Greenacres Posted January 26 Share Posted January 26 22 hours ago, Otis Blue said: Was kinda hoping that we might do some more player business before the end of the window ... the clock's ticking on ... Looks to me like Bartley is giving this squad one more game at Peterhead. Bartley seems to think that 2 weeks intense coaching is going to make a difference. I was hoping for a couple of quality loan signing that we need before the Peterhead game but that is not going to happen now. . 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 26 Share Posted January 26 2 hours ago, Greenacres said: Looks to me like Bartley is giving this squad one more game at Peterhead. Bartley seems to think that 2 weeks intense coaching is going to make a difference. I was hoping for a couple of quality loan signing that we need before the Peterhead game but that is not going to happen now. . I'm sure Marvin's constantly talking to agents, clubs and players about possibilities to bring players in and opportunities to move players out. If he hasn't got anything fixed up before the Peterhead game then I'm sure its not for want of trying. If nothing happens before Peterhead then so be it. If nothing gets done before the end of the window on Tuesday, then again so be it - I'm sure it won't be for want of trying. If nothing happens this window then he has to coach what he's inherited as best as he can - he knew that was the score when he took the job, so c'est la vie and we move on. The key period for Marvin is next summer's window - that's when his main opportunity is to put his stamp on the squad and that's when he has to get it right. NB - I'm not sure about whether the January window is a closure for loans also or not - I've been told before, but I always forget. I'm sure SD will keep us straight on that point if he has time (I hope he's very busy over the next few days ... ). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 26 Share Posted January 26 2 hours ago, ALOREBURNE said: That’s the dates confirmed for the semi final of the challenge cup. Hamilton also play Hearts the Friday after the semi against us so a bit hectic for them. Hopefully, Hamilton will be more focussed on the Hearts game in the big cup and maybe rest some players for our wee Diddy tie. Although I suppose you could say that Hamilton are far more likely to progress in the Diddy cup than in the big cup and so they might be better going full pelt in the Diddy cup. There, I've convinced myself that both outcomes are equally likely, what a waste of a post ... apologies in advance for my drivel ... ooops, almost typed darvel ... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 26 Share Posted January 26 4 hours ago, DoonhamerDon said: While not meaning to add too much to the sense of pessimism/apathy for the remainder of the season, I'm in agreement that its now at the stage of writing-off and starting again in the summer - had we got anything from Alloa and Montrose might have been different but too big an ask now and as said not worth the resources for a short-term push. 9 points to Alloa could be overcome but the league is too bunched IMO to manage to overtake all four teams ahead of us. Agree with much of your post DD. However, I seem to be in glass-half-full mode this evening (don't know why, been cycling up at a windfarm this afternoon and got a bloody puncture for my pains, and it was bloody cold too) and so I don't think the season is entirely written off yet as we are just over half way through. Yes, we definitely won't win this league from 8th place, but I'm not sure that 4th is totally out sight if we were to put a run together. Also, yes - the remainder of the season should be as much about building towards next season's campaign which is key. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nithsdale Wanderer Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 On 25/01/2023 at 22:05, 19QOS19 said: Getting quality players in in January is a rarity. Getting enough quality players to turn our fortunes around is surely impossible It is a rarity, but not impossible. Best thing McCall did for us when he wheeled and dealed and brought in Murray, Adams, McDonald and , I think, some sort of striker ! Never forget the Jan (H) to Partick after they signed. 4 up in dreamland but we still almost managed to blow it ending 4-3. That was the start of something for sure ! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 2 hours ago, Nithsdale Wanderer said: It is a rarity, but not impossible. Best thing McCall did for us when he wheeled and dealed and brought in Murray, Adams, McDonald and , I think, some sort of striker ! Never forget the Jan (H) to Partick after they signed. 4 up in dreamland but we still almost managed to blow it ending 4-3. That was the start of something for sure ! Aye, cracking game that. Think wee Stevie Murray had a great game, not sure he really hit those heights again with us though. Was that the game where Thistle had a decent penalty shout denied in the last minute as well? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 2 hours ago, Otis Blue said: Aye, cracking game that. Think wee Stevie Murray had a great game, not sure he really hit those heights again with us though. Was that the game where Thistle had a decent penalty shout denied in the last minute as well? Not often that you'll see the words "big" and "Stevie Murray" in the same sentence, but I always thought that Stevie Murray made a big contribution to The Great Escape(TM) which often gets overlooked due to the magnificence of a certain SD*. * Dobbie, not Drifter 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Pretty sure that was the game when I bumped into a Thistle supporting work colleague outside the Ice Bowl after the game. He was seething, I was grinning from ear to ear. I tried to offer him felicitations but he was purple with rage and about to deck me, so we decided to bid farewell. He'd calmed down a wee bit at work by the Monday. Happy days. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 5 hours ago, Nithsdale Wanderer said: It is a rarity, but not impossible. Best thing McCall did for us when he wheeled and dealed and brought in Murray, Adams, McDonald and , I think, some sort of striker ! Never forget the Jan (H) to Partick after they signed. 4 up in dreamland but we still almost managed to blow it ending 4-3. That was the start of something for sure ! I'm fairly sure that Stevie Tosh arrived the following week too. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoonhamerDon Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 http://www.qosarchive.co.uk/07jan.htm Brilliant archive of the month in question. January 2007 we signed Jamie MacDonald, Jamie McQuilken, Stephen Dobbie and Stevie Tosh Sold Wullie to Kilmarnock - with Murray and Adams coming in on loan - plus Wullie appeared to stay for February? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 42 minutes ago, Slipmat said: Not often that you'll see the words "big" and "Stevie Murray" in the same sentence, Big diving b*****d? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
QoS99 Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 On 26/01/2023 at 09:03, Tony Wonder said: Rumours among Hearts fans that you are signing Euan Henderson from us. Quite surprised at that as I thought he'd get a Championship team and if it was L1 I thought it'd be top end, no offence. Think it'll be a very good signing if it comes off though, he's proven to score goals at that level. Signed for Queens Park 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 18 minutes ago, QoS99 said: Signed for Queens Park Shame ... the Jambos were no doubt talking about the other Queens ... ie the moneybags version. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony Wonder Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 13 minutes ago, Otis Blue said: Shame ... the Jambos were no doubt talking about the other Queens ... ie the moneybags version. I'd heard him linked with them too but all the rumours were QoTS with Bartley. Ah well, best of luck for the rest of the season. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sidofthesouth Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Hibs reserve keeper recalled by Huddersfield. Does this affect our loan of Dabrowski? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex Nesovic's Barmy Army Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 1 minute ago, sidofthesouth said: Hibs reserve keeper recalled by Huddersfield. Does this affect our loan of Dabrowski? What a shitemare that would be. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
QoS99 Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Signing at 7pm 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
louisxiv Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Kabia 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALOREBURNE Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 Very happy with that. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted January 27 Share Posted January 27 2 minutes ago, ALOREBURNE said: Very happy with that. Never seen him play, but going by what Falkirk and Morton fans have said he is a good player with a bad attitude? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...