Ukraine v Scotland (27/9/22)

accies1874

That was an absolute Steve Clarke shitfesting for a 0-0 masterclass. Absolutely tremendous stuff.

Top drawer performances across the back 4 plus keeper tonight. Stood up to Ukraine and yes we rode our luck but we deserve a break or three after 23 years of shite.

God bless the Nations League.

If every team in the League A that finish ahead of us qualify for the World Cup automatically which is a possibility we get the playoff place if we don’t qualify automatically or finish second. 

It's specifically for group winners in the World Cup, or at least it was last time.

3 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

If every team in the League A that finish ahead of us qualify for the World Cup automatically which is a possibility we get the playoff place if we don’t qualify automatically or finish second. 

Not if they have a similar format to last World Cup when only group winners could qualify for the playoffs via the Nations League. Remains to be seen how they will adjust it bearing in mind that Europe will go up to sixteen teams. 

12 minutes ago, Father Ted said:

That game saving tackle that Porteous made in the second half was exceptional art.

It should be replayed on a loop by the Ukraine manager, post match to learn his hammer throwers how to tackle

The trio of tackles/blocks by Hendry, Porteous and Christie near the end summed up that defensive effort. Great stuff. 

Clarke seems to be a master at bringing in boys out of the blue who can step up on the big occasion when our backs are against the wall. 

4 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Pretty strong possibility given that our natural trajectory suggests we're going to win the whole thing. 

Aye this is my take too. I love Patterson, but it's Hickey's jersey to lose. 

Hickey has blazed to the front imo. Superb to have 2 20/21 year old first pick EPL right backs battling for the jersey.
Longer term I can see Hickey playing central midfield. He's so assured on either foot.

1 minute ago, Bully Wee Villa said:

Not if they have a similar format to last World Cup when only group winners could qualify for the playoffs via the Nations League. Remains to be seen how they will adjust it bearing in mind that Europe will go up to sixteen teams. 

Disgraceful decision that benefits diddies like England, Wales and Ireland over the big teams tbh. 

We completely changed formation and tactics. We played far more positively.
Its as much to do with us improving as them getting worse.
Aye. They analysed and out-thought us in June, we did the same to them last week.
Tonight was less about finesse and more about grit (and multiple sets of shat pants)