Alloa v Queens

All I can say is that we are easy to play against. Our defence is to soft. If anyone attaches the ball they will always beat our defenders to it. No heart to try and bully forwards and Rice used all his experience to prove this. We have absolutely no leaders on the park our captain is a nice guy but don't imagine he would tell someone to get their arse into gear. It says a lot when our best defender is a converted forward in East. I don't think the BOD will do anything as who do you really get to replace WG. 

Second half was more like it. Tempo, pressing, desire. Things that were missing for most of the first half. I’m not wanting to seem negative but wtf was Church doing at the first goal, just defend son, don’t let the cross in so easy. It was criminal, lucky not to lose a second soon after in an almost identical position. He did make amends with his second goal of the season. He is making improvements game on game and credit to him for that but get fucking stuck in. However, you can take nothing except positives from the second half, beautiful football at times and some clinical finishing. I’d be worried as a QOS fan at the capitulation, where’s the leadership and backbone? Last game your bossed us for 80’odd mins, no sign of that today. Great result for Alloa and coming from behind , scoring five goals, spread across the team will do wonders for our confidence. C’mon ye Wasps!!! caveat for any pish spouted , just back from beer festival [emoji23]

9 hours ago, TERREGLES1919 said:

.....and only 708 witnessed Alloa vs. Queens today....

I'm not sure the relevance of your post comparing what may be a poor home crowd next home game against an Alloa home crowd V Queens. Do Alloa get significantly bigger attendances at home against teams low down in the division? I don't know the numbers but I thought there was a reasonable amount of away fans yesterday. 

1 hour ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I'm not sure the relevance of your post comparing what may be a poor home crowd next home game against an Alloa home crowd V Queens. Do Alloa get significantly bigger attendances at home against teams low down in the division? I don't know the numbers but I thought there was a reasonable amount of away fans yesterday. 

I don't reckon Alloa home attendances are significant against any other League One club. Just comparing 708 could well be Queens next home attendance figure.

Falkirk and Dunfermline bring big supports to Alloa, but the rest are much of a muchness- exception is Edinburgh but that's due to in- fighting at the club. And Peterhead probably but there's geographical justification there.

Queens used to bring a bit more when we were both in the Championship and 12/13 when they ran away with the league, but that's understandable.

Great day yesterday- looked bleak in the first 20 but equaliser changed the outlook of the 2nd half. Queens fell apart after Alloa took the lead. Goals from all over the team- strikers, defenders, subs which was great to see.

Not often you see a straight red for dissent- wonder what was said there. The goal in question wasn't controversial so not sure what the complaint was.

Second half was as enjoyable a watch as we've seen in quite some time at The Recs.

25 minutes ago, Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) said:

Falkirk and Dunfermline bring big supports to Alloa, but the rest are much of a muchness- exception is Edinburgh but that's due to in- fighting at the club. And Peterhead probably but there's geographical justification there.

Queens used to bring a bit more when we were both in the Championship and 12/13 when they ran away with the league, but that's understandable.

Great day yesterday- looked bleak in the first 20 but equaliser changed the outlook of the 2nd half. Queens fell apart after Alloa took the lead. Goals from all over the team- strikers, defenders, subs which was great to see.

Not often you see a straight red for dissent- wonder what was said there. The goal in question wasn't controversial so not sure what the complaint was.

Second half was as enjoyable a watch as we've seen in quite some time at The Recs.

Aye, tbf Queens fans, maybe a bit to be expected, aren't giving Alloa the credit they deserve for the comeback and dominance they showed in the second half. It's patently obvious from our results that we look good against teams standing off us and allowing us to play but don't have the ability or heart to get the better of teams pushing up and overrunning us. 

1 hour ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Aye, tbf Queens fans, maybe a bit to be expected, aren't giving Alloa the credit they deserve for the comeback and dominance they showed in the second half. It's patently obvious from our results that we look good against teams standing off us and allowing us to play but don't have the ability or heart to get the better of teams pushing up and overrunning us. 

Perfectly understandable mate, I'm sure we would be same if the result was reversed.

18 hours ago, Homer Thompson said:

Embarrassing is the only word to describe that second half performance. I get the Alloa fans are happy with the result but I wouldnt get too carried away, you will not come up against a worst defensive performance than that again this season - well maybe three more times :( 

I dont think I've ever seen such a turn around in performance levels between one half and the other, nor such a spectacular collapse in any game I've watched.

First half we were reasonably comfortable and, after scoring early, had several good chances on the break to extend the lead. Second half, we were never, ever in the game, offered nothing up front and no control in midfield. Obviously, we were also awful defensively. The back three couldnt deal with crosses or any high ball forward and Currie did his usual line inspector impression, watching as Alloa played the ball past him. The whole defence were at fault, but surely now Currie is finished with us? Fox has to start next week and lets hope we bring Cowie back as soon as possible as back up.

I wouldn't even say "second half performance' per se, more a period of about 5 minutes during which time we chucked the entire game in the bin.

We started like a train. Paton should have scored even before Reilly did. For me Lewis Gibson is fouled in the box similarly to last week just after the goal too. We could have been 3 up inside the first 10 minutes. I've no idea how Paton and Reilly between them didn't even get a shot in from their 2 v 1 situation running clear into the Alloa half either! Cochrane was running things in midfield and Wilson mopping up anything we lost. For 40 minutes Alloa barely got a kick in our half. Then we lose a cheap goal at a corner again when Hendrie completely loses McIver and go in 1-1.

I thought we started the 2nd half the better side again too without much threatening, though Dave McKay should have done better from about penalty spot when the ball fell to him at a corner. Then on the hour we lose another at a corner we had about 3 chances to clear and didn't. Not clear if Church's strike took a deflection or just went through a lot of bodies from my angle? Then the heads went like my 12 year old's youth team when they lose a goal. The 3rd and 4th goals are horrible. Straightforward lumps into the box we just didn't deal with. Stanger gets away from Hendrie again to nod his in, then Hendrie heads a big lump forward from the keeper direct to Offord who runs off Wilson far too easily. All within about 3 minutes of actual play!

Game's then over obviously. The 5th's goal's a good goal. Decent cross, Hendrie misses a diving header but he's probably only heading it into his own net if he makes contact and King's back post run gets him a goal. Nothing remotely controversial in it and I've no idea what Hendrie then felt the need to say out of turn to Greg Aitken to get red carded.

Alloa thoroughly deserved their win obviously. Rice has them well drilled and organised and they keep themselves in games until they get a chance of their own. Defensively they are everything we're not. We play a lot of nice football but we're not clinical enough when we are on top and, as others have said, when a team comes at us physically we just don't cope. We were missing McKenna and East yesterday, two of the regular back line, but it's happened when they've played too.

20 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

I wouldn't even say "second half performance' per se, more a period of about 5 minutes during which time we chucked the entire game in the bin.

We started like a train. Paton should have scored even before Reilly did. For me Lewis Gibson is fouled in the box similarly to last week just after the goal too. We could have been 3 up inside the first 10 minutes. I've no idea how Paton and Reilly between them didn't even get a shot in from their 2 v 1 situation running clear into the Alloa half either! Cochrane was running things in midfield and Wilson mopping up anything we lost. For 40 minutes Alloa barely got a kick in our half. Then we lose a cheap goal at a corner again when Hendrie completely loses McIver and go in 1-1.

I thought we started the 2nd half the better side again too without much threatening, though Dave McKay should have done better from about penalty spot when the ball fell to him at a corner. Then on the hour we lose another at a corner we had about 3 chances to clear and didn't. Not clear if Church's strike took a deflection or just went through a lot of bodies from my angle? Then the heads went like my 12 year old's youth team when they lose a goal. The 3rd and 4th goals are horrible. Straightforward lumps into the box we just didn't deal with. Stanger gets away from Hendrie again to nod his in, then Hendrie heads a big lump forward from the keeper direct to Offord who runs off Wilson far too easily. All within about 3 minutes of actual play!

Game's then over obviously. The 5th's goal's a good goal. Decent cross, Hendrie misses a diving header but he's probably only heading it into his own net if he makes contact and King's back post run gets him a goal. Nothing remotely controversial in it and I've no idea what Hendrie then felt the need to say out of turn to Greg Aitken to get red carded.

Alloa thoroughly deserved their win obviously. Rice has them well drilled and organised and they keep themselves in games until they get a chance of their own. Defensively they are everything we're not. We play a lot of nice football but we're not clinical enough when we are on top and, as others have said, when a team comes at us physically we just don't cope. We were missing McKenna and East yesterday, two of the regular back line, but it's happened when they've played too.

Everything in this post is 100 % correct only massive problem is how do we sort it when teams come at us physically we just don't have the type of player who loves a challenge to win the ball .