Fourth Division 22/23

40 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

I can't see Baillieston coming back in some shape or form,  I could be wrong but is there old park, station park now a housing estate, I'm sure it is and cant think of anywhere local a ground could be found. I think more clubs will form form boys clubs, that will bring their won positives and negatives but hopefully they will have kept an eye on others performing in the WOSFL, noticing what others have had to deal with.   There could be rural team but I've not heard a thing so everything is guesswork. 

Campbelltown, bless them, they applied and got in, they have given confidence to, shall we say, rural clubs. They have a good wee park, well big park, trying to get everything running smooth and the look as if they are getting on well. I was there last year at a game and next work in line at the time was to finish the railing right round the whole park to separate fans from the playing surface.  I will say, for clubs like this, its will be hard to be competitive quality wise as in quantity to get for a higher league as they will mainly have to have locals who play for them and yes there are quality players in rural areas but the choice is this limiting them of all players of a certain high standard throughout the team.  This however should not stop teams joining and trying their best as it hasn't stopped Campbeltown and long may it continue.

Easterhouse's Stepford Park must be within walking distance of Bailleston.

Can't put it off any longer.

The review absolutely no-one has been waiting on.

And a few have been dreading.

The most uneducated, ill-informed, unwanted review on any forum

I will try my best to keep it short as I know you are an ageing readership and your attention span is decreasing hourly. Plus I have been known to waffle on occasion.

Firstly huge congrats to West Park United; fully deserved and worthy champions.

The 3 promoted clubs:

Threave Rovers; were expected and maybe felt so themselves, to cruise through this make up of boys clubs and ammies. On the whole they did but were shocked by the quality shown by the teams around them, good footballing team with a good mix of youth and experience in their ranks.

West Park; an excellent first season which probably vindicates their decision to go ammie in their first year. Credit to coaches for the tinkering and recruitment after their first test against a 10 man Kilsyth went tits up with a 2nd half collapse. Disciplined improved after a shaky beginning. Consistently the benchmark during the season and the introduction of some experienced ex-joonyur alumni only improved them. Physically strong and skilful.

Kilsyth Athletic; the blueprint for all the new clubs on the block. No money to talk of but a plan and a vision of how they want to conduct themselves. A young team; most under 24 with oldest around 27. To finish above Threave and within touching distance of West Park is a credit to the young staff and players. Always played on the ground just short on physical strength.

St.Peters; the unluckiest club in the pyramid. If only Threave had stayed south. Again stuck to their ethos of promoting from within, always played beautiful football. Only beaten by the promoted 3 and in most games played the better football.

Thorn Athletic and Easterhouse FA; similar stories in their first seasons. Struggled at times to get a team out but always played football. Some good results mixed in with some heavy defeats is testimony to their struggles. Now the first season has been put to bed, have a full pre-season to be better prepared.

BSC and Rossvale Academy; well documented elsewhere their history in senior football but now both committed to pathway football. Both finished mid table which sums up a season of consolidation for both. 

Campbeltown Pupils; a credit to themselves with the journeys they have to make week in week out. A difficult season on the park with a number of defeats snatched from the jaws of victory. Player pool is their main concern.

Glenvale; difficult 2nd season struggled throughout don't seem to have an identity on or off the pitch. Not a lot to say about actually.

Eglinton; tough 1st season, with a massive change in how they played mid term. A lot of positives happening off the pitch which they hope will be fruitful where it counts. Survived inaugural season so onwards and upwards.

Harmony Row; just to get to season end is a testament to all at the club. Won't waste time reviewing onfield as the victory in securing their future supercedes it. Morph into Giffnock SC.

As uninspiring as season one of Div 4 was, season two was the polar opposite.

An exciting addition which has only enhanced the West. Will be Interesting to watch the progress or otherwise of the clubs relegated from Div 3. And to follow the 3 promoted clubs in their adventures against a plethora of established ex-joonyurs.

Signing off now.

See you all for Season 2022-24.

Just now, Johnstonian said:

Thorn Athletic: Still very much in amateur mode as unwilling to fulfil a fixture because the team all went to the Scottish Grand National at Ayr.

That’s why they “struggled to get a team out”

I was unaware of the reason; not great but unfair to call them amateur. Last season both Darvel and Cambie Gers pulled out of fixtures to attend a European Final. Don't recall them being  branded as amateur at the time.

Is it possible the day at the national was already booked. Div 4 was scheduled up finish in March.

Not an excuse or condoning what they did but a reason for it.

On 27/04/2023 at 11:00, HorseyGhirl said:

I was unaware of the reason; not great but unfair to call them amateur. Last season both Darvel and Cambie Gers pulled out of fixtures to attend a European Final. Don't recall them being  branded as amateur at the time.

Is it possible the day at the national was already booked. Div 4 was scheduled up finish in March.

Not an excuse or condoning what they did but a reason for it.

Didn't Cambuslang Rangers have a car load of players that broke down up the top of Strathhaven Rd in Hamilton.

So they turned the car round and glided it back down to Hamilton Central station, they then got the train home to Cambuslang and had lemonade in Sweepers before kick off time in Seville.

The End 

2 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Didn't Cambuslang Rangers have a car load of players that broke down up the top of Strathhaven Rd in Hamilton.

So they turned the car round and glided it back down to Hamilton Central station, they then got the train home to Cambuslang and had lemonade in Sweepers before kick off time in Seville.

The End 

😄😄😄😄😄

Is there no end to your talents. Found out you're a politician the other day.

Now discover that you are an author specialising in fiction. What is your writing pseudonym so I can access more of your work. The above is pure genius.

📖📖📖📖📖📖📖📖📖📖

3 hours ago, PossilYM said:

The End 

I think you might be thinking of Blantyre Victoria away to Glenafton Athletic, not Cambuslang Rangers.

1 hour ago, glensmad said:

I think you might be thinking of Blantyre Victoria away to Glenafton Athletic, not Cambuslang Rangers.

Mandela Effect kicking in.

What exactly was it Cambuslang did again?

Say naw to the West of Scotland cup. Take it they never took part this year.

Come to think of it, weren't Glencairn put on the naughty step on here a year ago. Something about your season being finished and players promptly signing for another team in a relegation battle.

Sure you can remind us, glensmad.

Edited by PossilYM

46 minutes ago, PossilYM said:

Mandela Effect kicking in.

What exactly was it Cambuslang did again?

Say naw to the West of Scotland cup. Take it they never took part this year.

Come to think of it, weren't Glencairn put on the naughty step on here a year ago. Something about your season being finished and players promptly signing for another team in a relegation battle.

Sure you can remind us, glensmad.

From memory, Cambuslang Rangers wished the date of their WoSFL Cup match to be moved, but that wasn't possible, so they pulled out of the tournament.

Glencairn's season was finished by this time last year and we released one of our goalkeepers who was leaving the club at his own request. He then went on to play as a trialist for Blantyre Victoria (which was allowed under the rules) in the abandoned match on the night of the Europa League Final. He then went on to sign for Cumbernauld Colts for this season.

Edited by glensmad

26 minutes ago, glensmad said:

From memory, Cambuslang Rangers wished the date of their WoSFL Cup match to be moved, but that wasn't possible, so they pulled out of the tournament.

Glencairn's season was finished by this time last year and we released one of our goalkeepers who was leaving the club at his own request. He then went on to play as a trialist for Blantyre Victoria (which was allowed under the rules) in the abandoned match on the night of the Europa League Final. He then went on to sign for Cumbernauld Colts for this season.

Funny how bland it all seems now a bit like the 20 team league saga, We are all in it together.

I'll need to look up that thread that went by the heading of Integrity.

Folks on here got mighty upset at the time.

11 minutes ago, HorseyGhirl said:

Non league fitba; it's all just one big conspiracy.

😃😃😃😃😃

Conspiracy would mean in secret.

Non league fitba they do it right in front of you and see if you blink.

What was is, 9 teams on the first day forgot something or other and nobody noticed until Kilwinning took an Annie Rooney at being accused of an indiscretion. Then the suitcase fell open revealing club after club.

34 minutes ago, PossilYM said:

Conspiracy would mean in secret.

Non league fitba they do it right in front of you and see if you blink.

What was is, 9 teams on the first day forgot something or other and nobody noticed until Kilwinning took an Annie Rooney at being accused of an indiscretion. Then the suitcase fell open revealing club after club.

Conspiracy 1; these are the indiscretions we are allowed to hear/know.

Conspiracy 2; what about the indiscretions we don't hear about.

😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎

37 minutes ago, Lokloyal said:

Was there ever a resolution to the Campbeltown Pupils v Thorn unplayed game and the award of points/result?

Campbeltown were awarded the points.

No idea if there was any other sanction on the Thorn. I’ve not seen any of their committee in a while.

Awarded as a 3-0 to  CP which took them off the bottom of the league by one goal and relegates Harmony Row to bottom of the West Region for 2022-23.

...what was that about conspiracy theories?

1 hour ago, drs said:

Awarded as a 3-0 to  CP which took them off the bottom of the league by one goal and relegates Harmony Row to bottom of the West Region for 2022-23.

...what was that about conspiracy theories?

The conspiracy is; it's all just one big conspiracy.