Alloa v Falkirk

£40 pissed away for me on bus trip but at least the early decision came before I actually got onto the bus. Croatia v Morocco and Strictly Come Dancing it is 😬💃

Will be a costly one for the club too I'm sure but always a risk after days of freezing temperatures. 

18 minutes ago, Gaz said:

I don't think there's a conspiracy, just folk wondering why the game is off when the majority of the snow / ice has gone and the temperatures have been milder.

Well I know you're not in Alloa because that's completely untrue. The ice is still on every untreated road surface and it's dangerous. I'm away to get my breakfast so I'll take a look when I'm going past.

1 minute ago, LeodhasXD said:

Well I know you're not in Alloa because that's completely untrue. The ice is still on every untreated road surface and it's dangerous. I'm away to get my breakfast so I'll take a look when I'm going past.

You chairman not get favours from the council ? 

5 minutes ago, LeodhasXD said:

Went on the pitch and it's like a block of ice which was what I  predicted earlier in the thread when the rain was forecast. The ground temps won't rise enough to melt it.

Stadium damage is to the away toilets. Frozen pipes.

Tbf, I can’t get out of my driveway. Completely frozen and treacherous underfoot conditions.

20 minutes ago, LeodhasXD said:

Went on the pitch and it's like a block of ice which was what I  predicted earlier in the thread when the rain was forecast. The ground temps won't rise enough to melt it.

Stadium damage is to the away toilets. Frozen pipes.

Weird. I know Ochilview was played on on Thursday when temperatures were lower than over yesterday and today, with no issues. I see that the hill behind the goal hasn't been cleared in that photo so maybe it's something to do with health and safety for fans?  

Edit to say that the BBC has it off as 'weather' as opposed to a frozen pitch so it's got to be the burst pipes in the bog or the uncleared terracing 

Edited by ShaggerG

32 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Weird. I know Ochilview was played on on Thursday when temperatures were lower than over yesterday and today, with no issues. I see that the hill behind the goal hasn't been cleared in that photo so maybe it's something to do with health and safety for fans?  

Edit to say that the BBC has it off as 'weather' as opposed to a frozen pitch so it's got to be the burst pipes in the bog or the uncleared terracing 

That's an old picture. 

1 hour ago, LeodhasXD said:

My daughter attends an autism specialist school in Alloa, I was there yesterday afternoon collecting her. I didn't say I was there today, just merely surprised as yesterday afternoon most of the snow / ice had gone, there's been no snowfall since and the temperatures have been milder.

If it's damage to the stadium as has been intimated that's fair enough but my original comment was posted before that came out.

Edited by Gaz

19 minutes ago, Gaz said:

My daughter attends an autism specialist school in Alloa, I was there yesterday afternoon collecting her. I didn't say I was there today, just merely surprised as yesterday afternoon most of the snow / ice had gone, there's been no snowfall since and the temperatures have been milder.

If it's damage to the stadium as has been intimated that's fair enough but my original comment was posted before that came out.

Again saying most of the snow has gone was the bit I take issue with.

Picture of the remaining snow last night. We're agreed that there was no new snowfall since.

TBH I'm glad its off. Was an odds-on Alloa win for me. Our usual selection of lily-livered midfield bottlers go into hiding whenever the going gets tough anyway; pretty sure McGuffie, Nesbit, Oliver, Hetherington, even fidget Morrison, would all find it too cold for their delicate wee selves, and they'd be even less effective today (if that's possible).   

45 minutes ago, Gaz said:

To be fair Alloa tweeted about stadium damage being part of the reason at 8am this morning. 

27 minutes ago, Bluegrass Bairn said:

TBH I'm glad its off. Was an odds-on Alloa win for me. Our usual selection of lily-livered midfield bottlers go into hiding whenever the going gets tough anyway; pretty sure McGuffie, Nesbit, Oliver, Hetherington, even fidget Morrison, would all find it too cold for their delicate wee selves, and they'd be even less effective today (if that's possible).   

I was more worried about McKay at CH TBH. The positive is that Donaldson will now serve his suspension at home v Queens and I'd rather that than away against Alloa.

I don't think Hetherington would bottle it either. I mean, he's pish, but he can battle a bit and I think that Nesbitt would have ran around enough to keep warm.