Who will be the next permanent manager of the Conservatives?

Ludo*1

Who will be the next head of the Conservative Party?  

190 members have voted

16 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

I actually think that for once Labour will keep it relatively sane and anodyne. The reason for my belief is the fact that they've spent most of the past couple of years doing nothing whatsoever and taking a completely ambiguous line on most things. I think this is actually a concerted and deliberate plan to appear to be as nondescript as possible and stand by while the Tories dig themselves into a hole of their own making. 

Why I am still concerned it will fail though, is no matter how poorly the Tories are performing, and what state the UK is in as a result, the Tories still have the media on their side and will not hesitate to resort to lowest common denominator culture war pish. Given that they will not be able to make a cogent argument for Tory governance based on performance, I think they will fall back to a dead cat approach of battering home some sort of asinine attack on Labour. The obvious approach is 'we will protect women and girls, Starmer/Labour won't even define what a woman is'. This will just be repeated incessantly with the Tory-friendly press amplifying it. 

Labour will be undone by an entirely Tory-manufactured 'crisis' rather than an internal one.

Yes, totally this.

Jupe is right in saying they're going to appoint a maniac rather than a safe pair of hands.  However, I honestly don't think that's enough to guarantee electoral defeat for them.  I don't even think they need rely on Labour screwing up.   

As you suggest, manufactured nonsense might dictate an outcome.

IMeanwhile, in Wales.... 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-politics-62415842

"Rishi Sunak and Liz Truss have attacked Mark Drakeford and his Welsh Labour government at a Tory leadership hustings.

Frontrunner Ms Truss accused Mr Drakeford of being a "low energy version" of Jeremy Corbyn who was "ashamed of our history"

Interesting coverage of the latest swipe at Scotland too... see if you can spot the difference - 

From the BBC.... 

"Asked if she'd ignore Mark Drakeford like she said she would ignore Nicola Sturgeon, she said it was a "very different situation" where the resources of a government were being used to run an independence campaign."

And from the Herald... A quote attributed to Truss herself... 

" What's happening in Scotland is the entire resources of the Scottish Government are being used to run essentially an independence campaign, and I think that is grossly irresponsible."

"the entire resources of the Scottish Government" 🤣 sit doon. 

Folk will draw their own conclusions about why the BBC didn't use a quote which would have made the front-runner for Tory Prime Minister look ridiculous when talking about Scotland. 

It's like some real-life version of that AI Daily Mail headline writer bot thing that was around a few years ago.

Just chuck together a load of random gammon-baiting words, phrases, and soundbites, give them a shake, then whatever comes out is your next campaign message.

"Scotland's shame! As Sturgeon causes cancer with taxpayers money in SNP illegal immigrant crisis, free Diana souvenir pullout!"

5 hours ago, The Skelpit Lug said:

When she says "we must reject orthodoxy" I didn't think it would include grammar.

That's the Greek and Bulgarian votes gone then

Mind you she probably thinks orthodox means medical specialists in joints 

On 02/08/2022 at 09:27, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Scotch is exceptional. Especially single malts.

But Scottish Independence has nothing to do with Scottish Exceptionalism. It's because we're the same as everywhere else and, as such, deserve the right to self determination like everyone else. If anything the majority of Scottish nationalists want to rejoin the EU because we want to part of something bigger and have a more international outlook: just under our own terms.

It's the weird little British Nationalists who think they're exceptional. 

This is simply arrant nonsense.  1. Britain is a self-determined liberal democracy and  the idea of it being partitioned by a shower of Scotch exceptionalists is beyond contempt.  Scotland is, by no means, a political or social homogeneity and the idea it should self-determine in simply laughable.  2. Partitioning  Britain has heehaw to do with the EU.  When we just joined the EEC the Nats wanted  parition.   When we were at the heart of the EU the Nats wanted partition.  Now that we're (sadly) new leavers, guess what?  The Nats want partition.  The EU is just the bellyache of the moment for the perrenial grievance-mongers.

7 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

They haven't announced the venue, selling tickets for a fiver to members and free for the compliant media. Some folk saying it's in concert hall but may be moved to a quieter out the way venue (mcdiarmid park?)

Considering the average age of a Tory Party member they should hold it in a certain facility next to McDiarmid Park to save time

On 02/08/2022 at 19:57, williemillersmoustache said:

It's the absolutely fucking deafening silence from "the party of devolution" on the subject of whether the UK prime minister should just ignore the First Ministers of devolved nations. 

The half tory turncoat cardboard cut out c***s.

Tricky moment for Anas Sarwar. After defending Liz Truss's right to insult Nicola Sturgeon and the elected government of Scotland he'll probably have to find some outrage at what she said about Mark Drakeford. Without looking like an irrelevant, hypocritical jumped-up wee no-mark fud with a habit of opening his mouth without first seeking guidance from his brain. A challenge i fear that is way beyond his means.

4 hours ago, SuperSaints1877 said:

Duh…..woosh!

I think the whoooosh lies elsewhere.

The joke is that only the appearance of the page would give it away as as fake, because there is nothing out of the ordinary about the sentiment, for that paper.

8 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

This is simply arrant nonsense.  1. Britain is a self-determined liberal democracy and  the idea of it being partitioned by a shower of Scotch exceptionalists is beyond contempt.  Scotland is, by no means, a political or social homogeneity and the idea it should self-determine in simply laughable.  2. Partitioning  Britain has heehaw to do with the EU.  When we just joined the EEC the Nats wanted  parition.   When we were at the heart of the EU the Nats wanted partition.  Now that we're (sadly) new leavers, guess what?  The Nats want partition.  The EU is just the bellyache of the moment for the perrenial grievance-mongers.

Is this just all you do?

Make out that any urge towards separation is always, by definition, wrong?

Do you bring this outlook into play, everywhere in the world?  

17 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Is this just all you do?

Make out that any urge towards separation is always, by definition, wrong?

Do you bring this outlook into play, everywhere in the world?  

I have a theory that the strength of feeling on here towards rangers, unionism and the tories has meant he’s just given up any sense of good faith debate (maybe somewhat understandably?). In any case though, he comes across as a relative extremist and a bit of an idiot these days which wasn’t always the case. 

18 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

I think the whoooosh lies elsewhere.

The joke is that only the appearance of the page would give it away as as fake, because there is nothing out of the ordinary about the sentiment, for that paper.

Hmm no poppies, no union jacks and no story about Meghan Markle crushing the larynx of an innocent footman beneath the heel of her Jimmy Choos as she cackled about hating Britain and destroying the monarchy?

Fair comment imo. 

2 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

Hmm no poppies, no union jacks and no story about Meghan Markle crushing the larynx of an innocent footman beneath the heel of her Jimmy Choos as she cackled about hating Britain and destroying the monarchy?

Fair comment imo. 

There wasn't room.