Blue Toon vs. Doonhamers

We dominated that game from start to finish, tbh. Should have been ahead first half, but a stupid penalty saw us 1 down at half time. At half time I said to my dad and son that I still expected us to win, and it was pretty comfortable in the end.

There was lots of nice passing, the midfield completely controlled the game. Only concern is that we didn’t have the cutting edge in the first half, but can’t complain with 3 in the second. Kabia looked good when he came on, and I liked the look of the 3 at the back. 

Edited by die hard doonhamer

34 minutes ago, die hard doonhamer said:

We dominated that game from start to finish, tbh. Should have been ahead first half, but a stupid penalty saw us 1 down at half time. At half time I said to my dad and son that I still expected us to win, and it was pretty comfortable in the end.

There was lots of nice passing, the midfield completely controlled the game. Only concern is that we didn’t have the cutting edge in the first half, but can’t complain with 3 in the second. Kabia looked good when he came on, and I liked the look of the 3 at the back. 

Who played well for us today?

21 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Wilson's injury the one he picked up in the Super Challenge Cup game, aye? 😒

We've probably picked up more injuries in training than in games (Wilson did in pre-season I think), should we cancel training in case someone gets injured. Wilson's latest injury may have been less of a problem if he'd been taken off straight away rather than let him run about/put in tackles for another 5 - 10 minutes after it. We really are in a bad way if an injury to just one player, however key he is, seriously weakens the team so much.  I'm up for the Cup (now) anyway. 

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

We've probably picked up more injuries in training than in games (Wilson did in pre-season I think), should we cancel training in case someone gets injured. Wilson's latest injury may have been less of a problem if he'd been taken off straight away rather than let him run about/put in tackles for another 5 - 10 minutes after it. We really are in a bad way if an injury to just one player, however key he is, seriously weakens the team so much.  I'm up for the Cup (now) anyway. 

I just wouldn't risk a vital, injury prone player in such a fixture. It makes my distain for that tournament even stronger. 

I get all the anti Diddy Cup arguments, I do.  However, we only take part in 4 tournaments each season and of these the two big cups are not realistically winnable targets (the objective in these is to go as deep as possible with the hope of a big pay day if we draw a big team).  So the only winnable tournaments for us each season are either the particular diddy league we happen to be in or the diddy cup itself.  For me I want us to be competing hard in tournaments that we can win.  What's the point in asking folk to pay to watch the team and the club only putting on a half-arsed showing in a certain tournament because it can't be bothered?

31 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

I get all the anti Diddy Cup arguments, I do.  However, we only take part in 4 tournaments each season and of these the two big cups are not realistically winnable targets (the objective in these is to go as deep as possible with the hope of a big pay day if we draw a big team).  So the only winnable tournaments for us each season are either the particular diddy league we happen to be in or the diddy cup itself.  For me I want us to be competing hard in tournaments that we can win.  What's the point in asking folk to pay to watch the team and the club only putting on a half-arsed showing in a certain tournament because it can't be bothered?

The competition lost all it's legitimacy and attraction for me when the SFA* shoehorned the colts teams and clubs from NI/ROI/Wales and the English non-league scene into it.  The SFA made it diddy, not the clubs it was initially designed for - a cup for the lower three divisions and perhaps the winners of the Highland and Lowland League seems more genuine than the current mishmash of participants.  I couldn't care less about it.

* or SFL - I'm so disinterested in it I don't even know who organises it.

Edited by Slipmat

1 hour ago, Otis Blue said:

Tbf the numbers show that the fans tend not to part with their cash for this particular tournament. The attendances are generally poorer. 

53 minutes ago, Slipmat said:

The competition lost all it's legitimacy and attraction for me when the SFA* shoehorned the colts teams and clubs from NI/ROI/Wales and the English non-league scene into it.  The SFA made it diddy, not the clubs it was initially designed for - a cup for the lower three divisions and perhaps the winners of the Highland and Lowland League seems more genuine than the current mishmash of participants.  I couldn't care less about it.

* or SFL - I'm so disinterested in it I don't even know who organises it.

I don't think the Colts sides should be in it either and nor am I keen on the NI/ROI/English NL clubs either, but there's not much we can do about it given that the last people that the rulers of the game up here will listen to are the fans.  It still remains one of the two competitions where we can put our paws on some silverware.

20 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Tbf the numbers show that the fans tend not to part with their cash for this particular tournament. The attendances are generally poorer. 

Aye true, there is apathy in the earlier rounds, not helped of course by the clamour across all clubs to field second string starting XIs.  However, when we get to the sharp end of the competition interest fairly picks up.  Some of our biggest travelling supports have been to the five diddy finals and they're usually good days out.  I think we took near on 5k to the Falkirk final at Motherwell IIRC.  I've said before that one of the best games I've watched over the years was our 5-3 win at Love Street in a diddy semi-final - both sides attacking from start to finish, great stuff.

But the game's all about differing views - I like it, many don't.

27 minutes ago, ALOREBURNE said:

Bit of fortune in the 2nd and 3rd goals, both defensive howlers but you could argue also due to pressurising the defenders and they were both tucked away well too.  The customary penalty give away of course ...

6 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

I don't think the Colts sides should be in it either and nor am I keen on the NI/ROI/English NL clubs either, but there's not much we can do about it given that the last people that the rulers of the game up here will listen to are the fans.  It still remains one of the two competitions where we can put our paws on some silverware.

Aye true, there is apathy in the earlier rounds, not helped of course by the clamour across all clubs to field second string starting XIs.  However, when we get to the sharp end of the competition interest fairly picks up.  Some of our biggest travelling supports have been to the five diddy finals and they're usually good days out.  I think we took near on 5k to the Falkirk final at Motherwell IIRC.  I've said before that one of the best games I've watched over the years was our 5-3 win at Love Street in a diddy semi-final - both sides attacking from start to finish, great stuff.

But the game's all about differing views - I like it, many don't.

Aye, now the colt imposters are out of it it's more like the competition it used to be and the inclusion of English /Welsh/Nor'n Irish and ROI teams was only mainly accepted by fans cos it meant the possibility of a good away day. 

Anyway, maybe a topic that shouldn't dominate another match thread. 

Just now, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Anyway, maybe a topic that shouldn't dominate another match thread. 

Oh, aye quite right - I forgot this was the match thread (must've been the Wilson injury situation that led me on to this), apologies.

49 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Bit of fortune in the 2nd and 3rd goals, both defensive howlers but you could argue also due to pressurising the defenders and they were both tucked away well too.  The customary penalty give away of course ...

The concession of the penalty by McKay is pathetic.

Utterly brainless.

51 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

The penalty give away was horrendous - no danger whatsoever- Shanks going nowhere. McKay for some inexplicable reason tried to wrestle him just on the outside of the box and when that didn't work he continues into the box and trips him for good measure. He usually never puts any sort of decent challenge in and then he goes to the other extreme all of a sudden. 

As Manager said the forwards bailed him out second half. Highlights how much we need a solid CB. 

Pleased for Bartley that they got the win as he is clearly trying hard to get something going.

Looks like a decent game, absolutely calamitous defending by Peterhead for the second and third. The second the centre half Ikwa gets totally lost under the high ball and misses a routine header, not quite sure what McKenzie was playing at for the third.

It seems that apart from Joshua and Jason Brown a totally different defence from the previous week and playing all these new signings at the same time probably a mistake in hindsight.

Peterhead are improving in terms of work rate and effort from the last weeks of McInally, but I wonder if they really have the time to experiment like this. QOS well worthy of the win it seems and looked a good deal more dangerous than they did at Links Park a few weeks back.