JustOneCornetto Posted January 24 Share Posted January 24 14 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said: Just a stab in the dark here but would I be right in assuming that Chris Dreja has been diagnosed with something terminal if he's in your team ? He left the band in 2013 after a series of strokes, not terminal but not in the best of health 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marlo Stanfield Posted January 25 Share Posted January 25 Rumours that Internet troll and right wing roaster Old Holborn has died. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The DA Posted January 26 Share Posted January 26 10 hours ago, Bodie said: Rumours that Internet troll and right wing roaster Old Holborn has died. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustOneCornetto Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Sylvia Syms dead at 89 Had her on my long list but didn't make the cut, drat and condolences etc. I believe she's a Solo Shot for @The DA 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Archer (Raconteur) Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 5 minutes ago, JustOneCornetto said: Sylvia Syms dead at 89 Had her on my long list but didn't make the cut, drat and condolences etc. I believe she's a Solo Shot for @The DA A beauty in her day. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The DA Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Hooray hoo... Condolences. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chomp my root Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 7 minutes ago, Zen Archer (Raconteur) said: A beauty in her day. I see your Sylvia Syms and raise you Virginia McKenna Still alive too. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raidernation Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 25 minutes ago, Zen Archer (Raconteur) said: A beauty in her day. Fantastic fil. I believe they ended up pissed filming that scene. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ICTJohnboy Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 44 minutes ago, Zen Archer (Raconteur) said: A beauty in her day. Yes she was. Shame she let that truck roll all the way down to the bottom of the hill. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
get_the_subbies_on Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Watched Ice Cold again just after New Year. Beautiful actress who just missed out on my Hollywood Hotties list. 1 hour ago, ICTJohnboy said: Yes she was. Shame she let that truck roll all the way down to the bottom of the hill. Useless bint. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
supermik Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Love the old Carlsberg glasses they are drinking from. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BillyAnchor Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Shame, she was a good woman. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hk blues Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 (edited) 10 hours ago, supermik said: Love the old Carlsberg glasses they are drinking from. She's certainly got a great grip on her... Sorry, had a great grip on her. Edited January 28 by hk blues 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chomp my root Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 13 hours ago, supermik said: Love the old Carlsberg glasses they are drinking from. Carlsberg turned that into an ad although if its glasses you're into Holstein Pils were the ones. They did some great ads. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GordonD Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 1 hour ago, chomp my root said: They did some great ads. In the one with John Wayne they were about to start filming when somebody pointed out that Griff had his wig on back to front. The makeup person protested that she'd done it exactly as it appeared in the film and when they checked they discovered that JW's wig was actually back to front in the scene they were copying! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustOneCornetto Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 Tom Verlaine the frontman of American rock band Television has died aged 73 https://louderthanwar.com/tom-verlaine-dies-at-73/ 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paranoid android Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 Hearing that Tom Verlaine has passed away. f**k. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Florentine_Pogen Posted January 28 Share Posted January 28 (edited) Genuinely saddened to hear about Tom Verlaine. Marquee Moon was one of the seminal albums of my youth. https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/jan/28/tom-verlaine-frontman-and-guitarist-of-us-band-television-dies-at-73 https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/jan/29/tom-verlaine-television-perfectionist-guitar-genius-always-kept-punk-guessing https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/jan/30/tom-verlaine-a-guitar-antihero-whose-sensibility-was-more-classical-than-clapton As an aside, I know the square root of feck all about playing the drums but Billy Ficca's chops on the title track above are amazing (imho). Edited January 30 by Florentine_Pogen 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miguel Sanchez Posted January 29 Author Share Posted January 29 Week 4 update One death this week, actor Sylvia Syms: Sylvia Syms, prolific British actor, dies aged 89 | Film | The Guardian Quote According to a statement given to PA by her family, Syms “died peacefully” on Friday at Denville Hall, a care home in London for those in the entertainment industry. Her children, Beatie and Ben Edney, said: “Our mother, Sylvia, died peacefully this morning. She has lived an amazing life and gave us joy and laughter right up to the end. Just yesterday we were reminiscing together about all our adventures. She will be so very missed.” Syms died at 89 so she's worth 36 Base Points for @The DA, with a Solo Shot taking that to 86. As a result, the standings look like this: 1. buddiepaul 194 2. psv_killie 185 3. JustOneCornetto 181 4. The DA 153 5. Desp, Ned Nederlander 151 7. Arabdownunder, Bully Wee Villa, cdhafc1874, D.V.T., Frosty, HK Hibee, Mark Connolly, microdave, qos_75, throbber, weirdcal 134 18. Arbroathlegend36-0 110 19. Arch Stanton, LoonsYouthTeam, Ludo*1, mozam76 101 23. alta-pete, Billy Jean King, Indale Winton, sparky88, Sweaty Morph 84 28. get_the_subbies_on 70 29. ICTJohnboy, peasy 23 69 31. atfccfc, chomp my root, DG.Roma, Donathan, Fuctifano, gkneil, HI HAT, Karpaty Lviv, lichtgilphead, Lofarl, lolls, Michael W, pub car king, The_Craig, The Naitch, thistledo 67 47. sleazy 55 48. Aim Here 43 49. Everyone else 0 The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RxCIfczRUmrRrW79tUQ0vJ5KaHZpYENsTKmDqW4X3W4/edit?usp=sharing 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The DA Posted January 29 Share Posted January 29 I 7 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said: Week 4 update One death this week, actor Sylvia Syms: Sylvia Syms, prolific British actor, dies aged 89 | Film | The Guardian Syms died at 89 so she's worth 36 Base Points for @The DA, with a Solo Shot taking that to 86. As a result, the standings look like this: 1. buddiepaul 194 2. psv_killie 185 3. JustOneCornetto 181 4. The DA 153 5. Desp, Ned Nederlander 151 7. Arabdownunder, Bully Wee Villa, cdhafc1874, D.V.T., Frosty, HK Hibee, Mark Connolly, microdave, qos_75, throbber, weirdcal 134 18. Arbroathlegend36-0 110 19. Arch Stanton, LoonsYouthTeam, Ludo*1, mozam76 101 23. alta-pete, Billy Jean King, Indale Winton, sparky88, Sweaty Morph 84 28. get_the_subbies_on 70 29. ICTJohnboy, peasy 23 69 31. atfccfc, chomp my root, DG.Roma, Donathan, Fuctifano, gkneil, HI HAT, Karpaty Lviv, lichtgilphead, Lofarl, lolls, Michael W, pub car king, The_Craig, The Naitch, thistledo 67 47. sleazy 55 48. Aim Here 43 49. Everyone else 0 The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RxCIfczRUmrRrW79tUQ0vJ5KaHZpYENsTKmDqW4X3W4/edit?usp=sharing Fourth. I'm getting that framed. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...