sean Crighton in for Dan Higgins at centre-back and, maybe, in attack, with Tam Orr in for Will Sewell (or another striker, should we sign one).

- Will Sewell -

- Curtis Lyle -

I'm under no illusions about how difficult this will be but, conversely, I don't see why we can't give Dumbarton something to think about.

No Ross Forbes?

Hopefully we can give a good showing of ourselves here again. Hopefully I'll be back at Ochilview for the first time in years (although it is probably the away stadium I have visited the most). Just hoping our energy levels are there and that we don't let guys like Wedderburn dictate too much. He doesn't cope well with energetic players who don't give him time on the ball and we have the players in our squad to prevent him influencing the match too much.

*Can't wait for him to score the winner now*

On 29/01/2023 at 00:00, Francesc Fabregas said:

- Will Sewell -

- Curtis Lyle -

'Little Finlay Gray was allowed to jog' ☺️

I think you'll find that Finlay ran from almost his own box at a fair lick, with two Stenny players giving up the ghost en route to him scoring.

Anyway, it's no certainty Gray will start on Saturday as we seem to pick a team based on the last game's result rather than the one which is required for the game ahead.  And that's why Ally Love will likely retain his place when IMO he doesn't deserve to.

5 hours ago, squeezebox-son said:

No Ross Forbes?

Hopefully we can give a good showing of ourselves here again. Hopefully I'll be back at Ochilview for the first time in years (although it is probably the away stadium I have visited the most). Just hoping our energy levels are there and that we don't let guys like Wedderburn dictate too much. He doesn't cope well with energetic players who don't give him time on the ball and we have the players in our squad to prevent him influencing the match too much.

*Can't wait for him to score the winner no

3 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

'Little Finlay Gray was allowed to jog' ☺️

I think you'll find that Finlay ran from almost his own box at a fair lick, with two Stenny players giving up the ghost en route to him scoring

Not if he's got the same boots on as last weekend, nearly took the corner flag off with one of his efforts 😆 . I think Big Nat is more exposed when the ball is played wide and he's made to cover. He's brilliant at shutting down nippy wee centre mid's and bullying them all game. 

As for Gray, mate I'm not sure if you were at the game but it was a canter at most. Watch the highlights. He does start from deep but he's not bursting his balls to get up the park at a 'fair lick'.  He gets away from Wedderburn then two Stenny players do keep up with him, all the way until Gray shoots, they just do nothing to stop his progression. Gray should've been emptied at the half way line. That was frustrating bit, no one is trying to take anything away from Gray's effort.

11 minutes ago, Old Fashioned Stramash said:

Not if he's got the same boots on as last weekend, nearly took the corner flag off with one of his efforts 😆 . I think Big Nat is more exposed when the ball is played wide and he's made to cover. He's brilliant at shutting down nippy wee centre mid's and bullying them all game. 

As for Gray, mate I'm not sure if you were at the game but it was a canter at most. Watch the highlights. He does start from deep but he's not bursting his balls to get up the park at a 'fair lick'.  He gets away from Wedderburn then two Stenny players do keep up with him, all the way until Gray shoots, they just do nothing to stop his progression. Gray should've been emptied at the half way line. That was frustrating bit, no one is trying to take anything away from Gray's effort.

Not to get involved in the most pointless discussion of all time, but I'm not sure the other defender does keep up with him. Far from it. Scott Walker might've done mind you if he'd been arsed breaking into more than a light jog.

I may be misremembering here, but I'm fairly certain our player GPS thing had Gray hitting something like 32km/h as he scored that goal. Which seems fairly blistering to a slow-coach like me.

What's gone on previously is irrelevant here, Stenny will be a different team and whilst I fully expect us to keep things tight I also expect them to trouble us in ways they haven't previously. I don't think Faz is far away from trying big Rusty and Wallace together up top but I'm not sure this is the game for it - midfield will be key and if Joe McKee is anywhere near fitness I'd be starting him in place of Love.