Gable Endies vs Doonhamers

Marvin's first league match as Queens manager (after the midweek Quarter Final in the Challenge Cup vs. Kelty Hearts at Palmerston)....

Could Queens get off to a good start at Links Park under MB?

Edited by Homer Thompson
Typo

12 hours ago, TERREGLES1919 said:

Could Queens get off to a good start at Links Park under MB?

Who knows which way this will go.  On the one hand we might just get something of a new manager bounce, but equally this will be Bartley's first close hand view of our dreadful defence and the extent of the task he has facing him.  Gardyne and McAllister will have plenty scope for mischief in this one.

2 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

Who knows which way this will go.  On the one hand we might just get something of a new manager bounce, but equally this will be Bartley's first close hand view of our dreadful defence and the extent of the task he has facing him.  Gardyne and McAllister will have plenty scope for mischief in this one.

I think he'll have had a good enough view yesterday to see the extent of work that's needed. 

33 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I think he'll have had a good enough view yesterday to see the extent of work that's needed. 

He was in Dingwall yesterday so won't have seen our wonderful display. Though I'd imagine he'll have access to the match or at the very least have a look at the highlights. 

I've written this season off tbh. If he can get the side looking half way competent by the end of the season then he's done well. I'll fully judge him after he's got rid of the dross and replaced them with his own players though. 

40 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

He was in Dingwall yesterday so won't have seen our wonderful display. Though I'd imagine he'll have access to the match or at the very least have a look at the highlights. 

I've written this season off tbh. If he can get the side looking half way competent by the end of the season then he's done well. I'll fully judge him after he's got rid of the dross and replaced them with his own players though. 

Apologies, I assumed with the appointment being announced just after the game that he had been at Palmerston. 

It makes yesterday's defeat all the more galling.

At the time there was maybe a slight silver lining in it surely confirming we wouldn't stick with Murray.  That decision had clearly already been made though.  A win would have sent us into the new era much better placed.

I did think it a wee bit odd to make the announcement immediately after yesterday's game, but SD's post explains it. The Alloa game's behind us now and we move on.

The rest of the season is something of a free hit for Bartley now. Key indicators will be:

- can he bring in any decent loans to shore up our "defence", and

- can he bring some organisation and tactical nous into our game

If he can tick these boxes then we might yet make 4th.

The summer is the big event for Bartley though as he gets to shift the dross and mould his own squad.

On 08/01/2023 at 17:05, Otis Blue said:

I did think it a wee bit odd to make the announcement immediately after yesterday's game, but SD's post explains it. The Alloa game's behind us now and we move on.

The rest of the season is something of a free hit for Bartley now. Key indicators will be:

- can he bring in any decent loans to shore up our "defence", and

- can he bring some organisation and tactical nous into our game

If he can tick these boxes then we might yet make 4th.

The summer is the big event for Bartley though as he gets to shift the dross and mould his own squad.

I'd agree with this.  He more or less has a free run for the rest of the season.  The paucity of Peterhead & Clyde you would think would prevent any possibility of relegation.  If he manages to improve on our current league placing he will have done well.

In the short term it hinges on whether or not he can bring some organisation and better standard of player to our fragile defence.  Top of his list should be a new goalkeeper and some defensive cover.

We won't suddenly turn in to a good team overnight but hopefully we can see some improvements at Montrose to give us something to build on.

Will be interesting to see the extent of change/impact that Marv can have with less than a week with the players. Hopefully see a bit more belief and intent from the players but the two week window after this one will really allow for him to get his tactical plans across to the players.

Kev will come straight in as No1, wonder if will do the same with Brydon at centre half. 

Any optimism seen this season has been swiftly extinguished so not expecting much tomorrow. 

I'm not sure of the injury situation  with Wilson and Cochrane but we could be a bit fragile in the middle of the park, unless there's more incoming business done today. We'll also probably still be hampered with at least couple of weak defenders so I'm not expecting a sudden improvement in our standard of play. As has been said already, it'll take a few weeks for Bartley to put his stamp on this team. 

13 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I'm not sure of the injury situation  with Wilson and Cochrane but we could be a bit fragile in the middle of the park, unless there's more incoming business done today. We'll also probably still be hampered with at least couple of weak defenders so I'm not expecting a sudden improvement in our standard of play. As has been said already, it'll take a few weeks for Bartley to put his stamp on this team. 

Wilson just had a dead leg and is meant to be fine. And Cochrane was waiting on the all clear on an eye injury he got in training

2 minutes ago, QoS99 said:

Wilson just had a dead leg and is meant to be fine. And Cochrane was waiting on the all clear on an eye injury he got in training

He got the all clear last Friday. It was just a case of him stepping back into training as he'd not been allowed to train while awaiting clearance from a specialist.

20 hours ago, QoS99 said:

Will be surprised if Wilson or McKay is fit for  this game .

Bartley has been saying all the right things now the most important thing  to see if he gets any reaction from the players.

Our defence is still very weak asking a lot to expect a 19 year old centre half  to make a huge difference.  

25 minutes ago, the_palmy_pie said:

No way Wilson will be fit for today….. Thankfully we’ve a two week break after today for him and a few others to recover. 

Aye but think positively. We've only lost our best player because of that shite cup. At least we're into the semi-final 😒

New boys right in. Would be very happy with a point tbh. It's not going to be a quick fix for Bartley. 

Yep, new lads start.  Interesting that young McKechnie keeps his starting place.  Also good to see East and Cochrane available again to strengthen the bench.  Currie not even making the bench.

Excellent decision making to ensure that Wilson got injured in the cup of diddyness with a two week league gap approaching for his recovery ... amarite? 🤔 😉

18 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Yep, new lads start.  Interesting that young McKechnie keeps his starting place.  Also good to see East and Cochrane available again to strengthen the bench.  Currie not even making the bench.

Excellent decision making to ensure that Wilson got injured in the cup of diddyness with a two week league gap approaching for his recovery ... amarite? 🤔 😉

http://www.qosfc.com/news-5989

Currie away.