Broony88 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 (edited) 6 hours ago, lesterplunkett said: I can’t disagree with any motm as named above but I’d also mention Josh Todd. MOTM for me however was Stephen Hendrie. On it from the 1st whistle Hendrie was slightly better but everytime he was put under pressure he looked like a cock up wasn’t too far away. Put us in trouble twice early on and luckily they didn’t punish us. He did get better as the game went on and Murray should have scored from his cutback when we put together a lovely move in the latter stages. Much improved performance and on the car journey home I am sure we even praised Paul McKay which this season hasn’t happened often if at all. Good to have East and those marauding runs back too. Edited February 5 by Broony88 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JK_Queens Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Confirmed from the post match interview that Bartley is looking to send Rico, McKenna and Reilly out on loan. No doubt all three have been disappointing this season, although pretty bold call from only being in the job about three weeks. Surely a financial aspect to that decision (will we get somebody to pay even a percentage of these guys wages?). While we’ve added to the squad, I don’t think we’re bustling with good quality options in those positions. No natural left back cover and not seen anything yet to suggest Ruth is a better option up front than Reilly. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swarley Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Petition for league reconstruction that sees us play Edinburgh 15 or 16 times a season! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the_palmy_pie Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 12 hours ago, qos1990 said: Ruth is another that brings nothing to the table. Honking For whatever reason Bartley doesn’t rate Reilly but the wee man is better than this donkey. IMO 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 55 minutes ago, JK_Queens said: Confirmed from the post match interview that Bartley is looking to send Rico, McKenna and Reilly out on loan. No doubt all three have been disappointing this season, although pretty bold call from only being in the job about three weeks. Surely a financial aspect to that decision (will we get somebody to pay even a percentage of these guys wages?). While we’ve added to the squad, I don’t think we’re bustling with good quality options in those positions. No natural left back cover and not seen anything yet to suggest Ruth is a better option up front than Reilly. 1 minute ago, the_palmy_pie said: For whatever reason Bartley doesn’t rate Reilly but the wee man is better than this donkey. IMO Don't disagree that Reilly is better than Ruth but in the same breath I'm happy Bartley isn't taking any shite from anyone. Ship up or shape out. I'm all for it regardless of the player/s in question. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Good set of post match interviews there. Everyone talking really positively, so good to hear. Have to admire Marvin's work so far, he's direct and no messing and that's the way it has to be for a manager - if the player's don't do what he wants then he loses his job, no margin for error, so do what I want and you play, don't and you're out, not negotiable. Paton's interview was the most entertaining though - great attitude, comes across as a real character with a good sense of humour, just what you need in the squad. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoonhamerDon Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Back to back wins, a clean sheet, signs of a plan and style of football, improvements and reinforcements in key areas (GK, defence and fitness) All really positive signs from Bartley. Not getting ahead of myself in regards to any potential late play-off charge until we start doing it against teams not called Clyde, Peterhead or Edinburgh! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 32 minutes ago, DoonhamerDon said: ... Not getting ahead of myself in regards to any potential late play-off charge until we start doing it against teams not called Clyde, Peterhead or Edinburgh! ^^^ Aye, very much this. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
101 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 2 hours ago, JK_Queens said: McKenna I'd be happy if Dunfermline brought him in tbh, can't imagine it would cost a huge amount and we are lacking in that area of the pitch. He's obviously not had the greatest of times with you guys but did a turn for Partick Thistle. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 I think it makes perfect sense to send Reilly out on loan as for me he would currently be fourth choice striker behind Paton, Kabia and a fit Connelly so given the right move he has a better chance to prove his worth. As regular readers will know I'm not a Reilly fan. Don't get me wrong I thought he was a fine player for us first time round, but I feel that aside from his time at St Mirren, he has never really fulfilled his potential and for some reason has rapidly become a bit part player wherever he has been played since leaving us. I never expected him to come back in the summer the same player that he was in his younger days (I think some fans did) but I did think he would be a good signing for a League One club, but unfortunately he is in my opinion bang average at this level too. I am surprised that he has fallen behind Ruth in the pecking order, but that said I expect Ruth to be back on the bench on a regular basis for much of the remainder of the season. Marvin has worked with Reilly at Livingston so will know him well, so I trust his judgment in allowing him the chance of a regular start elsewhere. It's not necessarily the end of Reilly's days at Queens, but maybe a signal to the player that he needs a kick up the bahookie if he wants to be involved next season, especially if he showed poor attitude at the reserve game on Thursday. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SUPERSOUTH Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Think maybe its Ruth's age over Reillys that is the major difference Marvin maybe thinks he can do something to improve the 21 year old. Both been poor this season. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fae_the_'briggs Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 40 minutes ago, 101 said: I'd be happy if Dunfermline brought him in tbh, can't imagine it would cost a huge amount and we are lacking in that area of the pitch. He's obviously not had the greatest of times with you guys but did a turn for Partick Thistle. Please take him. I get that we've mostly played him out if position at rb but his inability to do basics like passing or controlling the ball puts the team under pressure. Tbf he was a poor player in a poor defence so harsh to single him out but he frustrated me more than the rest. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
101 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 2 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said: Please take him. I get that we've mostly played him out if position at rb but his inability to do basics like passing or controlling the ball puts the team under pressure. Tbf he was a poor player in a poor defence so harsh to single him out but he frustrated me more than the rest. I would trust McPake to help improve even the most shakey of defenders. Considering he has turned a defence which still has 3 regular players from last year's shambolic defending into a steady and reliable unit. Hard to know if Queens would loan him to a club in the same division, obviously he couldn't play against you if he did and McPake might have other targets but I wouldn't be against it as currently our substitute defenders have almost no league experience. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 1 hour ago, 101 said: I would trust McPake to help improve even the most shakey of defenders. Considering he has turned a defence which still has 3 regular players from last year's shambolic defending into a steady and reliable unit. Hard to know if Queens would loan him to a club in the same division, obviously he couldn't play against you if he did and McPake might have other targets but I wouldn't be against it as currently our substitute defenders have almost no league experience. If we were to loan him out to a side in our league I'd be hoping it would be to one of the ones aiming for 4th so it instantly improved our chances of getting there ahead of them. He's absolutely terrible. He played with the reserves the other need and was genuinely still one of the worst performers in the side. And that was in his 'preferred' position at CB. If we manage to convince a side higher than League 2 to take him off our hands I'll be gobsmacked. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rjc-1988 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Despite Reilly struggling week after week Ruth hardly got a look in. I honestly haven’t seen enough of Ruth to properly judge him properly and I think that is the same for most Queens’ supporters if they are being honest on the subject .Coming on occasionally for the last 10/15 minutes chasing lost causes is not really giving a player a fair chance. Yesterday he really “put himself about” and I thought he looked much more effective than Reilly who for me has been largely anonymous. Harsh but cant judge Reilly on past glories - that’s the sad reality of football. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FFC 1876 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 3 hours ago, 101 said: I'd be happy if Dunfermline brought him in tbh, can't imagine it would cost a huge amount and we are lacking in that area of the pitch. He's obviously not had the greatest of times with you guys but did a turn for Partick Thistle. I'd be ecstatic if you brought him in, he's absolutely dug meat wherever he plays on the park. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mulberryblue Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 1 hour ago, Rjc-1988 said: Despite Reilly struggling week after week Ruth hardly got a look in. I honestly haven’t seen enough of Ruth to properly judge him properly and I think that is the same for most Queens’ supporters if they are being honest on the subject .Coming on occasionally for the last 10/15 minutes chasing lost causes is not really giving a player a fair chance. Yesterday he really “put himself about” and I thought he looked much more effective than Reilly who for me has been largely anonymous. Harsh but cant judge Reilly on past glories - that’s the sad reality of football. I’d agree with this. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FFC 1876 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 1 hour ago, Rjc-1988 said: Despite Reilly struggling week after week Ruth hardly got a look in. I honestly haven’t seen enough of Ruth to properly judge him properly and I think that is the same for most Queens’ supporters if they are being honest on the subject .Coming on occasionally for the last 10/15 minutes chasing lost causes is not really giving a player a fair chance. Yesterday he really “put himself about” and I thought he looked much more effective than Reilly who for me has been largely anonymous. Harsh but cant judge Reilly on past glories - that’s the sad reality of football. I'm one of the few that liked Ruth when he was at us and genuinely thought he'd have been a decent signing for you but he's not really done much yet. Noticed from your highlights last week it was Ruth who turned his man and sent Todd through for him to then square it to Paton for your first goal. If you stick with Ruth he'll do far more for you than Gavin Reilly. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rjc-1988 Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 25 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said: I'm one of the few that liked Ruth when he was at us and genuinely thought he'd have been a decent signing for you but he's not really done much yet. Noticed from your highlights last week it was Ruth who turned his man and sent Todd through for him to then square it to Paton for your first goal. If you stick with Ruth he'll do far more for you than Gavin Reilly. That’s my thoughts - he hasn’t set the “heather on fire” but when you hardly get any meaningful game time it is extremely difficult. Reilly doesn’t hold the ball up and frankly looks a “spent force”. The Manager has clearly formed the same view and thinks Ruth is a better option. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manwithnoball Posted February 5 Share Posted February 5 Bartley has obviously made to decision to let the 3 guys go and the fact he said in the interview let's everyone know. He is obviously working with the other guys who are all mostly playing for their futures. As he sees something he can work with. The signings of Dabrowski and Brydon have made us stronger defensively and hopefully Logan also hits the ground running. Kabia has to up his work rate for me. Bartley is ruthless as McGrory found out yesterday by being hooked at half time unfortunately he put Murray on for me is any empty shirt. When we get Wilson and Connelly back we will definitely be stronger and the fact we are only 6 points of the play offs and a semi final in the cup on Tuesday. Keep the momentum going into the Kelty game in a fortnight before a tough game against Dunfermline. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...