August 8th 1980.

9 hours ago, Jinky67 said:

Attendances went up dramatically after Fergus redeveloped in the 90’s ironically in a time when we were absolute dugshite so kinda goes against the glory hunting logic.

No. They went up from 95-96, which is after Fergus had come in and Celtic had started spending good money on the stadium and squad. A couple of million on Thom, more dosh on Van Hoooijjidonk, Scottish Cup won the previous summer, big new stand etc. It was the first season since 1988's double where Celtic had an actual title-challenge.

Classic glory-hunting.

1 hour ago, VincentGuerin said:

No. They went up from 95-96, which is after Fergus had come in and Celtic had started spending good money on the stadium and squad. A couple of million on Thom, more dosh on Van Hoooijjidonk, Scottish Cup won the previous summer, big new stand etc. It was the first season since 1988's double where Celtic had an actual title-challenge.

Classic glory-hunting.

95/96 was the season we came back to Celtic Park after a season at Hampden so attendances were always going to go up as fans were naturally curious as to how the stadium looked and if Fergus would keep his promise to invest in players once the stadium was back open and yes we won the Scottish Cup but we were rank fucking rotten in the league.

But imagine fans coming to a game with the excitement that they may win something? 

6 minutes ago, kennie makevin said:

As it's a given that Celtic/Rangers fans are the top two when it comes to glory hunters who might the least glory hunting fanbase be ? 

In the top four divisions? Maybe Albion Rovers? The answer definitely would've been East Stirlingshire a decade ago.

Everyone else, you can think of some tiny shard of success that might have encouraged some local roasters to bathe in the glory. There's bound to be some auld yins who only went along to Borough Briggs because Elgin were Billy Big-Baws in the Highland League, for example, although they'll have long stopped going!

My uncle was at Parkhead that day, down at the front of the stand, not realising he was amongst home fans.

The teams came out and he stood up and shouted "Come on Morton, let's get right into these b'st'rds!".

Missiles came his way and he was escorted into the away end.

37 minutes ago, AyrshireTon said:

My uncle was at Parkhead that day, down at the front of the stand, not realising he was amongst home fans.

The teams came out and he stood up and shouted "Come on Morton, let's get right into these b'st'rds!".

Was he blind and deaf?

My local plumber was at Parkhead that day too. One of the Morton fans was signing the sash and giving it the biggun all game to the Celts fans. He went so crazy he threw his moblie phone into the Celtic end. My plumber caught it mid air, cat like, Bonner like. When he picked himself up to rapturous applause the phone started I ring. He answered, it was Henrik Larsson who whispered the words 'something inside so strong' and hung up. 

To cut a long story short this cured his depression, Celtic went on to become a behemoth in world football.

On 07/08/2022 at 11:06, Tynie Pecksniff said:

Found this image elsewhere and was somewhat surprised at the lack of crowds.   

Only 20000 of the world's most loyal greatest supporters in attendance at Celtic Park.  Surely they're not a bunch of massive glory hunters.

On another note look at the Aberdeen and Dundee Utd line ups. Some magnificent players.

Screenshot_20220807-105451_Gallery.thumb.jpg.6a194fcdd711ec4a908af95c4c81c979.jpg

That's a great find but I'm not surprised by the crowds. That would be the first season after the booze ban as well.

You would get big crowds when the old firm came visiting but it was very modest the rest of the time. Back then football had a really bad problem with hooliganism so lots of young supporters would not be allowed by their parents to be anywhere near a football ground. Also both Edinburgh clubs were absolute garbage. The Turnbull era at ER was fading into oblivion after relegation and Hearts hadn't won a thing for nearly 20 years and had been relegated twice in 4 years.  The boys club team I played for back then used to get occasional free kids comp tickets for Hibs and Hearts so we would go to either ground. The games were always the equivalent of a Cat C game and the only thing worse than the football was the attendances which were always abysmal.

This also has the added effect of making me feel really really old.

Edited by AndyM

I briefly worked with Killie's first goalscorer and ex-Aberdeen man, Bobby Street who must've returned to the Granite City after his playing career ended.

It would be the final season for Drew Jarvie as a semi-regular first team Aberdeen player. He would only be involved in three games the following season after making 24 in 1980/82.

In fact, August and September 1980 would see him score the majority of his final 8 goals for Aberdeen.

Edited by Bogbrush1903

5 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Cool. Glad we've established that's what it was though. As you were.

At least they buy a season ticket. I’d be much more inclined to agree with you if that wasn’t the case and they just turned up for semis, cup finals and derbies. I would have been much more annoyed if my club say sold around 12500 season tickets every season yet can easily sell out half of Hampden.

Just now, Jinky67 said:

At least they buy a season ticket. I’d be much more inclined to agree with you if that wasn’t the case and they just turned up for semis, cup finals and derbies. I would have been much more annoyed if my club say sold around 12500 season tickets every season yet can easily sell out half of Hampden.

My clubs sold 15,700 STs, so I'm afraid I'm better than that.

Must be difficult buying a season ticket knowing that your time might only win the league as little as five times in a decade.

18 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

My clubs sold 15,700 STs, so I'm afraid I'm better than that.

Must be difficult buying a season ticket knowing that your time might only win the league as little as five times in a decade.

Got my first season ticket in 93/94 ironically the season we almost went under and it cost £80.

I’ve had one every season since and it’s never been a difficult decision, the only difficulty these days is getting my hands on more 

What a load of pish ..missiles on a Mortin fan at Parkhead[emoji28]..

On 07/08/2022 at 11:06, Tynie Pecksniff said:

Found this image elsewhere and was somewhat surprised at the lack of crowds.   

Only 20000 of the world's most loyal greatest supporters in attendance at Celtic Park.  Surely they're not a bunch of massive glory hunters.

On another note look at the Aberdeen and Dundee Utd line ups. Some magnificent players.

Screenshot_20220807-105451_Gallery.thumb.jpg.6a194fcdd711ec4a908af95c4c81c979.jpg

Counted 9 ex or future Celtic players in the other premier league teams.