The Queen of the South thread

On 07/05/2023 at 01:49, 19QOS19 said:

Now on to my favourite part of the football season. Absolutely love this time when signings are coming in/re-signing (Probably because it's better than watching them...). 

I know what you mean.  The fitba itself is the real deal of course (except that it usually is a let down in our case), but close-season can be really interesting watching a new squad taking shape, and it'll be especially fun to watch this time as I've high hopes for a different approach from Marvin.  I'm hoping that he'll be ruthless with the clear-out and that he'll avoid the usual "jobbers" in his new recruits.

1 minute ago, Otis Blue said:

I know what you mean.  The fitba itself is the real deal of course (except that it usually is a let down in our case), but close-season can be really interesting watching a new squad taking shape, and it'll be especially fun to watch this time as I've high hopes for a different approach from Marvin.  I'm hoping that he'll be ruthless with the clear-out and that he'll avoid the usual "jobbers" in his new recruits.

Hate to break it to you but "jobbers" is probably the market we will be dealing in, with hopefully a couple of more decent jobbers to improve the squad. Maybe he can unearth another Paton or a Wilson type that doesn't keep getting injured. 

3 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Hate to break it to you but "jobbers" is probably the market we will be dealing in, with hopefully a couple of more decent jobbers to improve the squad. Maybe he can unearth another Paton or a Wilson type that doesn't keep getting injured. 

Aye, fair enough ... it's all about the definition of "jobbers" - I guess there's "jobbers" and "utter jobbers".  We're clearly not mega-bucks funded, like the Glasgow Gretna but we should hopefully be able to have a competitive budget down here for next season - especially if we lose both The Pars and hopefully also The Bairns (I'm not quite sure how well funded Cove will be though).  I'm hopeful that we'll maybe see some relatively fresh names/faces in the squad at this level.  Last season was a pretty dismal failure, but I'm starting the close-season in serious "glass half-full" mode for a change ... in Marvin we trust!

One thing that Gibson did which I hope Bartley does too (probably the only thing!) is announce who has signed a contract, who has been offered a contract and who has been punted nice and early into the close season.  There is hope that that may happen, given how Bartley was quick to make it  public knowledge that Quitongo, McKenna* and Reilly weren't in his plans at the time.

* although he has unfortunately drifted back into the team, albeit under emergency circumstances.

I will also be in "glass half full mode" if he was to annouce that McKenna, Murray, D.McKay & Hendrie will be heading to pastures new.  If they aren't, it would be good to have the entire close season to become accustomed to the sense of disappointment.

11 hours ago, Slipmat said:

One thing that Gibson did which I hope Bartley does too (probably the only thing!) is announce who has signed a contract, who has been offered a contract and who has been punted nice and early into the close season.  There is hope that that may happen, given how Bartley was quick to make it  public knowledge that Quitongo, McKenna* and Reilly weren't in his plans at the time.

* although he has unfortunately drifted back into the team, albeit under emergency circumstances.

I will also be in "glass half full mode" if he was to annouce that McKenna, Murray, D.McKay & Hendrie will be heading to pastures new.  If they aren't, it would be good to have the entire close season to become accustomed to the sense of disappointment.

According to the report in today's Standard, which is maybe old news, he expects to have some signing/re-signing news later this week. Also like his carrot and stick approach to pre-season, players have been given training schedules for the break, if they report back fit they get an extra week off, the ones who don't report fit he says he will work them really hard to show what standards he expects. They have had an extra day off yesterday so today will be the day when some know their fate about being released or not. 

4 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

According to the report in today's Standard, which is maybe old news, he expects to have some signing/re-signing news later this week. Also like his carrot and stick approach to pre-season, players have been given training schedules for the break, if they report back fit they get an extra week off, the ones who don't report fit he says he will work them really hard to show what standards he expects. They have had an extra day off yesterday so today will be the day when some know their fate about being released or not. 

It's only old news in that they got it from his post match interview on the website 

2 minutes ago, Homer Thompson said:

It's only old news in that they got it from his post match interview on the website 

Aye, I never listened to the interview which is why I thought it might be old news. 

47 minutes ago, Homer Thompson said:

Do they get a week off to resume their training schedule?

So Gary Bowyer has departed Dundee, apparently for personal reasons (remoteness from family perhaps?) and rumoured to be rocking up at Blackpool next as their manager for next season (he's managed them before) - presumably that means Dobbie taking a step back again to his development role?

1 hour ago, Otis Blue said:

So Gary Bowyer has departed Dundee, apparently for personal reasons (remoteness from family perhaps?) and rumoured to be rocking up at Blackpool next as their manager for next season (he's managed them before) - presumably that means Dobbie taking a step back again to his development role?

Bowyer hasn’t been contacted by Blackpool apparently according to a local journalist, he’s meant to be in the running for the Doncaster job. Going from the fans reactions think Dobbie is nailed on to get it

On 09/05/2023 at 15:51, 19QOS19 said:

Bit concerned there haven't been any signings yet. Not looking good for our title push next season. 

I get the sarcasm, but wish he didn’t mention the two resignings and signings as if they don’t come to fruition or maybe meh kind of players it’s just going to be deemed negative 

Purely hypothetical, but if Annan are promoted there’s the possibility of WG playing against LG - having once played alongside one another. Any instances before of father/son once playing with each other then against in professional football?

9 minutes ago, rubber_duck said:

Purely hypothetical, but if Annan are promoted there’s the possibility of WG playing against LG - having once played alongside one another. Any instances before of father/son once playing with each other then against in professional football?

Not against each other but Eidur Gudjohnsen made his international debut by coming on as a substitute for his father.

8 hours ago, qos1990 said:

I get the sarcasm, but wish he didn’t mention the two resignings and signings as if they don’t come to fruition or maybe meh kind of players it’s just going to be deemed negative 

In all seriousness I'm fully expecting the re-signings to be meh at best. As I've already said, I have it in my head it'll be Irving and Murray (below meh for me). I just don't think one of the few who I would like to stay will be signed this early as they'll be the rare ones in our squad that other sides are wanting as well. They'll surely be weighing up their option before committing this early. 

Of course, MB has maybe played a blinder and offered the likes of Kev and Cochrane a really good deal before others come in. But I really can't see it. Would love to be wrong. 

46 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

In all seriousness I'm fully expecting the re-signings to be meh at best. As I've already said, I have it in my head it'll be Irving and Murray (below meh for me). I just don't think one of the few who I would like to stay will be signed this early as they'll be the rare ones in our squad that other sides are wanting as well. They'll surely be weighing up their option before committing this early. 

Of course, MB has maybe played a blinder and offered the likes of Kev and Cochrane a really good deal before others come in. But I really can't see it. Would love to be wrong. 

I thought McKechnie tbh

2 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

I agree with this. 

I am hopeful we see some good deals but not overly optimistic. 

4 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Guys let’s be optimistic. Great manager with good contacts. I’m excited to see who we sign. Can’t be any worse than the current crop…