Dunfermline v Falkirk

Can’t find the story just now but loved how when McPake first turned up at East End to see about the job he spotted a young lad running round the pitch the whole time. This was weeks before preseason. The young man introduced himself as Matty Todd and explained that last season wasn’t good enough fitness-wise and that he was determined to improve himself and the team this year. 

2 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

Can’t find the story just now but loved how when McPake first turned up at East End to see about the job he spotted a young lad running round the pitch the whole time. This was weeks before preseason. The young man introduced himself as Matty Todd and explained that last season wasn’t good enough fitness-wise and that he was determined to improve himself and the team this year. 

Sad Season 4 GIF by The Office

4 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

He keeps flapping his arms. Like a toddler throwing a tantrum. He obviously looked at the stats just before the interview and couldn’t find any way to claim they were the better team this time. Surprised he didn’t claim it was a draw, because of the yellow card count!

He does that wee flappy arm thing in literally every interview. The last interview he did after the game at TFS was fine. I haven't watched this one, but im quite certain that it will be fine too. Its certainly a weird reaction we always seem to get to these interviews. 

I don't think any Pars fan has ever said that McPake didn't have a big budget at Dundee or that Adam wasn't a big, if not the biggest, factor in their winning promotion. Its such a bizarre thing to come out with. He's not had the biggest budget in this league (certainly in terms of player acquisitions, although I suppose our wage bill will be amongst the highest), he's not had the luxury of revamping an underperforming squad, he hasn't got an Adam like figure who can single handedly win games (although Matty Todd is starting to get that way!) and he's said himself he learned a lot from his time at Dens. What he has done is got players who looked terrible playing well again, he's not been afraid to admit to mistakes and change players or tactics when it's not working, he's managed to instil some belief in the squad and he's managed to get the whole squad - even non-playing members of the squad - pulling in one direction. 

11 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

John Hughes wasted a talented ACM at RB he should never recover his career from this mess.

15 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

So they only won games because of a player McPake signed? Also, you’re talking about budgets, he’s signed 3 new players on permanent deals here. One was a backup keeper. The rest of our players are loan signings and the players who were dross last season. I don’t think there’s much doubt Falkirk have outspent us this season. If you watched the likes of Mehmet, Breen, Chalmers, Wighton etc last season, you’d think their careers as full time footballers were over.

Will we need to improve the squad, to compete in the championship? Absolutely. But McPake’s given us reason to believe in him/back him. His permanent signings (Hamilton and Benedictus) have been fantastic for us and are captain and vice-captain. But his main achievement is making us a team. Last season, there was no team spirit, seemed to be a lot of in-fighting in the squad. They were a shambles. McPake brought in leaders and has changed the mentality and, almost the same set of players, now seem to gel really well as a team. Is that not a sign of good management?

Again, I have to ask, have you never seen anyone learn from mistakes and become better at their job? Nobody’s trying to rewrite history and claim he was the messiah at Dundee. But it’s really strange behaviour to come on here and criticise a manager, when his team are 8 points clear at the top of their league, with 16 clean sheets in 27 games.

Aren't you playing against mainly part time sides?  Let's come back to this in a years time and see how McPake has done in a full time league without the biggest budget where here he can sign ex Scotland and Liverpool midfielders.

7 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

He does that wee flappy arm thing in literally every interview. The last interview he did after the game at TFS was fine. I haven't watched this one, but im quite certain that it will be fine too. Its certainly a weird reaction we always seem to get to these interviews. 

Yep, cause criticising opponents for coming up with tactics to stop you playing how you want to, then going on about winning on corners is totally normal/rational. You really can’t see why we took the piss out of him for that? Even McPake joined in taking the piss out of that interview last night. McGlynn was a bitter little guy in that interview.

Last night, at least he accepted we deserved to win. You also have to remember McGlynn was Raith manager for a long time and was involved in a lot of derbies - including the 2011 title decider at East End. There’s a lot of history with him and Dunfermline rivalry.

By the way, can I just point out, that despite Falkirk fans making out that they’re fantastic etc. they’ve scored 1 goal from a grand total of 4 shots on target in 3 games against us. I would be surprised if any other team has so few shots on target against us in 3 games. McGlynn was also the only manager in the championship that didn’t manage a win against us last season.

In comparison, we’ve scored 4 goals from 12 shots on target and had more shots on target in each individual game. So that should put an end to the simpleton Falkirk fans falling for McGlynn’s delusion about us not trying to win these games.

8 minutes ago, 101 said:

John Hughes wasted a talented ACM at RB he should never recover his career from this mess.

John Hughes is a slavering idiot, that should never have been appointed. Same wi Peter Grant. Absolute howling decision making from out board last year.

1 minute ago, CallumPar said:

Yep, cause criticising opponents for coming up with tactics to stop you playing how you want to, then going on about winning on corners is totally normal/rational. You really can’t see why we took the piss out of him for that? Even McPake joined in taking the piss out of that interview last night. McGlynn was a bitter little guy in that interview.

Last night, at least he accepted we deserved to win. You also have to remember McGlynn was Raith manager for a long time and was involved in a lot of derbies - including the 2011 title decider at East End. There’s a lot of history with him and Dunfermline rivalry.

By the way, can I just point out, that despite Falkirk fans making out that they’re fantastic etc. they’ve scored 1 goal from a grand total of 4 shots on target in 3 games against us. I would be surprised if any other team has so few shots on target against us in 3 games. McGlynn was also the only manager in the championship that didn’t manage a win against us last season.

In comparison, we’ve scored 4 goals from 12 shots on target and had more shots on target in each individual game. So that should put an end to the simpleton Falkirk fans falling for McGlynn’s delusion about us not trying to win these games.

If you interpret it as criticism, sure 🤷‍♂️

43 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

he has the budget advantage over the majority of teams

He also had to pick up the pieces of the absolute shiteshow that Peter Grant & "Yogi" left him. He's moulded a squad with relatively little additions, certainly not the turnover that McGlynn has been allowed.

Why can't you c***s just accept he's doing a good job for us? Did he shag your sister or something?

7 minutes ago, da_no_1 said:

He also had to pick up the pieces of the absolute shiteshow that Peter Grant & "Yogi" left him. He's moulded a squad with relatively little additions, certainly not the turnover that McGlynn has been allowed.

Why can't you c***s just accept he's doing a good job for us? Did he shag your sister or something?

All we're doing is bringing context to the McPake argument, brother.  He is managing full time players playing against part time teams with a far smaller budget (I'd imagine).  Of course he's going to do well. 

8 minutes ago, da_no_1 said:

He's moulded a squad with relatively little additions

Just the 9 new additions, plus Macdonald back from his loan, although 6 of those 9 are/were loans.

However he has done very well with the pish left by the previous two, using many of the guys who were honking last season.

Edited by DA Baracus

Well done to Dunfermline on the win and what now looks like the league title.

The difference between the two sides this season has simply been the head to heads between us. If we'd won the two Dunfermline won against us we'd be top, the difference is that McPake has managed these 3 head to heads tactically far far better than we have. The fact that our statistics against Dunfermline are terrible (goals, shots and shots on target) shows we haven't managed these games well at all and Dunfermline have.

This can still be a fantastic season for us if we go up via the play offs and somehow progress in the cup on Monday. Hopefully the Kincardine Bridge derby will be played next season in the league again.

1 minute ago, DA Baracus said:

Just the 9 new additions, plus Macdonald back from his loan.

However he has done very well with the pish left by the previous two, using many of the guys who were honking last season.

Which I pointed out but you chose not to quote. Thanking you.