America

I've never been. Would love to go and probably will take the kids to Florida before they get older.

My brother in law is American, is (ex)military and from a big baptist/evangelical family from rural Georgia. He's surprisingly quite liberal, but his family are huge Fox News watching Trumpers. They've softened since, but initially were very opposed to my sister, his mum called her a 'devil woman'. A good laugh as she's a fucking swot and a straight peg. 

The political situation over there is fucked mind you. I don't think there will be a civil war, but democracy and the institutions have been irreversibly eroded to such a degree now, that some sort of (negative) schism is inevitable.

9 hours ago, velo army said:

So aye, post your news articles, photies and tweets here as we document America's journey towards Theocratic Fascism. 

The US is brilliant and I owe my pension(s) to Xerox, Oracle and Computer Associates.   Undoubtedly the most creative and innovative nation of the 20th and 21st centuries.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

The US is brilliant and I owe my pension(s) to Xerox, Oracle and Computer Associates.   Undoubtedly the most creative and innovative nation of the 20th and 21st centuries.

I sense an incoming change of avatar....

My theory is that every country has a certain % of crazy, willfully destructive people. In small countries they will be a insignificant minority, in large countries they will be a significant minority.

For the same reason that companies spin on and demerge it makes sense that nations should be able to as well, the likes of Texas, California or Scotland have excellent spin off claims were they companies.

But for all of the very obvious downsides to the US it's still culturally and economically the most powerful nation of the last 100 years. It's entrepreneurial set up is advanced and generates great wealth (for a few people).

I watched a documentary where an elderly American guy summed it up well - American is a place for competitive people. And if you're not competitive you will struggle badly.

The gap between the average wage in America and the average wage in the UK is the same gap between the average wage in the UK and the average wage in Poland. During WW2 GIs impressed British women with chocolate and nylons, that could pretty much happen now (with haagen dazs and lingerie?)

When I worked in the UK my equivalent wage in the southern US for the exact same position in the exact same company paid twice as much (albeit with 1/3 of the annual leave - not counting 10 'personal days').

Total shitshow these days and getting worse. On the plus side I didn't get stuck in traffic on Saturday behind ugly fat men blocking the road with their celebration of the royals and the baby Jesus.

Have visited New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco. The former and latter were interesting, but I prefer living in Scotland. 

No NHS, no minimum wage, the ridulous tipping culture to name just a few issues, would put me off staying there. 

57 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

Have visited New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco. The former and latter were interesting, but I prefer living in Scotland. 

No NHS, no minimum wage, the ridulous tipping culture to name just a few issues, would put me off staying there. 

Guns........................you forgot the guns.......................

2 hours ago, Theroadlesstravelled said:

Politically a horror show. A dreadful party completely unable to run the country, solely focused on cultural politics and then there’s the Republican Party.

Still better than the depressing Tory wasteland that is the UK though.

Weans in America can get arrested for daft wee wean stuff when they're at school. There are police officers in school now who arrest actual children for any breach of school rules. They've been known to use excessive physical force too. The polis in the USA are generally thick bullies. That's in schools. The school to prison pipeline is not something we talk about here. Also actual school children have to do actual drills to prepare for massacre by AR15. Being a child in America sounds traumatically stressful.

The Abortion Act 1967 is going absolutely nowhere. Say what you like about the Tories (and I'll join you) but they don't seem to be on a mission from God to completely erode bodily autonomy. Women in America can now be arrested for having a miscarriage and if you are raped and get pregnant, that's your life now. After they fix the next election, the US supreme court will then go after Obergefell v Hodges, which overturned anti-sodomy legislation. After the SCOTUS overturn that then police will be able to knock down your door if they suspect you might be engaging in sex with your fellow man. You might think that this only affects gay men, but what if you have a pal or cousin staying over and you have an affectionate relationship with them? Some neighbour grasses you up and you've got a few blue shirts battering down your door and arresting you "on suspicion". 

That's not to mention the stories that are no longer in the news. Michigan still has poisoned water and the effects of that will be felt for generations. The elimination of first nation culture and society will be complete now that their lands are no longer sovereign. Latin American children are still separated from their parents in concentration camps. There are strong rumours that the children are being adopted out to willing white American parents.

The Tories definitely want to ape the US in some ways. They'd privatise air if they could, and you just know that they salivate at the thought of performative patriotism and pageantry at every sporting event and school assembly. I don't think they could, or would create the hellscape they have (and is getting worse) in the USA.

The cultural faultlines now run so deep that down the line I wouldn't be 100% surprised if the whole shebang breaks up in a Yugoslavia-style scenario, with the relatively more liberal - and affluent - west coast and north-east going their own ways and leaving the shithole states to morph into Gilead

Going to go against the grain a bit here.

I travelled from LA to NY in 6 weeks(staying no longer than 3 days in one place), via bus, stopping off at many places, small and massive and always stayed in a tent, except LA, Las Vegas & NY.

I was not really looking forward to my time there and was made worse at LA airport by an immigration officer that was a right p***k (was told about them before).

During my journey, I met some of the most humble and great people this planet has to offer.  I loved the place and people.

Don't judge the people by their political leaders.

2 hours ago, Cosmic Joe said:

No NHS - Great

No minimum wage- Great

Tipping culture- Great

You don’t sound as if you’re much of a go- getter.

Socialist Scotland is the place for you.