Otis Blue Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 2 minutes ago, QoS99 said: Neil McCann would ideally be my pick for who’s out of work but could never see him being interested in it Not a bad shout but McCann's probably figured out by now that being a media pundit is a lot less hassle. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
QoS99 Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 2 minutes ago, Otis Blue said: Not a bad shout but McCann's probably figured out by now that being a media pundit is a lot less hassle. Yeah and on much less pay than being on Sky you’d imagine 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 3 minutes ago, David Fernández said: I think if Queens appointed Kevin Thomson that would tip @19QOS19over the edge after listening to his ramblings on BT Sport. Aye that's fair! Comes across as a complete fanny and his only success as a manager has been managing a side with a far superior squad than the competition. He won't have that luxury at us. None of the names are inspiring but as someone has said above I doubt it'll matter anyway as it's a stick on it'll be Murray. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manwithnoball Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 I was just listing the names I seen online. Yes Thomson only has 1 years experience but it was winning experience. Hate all the blow smoke up the arse of Rangers but he is just warning a living I suppose. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 1 hour ago, Otis Blue said: Amen brother amen. This should be the epitaph on the gravestone of every (non OF) fitba fan tbf. Might be better to use “The light at the end of the tunnel is probably just an oncoming train”..not as succinct, but much more accurate and explanatory. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mattmc Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 20 hours ago, QOSfan019 said: Bye Bye Wullie Why does Dumfries need so many Tesco’s. Is one not enough? You’ve only yourselves to blame. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 23 minutes ago, qos_75 said: This surely requires a separate thread and a poll. Paging @Ludo*1 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamonds are Forever Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 59 minutes ago, Slipmat said: Hewitson's statement that the decision over the sacking is purely results based doesn't wash at all given that results over the second quarter were an improvement on the first. Had Wullie not been in court, his appearance being written about in the press and the fact it is going to trial I am 100% sure he would still be in the job tonight, especially given that he talked about having identified January signing targets in Saturday's post match interview which he would no doubt have discussed with the board. Let's not pretend that this isn't all about damage limitation and protecting the reputation of the club. If it was based on results and performance AJ would and should have been binned months before he got his jotters. The board just can't bring themselves to reveal their real reasoning when making an important announcement and always leave more questions being asked than answered, can they? Hope Murray isn't stinking the place out for too long. I certainly wouldn't want him making our January signings? I've no idea the real reason and just a passing observer, but I'm not sure about your point here. You picked up 10 points from the first 9 games and 13 from the second 9. Yes it's an improvement, but to improve on borderline relegation form by 3 points over a 9 game period is surely not enough to dismiss the idea out of hand that the sacking is due to results? Queens are on track to get 46 points, which last season was 5 points off 4th spot. It's surely not unreasonable for a club to give a manager half a season and then before the transfer window look at the form as a whole and make a decision based on that? Other factors may well have played a role but results wise I don't think he can have many complaints. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 13 minutes ago, Mattmc said: Why does Dumfries need so many Tesco’s. Is one not enough? You’ve only yourselves to blame. So the snooty b*****ds don't have to come to the good side of the water 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the_palmy_pie Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 12 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said: I've no idea the real reason and just a passing observer, but I'm not sure about your point here. You picked up 10 points from the first 9 games and 13 from the second 9. Yes it's an improvement, but to improve on borderline relegation form by 3 points over a 9 game period is surely not enough to dismiss the idea out of hand that the sacking is due to results? Queens are on track to get 46 points, which last season was 5 points off 4th spot. It's surely not unreasonable for a club to give a manager half a season and then before the transfer window look at the form as a whole and make a decision based on that? Other factors may well have played a role but results wise I don't think he can have many complaints. There’s absolutely no coincidence that Wullie was sacked a day after his court case became public knowledge. The club are using results and performances as an ideal excuse. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 29 minutes ago, TxRover said: Might be better to use “The light at the end of the tunnel is probably just an oncoming train”..not as succinct, but much more accurate and explanatory. Indeed ... I like it! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugster Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 1 hour ago, die hard doonhamer said: Hartley would probably be my pick of the options that come to mind immediately. You’re aff your fuckin heid. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 (edited) 37 minutes ago, Mattmc said: Why does Dumfries need so many Tesco’s. Is one not enough? You’ve only yourselves to blame. Cos ... Dumfries is the largest urban conurbation in the south of Scotland ... 🫣 Edited December 21, 2022 by Otis Blue 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamonds are Forever Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 10 minutes ago, the_palmy_pie said: There’s absolutely no coincidence that Wullie was sacked a day after his court case became public knowledge. The club are using results and performances as an ideal excuse. If Queens were flying at the top of the league would they have sacked him? I'd suggest almost certainly not which means the primary factor here is the poor results, not the court case. I guess my point (not that I really had any, was just an observation) was that the club don't need an 'excuse', the results are a sackable offence alone given the pre-season expectations and the current reality. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 4 minutes ago, Rugster said: You’re aff your fuckin heid. ... a nerve of the raw kind touched there methinks ... perhaps? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 18 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said: I've no idea the real reason and just a passing observer, but I'm not sure about your point here. You picked up 10 points from the first 9 games and 13 from the second 9. Yes it's an improvement, but to improve on borderline relegation form by 3 points over a 9 game period is surely not enough to dismiss the idea out of hand that the sacking is due to results? Queens are on track to get 46 points, which last season was 5 points off 4th spot. It's surely not unreasonable for a club to give a manager half a season and then before the transfer window look at the form as a whole and make a decision based on that? Other factors may well have played a role but results wise I don't think he can have many complaints. I'm sure that Gibson would be the first to admit that results haven't met expectations or targets, but the board stuck by Allan Johnston for 2 and half seasons where we were second bottom and on a downward spiral at the time that the 2019/20 was prematurely terminated and only saved from relegation thanks to PPG, then 6th in 2020/21 thanks to a 9 game run inspired by Isaiah Jones arrival and an injury-forced change to playing Connor Shields as a CF instead of on the wing, and despite us being in the bottom two for the best part of four months last season (including the January window) it took until the end of February before he was sacked. Gibson was in the job for 9 months, so either the board have had a dramatic change of thinking in terms of setting a manager targets before punting them or something else was at play that they haven't directly mentioned in their statement... possibly as 19QOS19 to cover their backs legally. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
die hard doonhamer Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 15 minutes ago, Rugster said: You’re aff your fuckin heid. He’s certainly a mixed big in terms of his record, but his latest go at this level went well. I don’t like the guy, but I think he’d get us to where we need to be. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
qos_75 Posted December 21, 2022 Author Share Posted December 21, 2022 20 minutes ago, Slipmat said: I'm sure that Gibson would be the first to admit that results haven't met expectations or targets, but the board stuck by Allan Johnston for 2 and half seasons where we were second bottom and on a downward spiral at the time that the 2019/20 was prematurely terminated and only saved from relegation thanks to PPG, then 6th in 2020/21 thanks to a 9 game run inspired by Isaiah Jones arrival and an injury-forced change to playing Connor Shields as a CF instead of on the wing, and despite us being in the bottom two for the best part of four months last season (including the January window) it took until the end of February before he was sacked. Gibson was in the job for 9 months, so either the board have had a dramatic change of thinking in terms of setting a manager targets before punting them or something else was at play that they haven't directly mentioned in their statement... possibly as 19QOS19 to cover their backs legally. Absolutely this. No court case and the board would have stuck by him. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugster Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 13 minutes ago, die hard doonhamer said: He’s certainly a mixed big in terms of his record, but his latest go at this level went well. I don’t like the guy, but I think he’d get us to where we need to be. He’s a fuckin charlatan. Steer clear. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitbafollower Posted December 21, 2022 Share Posted December 21, 2022 Is Wullie Gibson free now to play for any club from January 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...