The Queen of the South thread

15 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Your flit between listing the trivial and the desperately sad and significant.  I'm not sure that doing so is serving your purposes that well here.

Of course, inserting an extra 'm' in the word 'Doonhamers' is not at all important.  It goes beyond spelling though.  It demands a mispronunciation that reveals a complete misunderstanding of the term. 

It still doesn't actually matter when set against events in Ukraine though. I think most of us can get that without the need of your assistance.

Can we just get back to football. It is the point of this forum… I’m really excited about potential new signings and a riveting season ahead. With the goalie and Cochrane resigning I like the calibre! 

2 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

Can we just get back to football. It is the point of this forum… I’m really excited about potential new signings and a riveting season ahead. With the goalie and Cochrane resigning I like the calibre! 

Discuss your own excitement as much as you wish.

Nobody's preventing it.

1 hour ago, HighlandQueen said:

That's the problem though, there's actually very little (or no) QoS football related things to discuss at the present time. Of course we could all start listing players that we hope to sign, what formation Bartley prefers, etc, but that's pointless as its all speculation, and until news comes out of the Club of anything remotely football related we are all just filling time with trivial matters. 

Edit to add: if you want to discuss football related matters it's maybe better if you realise that resigning and re-signing are different things, and it's confusing if you use the wrong one. Almost as bad as putting an extra m in Doonhamers. 

Edited by Fae_the_'briggs

Surely this week we will get news  of any  contract extensions .

Maybe being a bit optimistic but we love to see Paton back he loves it at Queens and really rates and likes M.B. but as always it will come down to who can offer him the best contract that sadly will not be us .

Todd Connelly East and Hendrie are the others I would like to see back from last season .

The longer it goes on the less likely any will be back as all will be out of contract on Thursday 

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

That's the problem though, there's actually very little (or no) QoS football related things to discuss at the present time. Of course we could all start listing players that we hope to sign, what formation Bartley prefers, etc, but that's pointless as its all speculation, and until news comes out of the Club of anything remotely football related we are all just filling time with trivial matters. 

Edit to add: if you want to discuss football related matters it's maybe better if you realise that resigning and re-signing are different things, and it's confusing if you use the wrong one. Almost as bad as putting an extra m in Doonhamers. 

Pardon my hyphen omission.  It’s obviously as bad a crime as being upbeat according to the forum fun hoovers above. I will return when there is better craic to be had…

4 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

Surely this week we will get news  of any  contract extensions .

Maybe being a bit optimistic but we love to see Paton back he loves it at Queens and really rates and likes M.B. but as always it will come down to who can offer him the best contract that sadly will not be us .

Todd Connelly East and Hendrie are the others I would like to see back from last season .

The longer it goes on the less likely any will be back as all will be out of contract on Thursday 

Would like to see Paton and Connolly back but the others fall into the meh category for me

56 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

Pardon my hyphen omission.  It’s obviously as bad a crime as being upbeat according to the forum fun hoovers above. I will return when there is better craic to be had…

Is 'Highland' code for 'Drama'? 

21 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

You flit between listing the trivial and the desperately sad and significant. 

Correct, I did - because it was largely written "tongue in cheek".  It's a fitba forum after all and not everything should be taken too literally, nor analysed to the nth degree, a wee touch of levity now and then helps ... at least that's my view.  Chill, bro, chill ...

5 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Correct, I did - because it was largely written "tongue in cheek".  It's a fitba forum after all and not everything should be taken too literally, nor analysed to the nth degree, a wee touch of levity now and then helps ... at least that's my view.  Chill, bro, chill ...

You are on the Forum Fun Hoovers watch list. 

31 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

Lots of Livi players becoming available. I wonder if any are in MBs plans

Fully expect a few. Actually surprised a pre-season friendly hasn't been arranged with them or Hibs yet (though their season only just finished I suppose). I wonder if we'd have seen a Newcastle 11 make the trip if our pitch was available this pre-season? 

(Not that I care. I rarely, if ever go to friendlies. Certainly won't be this season if they're all away).

34 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

Lots of Livi players becoming available. I wonder if any are in MBs plans

We'll be well down the list of Clubs that Premiership players are interested in imo. Livi probably won't be paying massive wages (by Premiership standards), Greenacres will know if that's true, but unless they are young players lookin to stay full time, or older pros seeing out they're careers, we probably can't afford them. Marv will let us know soon enough if there's any signing news. 

11 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Fully expect a few. Actually surprised a pre-season friendly hasn't been arranged with them or Hibs yet (though their season only just finished I suppose). I wonder if we'd have seen a Newcastle 11 make the trip if our pitch was available this pre-season? 

(Not that I care. I rarely, if ever go to friendlies. Certainly won't be this season if they're all away).

We are playing Livingston pre-season. Not Hibs as far as I'm aware. According to Euan Maxwell on Facebook Marvin's told him we're playing East Kilbride, Livingston and Dundee United though United is closed door. I was aware of the first two, though not what date the EK one is yet. United is news to me. All friendlies will be away for obvious reasons.

6 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

We are playing Livingston pre-season. Not Hibs as far as I'm aware. According to Euan Maxwell on Facebook Marvin's told him we're playing East Kilbride, Livingston and Dundee United though United is closed door. I was aware of the first two, though not what date the EK one is yet. United is news to me. All friendlies will be away for obvious reasons.

Cheers. Had no idea (don't have FB) but no surprise Livi and on the list. Should be a couple of decent tests there. 

2 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Any idea if the EK game is going to be home or away?

Edited by louisxiv