What businesses will die?

46 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Betting machines in pubs sounds like an absolutely dreadful idea.

There are 'herna' bars in places like Prague/Bratislava that seem to offer this gambling and drinking combination (and probably drugs and stabbings too). All look extremely shady and depressing places from the outside. 

I was in a arcade game bar in Prague a few years ago and it was fucking weird.  Down a dingy alleyway then down a set of stairs, into this place with fucking pac man and streetfighter-esq machines as far as the eye could see and a bar in the middle.  Boys getting pished trying to complete Tekken 2 was a sight.

10 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

I was in a arcade game bar in Prague a few years ago and it was fucking weird.  Down a dingy alleyway then down a set of stairs, into this place with fucking pac man and streetfighter-esq machines as far as the eye could see and a bar in the middle.  Boys getting pished trying to complete Tekken 2 was a sight.

Lothian Road in Edinburgh has a trendier version of that: https://nq64.co.uk/

40 minutes ago, virginton said:

There are 'herna' bars in places like Prague/Bratislava that seem to offer this gambling and drinking combination (and probably drugs and stabbings too). All look extremely shady and depressing places from the outside. 

Wonder what attracted you to them? Oh aye that’s right you’re from Greenock. 

You probably felt right at home.

In Spain they've started integrating them into cafes/bars.

That's how it always was in Albania (which has the highest amount of bars per capita in Europe). Go there in the morning, get your coffee, look through the newspapers for the odds and put your line on. Go back in the evening for a few beers to watch the match and see the results come in. Anyone who won generally bought a round for the bar. Some of my happiest memories, they'd even put the Thistle game on TV on the rare occasions it was televised.

Unfortunately, the new government has made in person being illegal which is an absolutely nonsense move.

I'd guess the future business model will be similar to an arcade, with a room filled with betting terminals, one or tv screens showing sport and someone in a wee box who doesn't actually take any bets, but hands out change and winnings and empties the machines.

That's how they work in Italy. Horrible little places. Went once then never again.

5 hours ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

Yes

Yes, considerably

Aye they love giving newbies the full tour, surprising how quickly it all becomes unaffecting isn't it. And aye I didn't really know anything about it before starting the work so seeing what's left going into essentially a tumble dryer full of steel balls was weird. Can't remember surnames but is it still Dave and John running the service there? 

I didn’t meet the guys running it as I was a subbie on site, so had to get signed onto site by the main contractor. At first It was quite disconcerting but, as you say, you soon settle into it. I was told they had a similar scheme in England that was used to heat a local swimming pool from the recovered heat. 

2 hours ago, TheScarf said:

I was in one in the merchant city (glesga) a month ago. I hated it as I've never been a gamer and I wanted to blether, but it was a strange ane. The lighting and low ceiling gave it a dystopian sci-fi feel. 

Folk there loved it though. They know their customer base.

4 minutes ago, velo army said:

I was in one in the merchant city (glesga) a month ago. I hated it as I've never been a gamer and I wanted to blether, but it was a strange ane. The lighting and low ceiling gave it a dystopian sci-fi feel. 

Aye sounds like the one in Prague,  low ceiling and dark, the only light seemed to be above the bar so the staff could see what they were pouring, and the lights from the machines themselves.

4 hours ago, welshbairn said:

I could see sports bars with multiple cubicles with choose your own sport tv's and betting terminals, and drinks brought to your table, along with big screens showing the major events. Maybe only for city centres though, as you say. I don't really see the point of the arcade thing when you can just as easily bet on your phone, but I've never seen the attraction of fruit machines anyway.

Like our unique kamikaze approach to drink and drugs, there's too much scope for absolute mayhem in Scottish bookies if they had alcohol.

I've seen blood spilt over penny a hand dominoes.

38 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Like our unique kamikaze approach to drink and drugs, there's too much scope for absolute mayhem in Scottish bookies if they had alcohol.

I've seen blood spilt over penny a hand dominoes.

Casinos seem to manage, never been to one admittedly. Might have to be a members only thing so they can easily ban arseholes.

Edited by welshbairn

Alcohol & gambling are a terrible combination, any casino I’ve been to in the US, provide free drinks as long as you are active at a table whether that be craps, roulette poker etc. The casinos aren’t doing this out of the goodness of their hearts, drunk people lose more money, simply that. 
Bookies & pubs should be kept separate to protect people from themselves. 

3 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Sounds class.

Used to love going into the Union in Dundee and getting MWI off about £14 and pumping everybody at PES (yes, that long ago)

Got banned for being a dick and just constantly slagging these boys that brought their own pads to play Tekken etc.

Yeah I was expecting it to be filled with poindexters but it was mobbed with all sorts of folk when I went. Didn't really seem like the most sociable of places as most folk looked like the games were the only reason they were there, so defos does seem like they've got it nailed down.

Alcohol & gambling are a terrible combination, any casino I’ve been to in the US, provide free drinks as long as you are active at a table whether that be craps, roulette poker etc. The casinos aren’t doing this out of the goodness of their hearts, drunk people lose more money, simply that. 
The very reason bookies will try and locate themselves next to a pub.

2 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:
4 hours ago, Brother Blades said:

The very reason bookies will try and locate themselves next to a pub.

Im sure a bookie chain used to also prize a location next to an Iceland or Farmfoods... knowing they have more customers with less money, who are more likely to nip in for a bet.