1972 Cup Winners’ Cup embarrassment

We all know that Rangers (formed in 1873 - now in liquidation) won the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1972.

This was the year before they *actually* celebrated their *actual*  centenary in 1973

Their fans then rioted (as they did in 2008 when they next reached a European final) and they were presented with the cup in the dressing room.

If that’s not embarrassing enough, the fact is that Rangers weren’t actually “cup winners”. They lost to Celtic in the final the previous season. They only qualified for the competition as Celtic’s sloppy seconds.

I know that Rangers are now defunct but what do former fans of this club, that no longer exists, think of this embarrassment?

If I were a former fan of this deceased club I’d be mortified.

Trying a bit too hard there pal 

my advice for decent and effective sevcoing on the site is small subtle hints and sly snippets of “yer deed” innuendo 

you have just went Charging in here with yer baws oot and your trousers and y-fronts round your ankles and it’s just not a good look for yourself and painful with a hint of awkward for us readers 

keep trying though and better luck next time 

Edited by Forever_blueco

On 21/07/2022 at 20:31, Captain Saintsible said:

We all know that Rangers (formed in 1873 - now in liquidation) won the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1972.

This was the year before they *actually* celebrated their *actual*  centenary in 1973

Their fans then rioted (as they did in 2008 when they next reached a European final) and they were presented with the cup in the dressing room.

If that’s not embarrassing enough, the fact is that Rangers weren’t actually “cup winners”. They lost to Celtic in the final the previous season. They only qualified for the competition as Celtic’s sloppy seconds.

I know that Rangers are now defunct but what do former fans of this club, that no longer exists, think of this embarrassment?

If I were a former fan of this deceased club I’d be mortified.

...but apart from that.

It's almost 30 years since Simon Kuper's "Football Against the Enemy" was published.

It's numerous globetrotting narratives include Argentinian death squads in the lead-up to the 1978 World Cup, the East German Stasi spying on players, the Yugoslav civil war, corruption in Africa and the recently deceased USSR, undocumented migrants in the USA following Latin American teams and Gazza's antics in Rome.

Even in a book examining surreal situations, the 10 most jawdroppingly unbelievable quotes in the book all come from one chapter. "Celtic and Rangers... Or Rangers and Celtic."

I'd already left the UK by the time "Football Against the Enemy" was published. Many of the places spotlighted in the book have moved on in 30 years. I'm back here now.

Scotland in general hasn't. As for Glasgow...

Edited by Syme
Typo

On 23/07/2022 at 13:13, Syme said:

It's almost 30 years since Simon Kuper's "Football Against the Enemy" was published.

It's numerous globetrotting narratives include Argentinian death squads in the lead-up to the 1978 World Cup, the East German Stasi spying on players, the Yugoslav civil war, corruption in Africa and the recently deceased USSR, undocumented migrants in the USA following Latin American teams and Gazza's antics in Rome.

Even in a book examining surreal situations, the 10 most jawdroppingly unbelievable quotes in the book all come from one chapter. "Celtic and Rangers... Or Rangers and Celtic."

I'd already left the UK by the time "Football Against the Enemy" was published. Many of the places spotlighted in the book have moved on in 30 years. I'm back here now.

That book was a great read. I'll need to read it again.

On 23/07/2022 at 13:13, Syme said:

That Scotland, far less Glasgow, hasn't moved on in 50 years is a piece of nonsense.  You just have to look at this sub-forum for the evidence.

Rangers have been in 2 Euro cup-finals since that book was published.  We lost both. One by a large margin and one by a baw hair.  We accepted defeat, acknowledged being beaten by better teams and moved on.  Those finals also bookended a low point in our history when we came close to extinction.   But again, we took our punishment, rebuilt and are now at a point when we're competitive in all areas again.   A remarkable achievement.

One result of this past decade is that we now act as our own benchmark and this subforum is testament to this.  When it was created it was to corral Rangers and Celtic fans away from the rest and to protect everyone else from our tit-for-tat pish.  Scroll on a decade or more and what it's used for,  largely, is diddies and Celtic fans trying to have a pop at Rangers.  A simple look at the threads and who created them shows this clearly.  You see this phenomenon on many other threads, too.

So there has been a change in Scottish football, for sure.  Generally Rangers have grown up.  The other clubs?  Not so much, sadly.

On 25/07/2022 at 01:07, The_Kincardine said:

We accepted defeat, acknowledged being beaten by better teams and moved on.  Those finals also bookended a low point in our history when we came close to extinction.

Accepted defeat? I take it you were in an alcohol induced coma and never noticed the mass rioting in Manchester?

Also, how could Rangers come close to extinction if only a meaningless operating company dies following liquidation, according to the myth concocted in 2012? In your own time. Please allow me a short gap to go and stock up on popcorn.

Edited by Squonk

That Scotland, far less Glasgow, hasn't moved on in 50 years is a piece of nonsense.  You just have to look at this sub-forum for the evidence.

Rangers have been in 2 Euro cup-finals since that book was published.  We lost both. One by a large margin and one by a baw hair.  We accepted defeat, acknowledged being beaten by better teams and moved on.  Those finals also bookended a low point in our history when we came close to extinction.   But again, we took our punishment, rebuilt and are now at a point when we're competitive in all areas again.   A remarkable achievement.

One result of this past decade is that we now act as our own benchmark and this subforum is testament to this.  When it was created it was to corral Rangers and Celtic fans away from the rest and to protect everyone else from our tit-for-tat pish.  Scroll on a decade or more and what it's used for,  largely, is diddies and Celtic fans trying to have a pop at Rangers.  A simple look at the threads and who created them shows this clearly.  You see this phenomenon on many other threads, too.

So there has been a change in Scottish football, for sure.  Generally Rangers have grown up.  The other clubs?  Not so much, sadly.

Has a 1690 avatar and tries to claim he has grown up 🤣🤣🤣

Rangers have been in 2 Euro cup-finals since that book was published.  We lost both. One by a large margin and one by a baw hair.  We accepted defeat, acknowledged being beaten by better teams and moved on.  Those finals also bookended a low point in our history when we came close to extinction.   But again, we took our punishment, rebuilt and are now at a point when we're competitive in all areas again.   

Rangers reached one Euro final. Sevco reached the other. Different clubs.

Rangers *are* extinct.

13 hours ago, Captain Saintsible said:

Rangers reached one Euro final. Sevco reached the other. Different clubs.

Rangers *are* extinct.

If it makes you feel better, you can beleive that 😊

Edited by bilko89
Typo

3 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

1690 posts on the FollowFollow thread.  To which you've posted many words but contributed very little.

Also describes every post on every thread you have ever made.

Imagine making a 1690 avatar at your age or even celebrating 1690 pages knowing what it alludes to, mortifying tbh 🤣

25 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

Also describes every post on every thread you have ever made.

Imagine making a 1690 avatar at your age or even celebrating 1690 pages knowing what it alludes to, mortifying tbh 🤣

"I'm no the bad poster it's you"

What a silly bhoy.