Airdrieonians vs Falkirk - 06/08/22

23 minutes ago, Mr November said:

Coll Donaldson falling over at the first goal :lol:

Paddy Martin after the fourth goal :lol: 

"McGlynn has fairly tightened the Falkirk defence". Also "Watch the Falkirk defence literally fall about the place on every one of the four goals they conceded yesterday". Their 46300001 fans at the game must have been raging at these highlights ...

All jokes aside, will the Airdrie support get back to higher levels with a sustained title push?
Seem to have been good for a while so it's a shame the locals haven't responded.

As seen by the games against cove at the end of the season, there is always potential for one off games where we can attract a very decent support. However, can’t see it being that high every week, even with a successful team. I reckon the max is about 1k. Hard with the old firm on the doorstep

Agree: the main stand was absolutely bursting for the play off game but once again we fell short. Every time the fans really come out for airdrie, we blow it.

Also easy to forget that we’ve been in this league for ten years. More than enough time for anyone’s support to dwindle away as people get absolutely scunnered with it.

21 minutes ago, Rhys McCabe Hype Train said:

Absolutely buzzing for Salim getting his goal. Had a hellish time since he joined, but received a great ovation from the 12 of us that were in the main stand, and took his goal well too.

If I hadn't maxed out my greenies for today(which I didn't even know was a thing) this would absolutely have been getting one.

Edited by cb_diamond

One of my favourite things about the result yesterday is that it went from Falkirk fans going on here labelling Airdrie bottle jobs to arguing on their own thread amongst each other as to wether or not 4-0 is a doing when you ‘break it down’ [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

1 hour ago, cb_diamond said:

Not sure if anyone noticed but perma thread derailer @Senor Bairn hasn't made a peep since the full time whistle yesterday. Lovely stuff. Hiya pal, hope you had a terrible evening 😘

You been sitting refreshing the page all night again waiting for me to pop in? Your teams just won 4-0 and your thinking about me 😂

10 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

You been sitting refreshing the page all night again waiting for me to pop in? Your teams just won 4-0 and your thinking about me 😂

Afraid not honey. Considering you were rampaging all over three different threads pre game spouting your heavily recycled/ripped off patter I was just taken by your complete radio silence. I just assumed you were imitating your team and taking your shoeing lying down and with the minimal of effort. Xx

11 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

Afraid not honey. Considering you were rampaging all over three different threads pre game spouting your heavily recycled/ripped off patter I was just taken by your complete radio silence. I just assumed you were imitating your team and taking your shoeing lying down and with the minimal of effort. Xx

Instant reply 😂 

Aye pal I tend to do a bit of socialising on a Saturday night but I'll remember to pop by and give you some attention next weekend. Glad to see your not completely rattled 😂

Three threads? Don't remember that lol

Didn't know what to expect approaching yesterday's match but i thought falkirk couldn't get any worse, possibly a tight match and a score draw. After first 20 minutes i did think falkirk were keeping the ball well and passing and moving however seemed to run out of ideas. Going 1-0 up at the right time with CalGall in right place at right time. Second goal resulting in Gallagher striking the post but the correct cross in from mccabe to swing the ball away from goalkeeper 👏 . Something we didnt do in first half. And ultimately the same with the 4th goal from the free kick. Ball comes in falkirk panic and its a goal. 

Great result.  However more pleasing is seeing Salim get in amongst it was good too see the full squad group together after tue fourth goal. A mention for murray johnston very mature performance and a couple of outstanding saves. 👏 

42 minutes ago, Aufc said:

We came we saw we got pumped 4-0

Aye, but, it wasn't really 4-0 other than on the scoreboard, and the refs notebook and in terms of number of goals scored you see because the first one was a defensive blunder, so that doesn't count, because Falkirk had nearly 50% of the possession before that, so Airdrie can't get that goal. As for the second. Well the ref clearly cheated about that corner. So even though it was scored in a subsequent passage of play it doesn't count, because the ref is a secret Airdrie fan. The third and fourth, Falkirk only had ten men on the pitch, so they don't count. So although the actual score legally was 4-0 it wasn't really a beating, it was more like a 0-0 draw to Falkirk because they had more fans you see, so yeah they didn't actually lose as such, even though they lost. Simples

© The Falkirk thread

Edited by cb_diamond