First Divison 22/23

The essentials...

Got parked. Pies were acceptable. It wasn't too cold for most part. Ground is a little basic...

Finished a 3-0 win for Gartcairn. They were clinical and took their chances while Drumchapel had plenty of the ball, but were reduced to shots from distance that were mostly erratic!

27 minutes ago, Jordi1977 said:

The essentials...

Got parked. Pies were acceptable. It wasn't too cold for most part. Ground is a little basic...

Finished a 3-0 win for Gartcairn. They were clinical and took their chances while Drumchapel had plenty of the ball, but were reduced to shots from distance that were mostly erratic!

Basic?

It's a cage and nothing else.

30 minutes ago, Jordi1977 said:

The essentials...

Save yourself a surprise and check https://nonleaguescotland.org.uk/ next time you go somewhere new...

Drum 03 needed to put one of their 1st half efforts on target, they played some decent stuff whilst Gartcairn defended really well. Definitely blown the top six wide open, whoever hits form the final push. Ground basic but  I think enough room to put up prebuilt terraces/ stands if/when required. Do they get on with the amateurs up in Duntocher ? (prefer that ground)20230407_202708.thumb.jpg.33a150f3a03686c679544ad5b9b21e72.jpg

27 minutes ago, Andy groundhopper said:

Drum 03 needed to put one of their 1st half efforts on target, they played some decent stuff whilst Gartcairn defended really well. Definitely blown the top six wide open, whoever hits form the final push. Ground basic but  I think enough room to put up prebuilt terraces/ stands if/when required. Do they get on with the amateurs up in Duntocher ? (prefer that ground)20230407_202708.thumb.jpg.33a150f3a03686c679544ad5b9b21e72.jpg

Don't know what's to be gained up at the old Duntocher Hibs ground.

Just moves it out another two or three miles.

10 minutes ago, Pyramid Watcher said:

At least they are making an effort.

They've done everything they promised to do so far and don't pretend to be anything they aren't.

After a bit of mucking around, they now have the DD as promised and have done whatever needed to make it acceptable for a new club at tier 7 who hardly threaten triple figures at the moment. They are a lot further on than most of the new clubs, plus they seem to be doing a great job at encouraging some locals to games and making it all about the Drum. Maybe 1 day they'll build up and outgrow the DD but it'll have to do for now 

7 hours ago, Andy groundhopper said:

Thought the difference was the big number 9 for Gartcairn... he attacked their defenders and pulled them out of position and really out muscled them. That's where the first goal came from which ironically left him unmarked to tap it in.

Excellent strike for the 2nd... and the 3rd was Drum chasing the game leaving themselves short at the back and only defender back was too easily beaten for another good finish. 

Drum seemed to want to walk the ball into the net. Played a lot of nice stuff without going anywhere. When they worked it wide, were far too slow getting the ball into the box and almost all shots were from distance that never troubled the goalie. Gartcairn defence were pretty much on top. After 2nd goal they sat in and Drum just couldn't open them up. Decent amount of shit-housery from Gartcairn slowing the game down when needed.

7 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Basic?

It's a cage and nothing else.

6 hours ago, Spyro said:

They've done everything they promised to do so far and don't pretend to be anything they aren't.

After a bit of mucking around, they now have the DD as promised and have done whatever needed to make it acceptable for a new club at tier 7 who hardly threaten triple figures at the moment. They are a lot further on than most of the new clubs, plus they seem to be doing a great job at encouraging some locals to games and making it all about the Drum. Maybe 1 day they'll build up and outgrow the DD but it'll have to do for now 

I definitely wouldn't want to be there on a rainy evening... a tad exposed! But it's spacious enough and pretty compact and no more than they need.

Think a covered enclosure or 2 would benefit them... and plenty room up the side where the leisure centre is. Do that, get proper toilets in (not portaloos), get the pitch behind goals properly fenced off and it'll be a very adequate ground.

As said by others, they're defo ahead of a lot of the new sides. 

Was a decent crowd in last night... a lot really more interested in passing around the bucky, having a fag and chatting with mates (3 lads behind me, I don't think saw any of the game!!) - but fair do... they turn up and give the club money and it'll help them progress... plenty others were enjoying the game, so there is a solid core of a support there and plenty interest from the kids that are in their juvenile teams.

13 hours ago, Jordi1977 said:

I definitely wouldn't want to be there on a rainy evening... a tad exposed! But it's spacious enough and pretty compact and no more than they need.

Think a covered enclosure or 2 would benefit them... and plenty room up the side where the leisure centre is. Do that, get proper toilets in (not portaloos), get the pitch behind goals properly fenced off and it'll be a very adequate ground.

As said by others, they're defo ahead of a lot of the new sides. 

Was a decent crowd in last night... a lot really more interested in passing around the bucky, having a fag and chatting with mates (3 lads behind me, I don't think saw any of the game!!) - but fair do... they turn up and give the club money and it'll help them progress... plenty others were enjoying the game, so there is a solid core of a support there and plenty interest from the kids that are in their juvenile teams.

Hopefully Drumchapel can get a bit of cover up over the summer.

44 minutes ago, PossilYM said:

Hopefully Drumchapel can get a bit of cover up over the summer.

My god how soft are supporters these days. Protection from wind and rain; put a good waterproof jacket on and enjoy the game all this pish about cover, food, drink etc. You're there to watch a game of fitba no taking the Mrs oot for the night. 🙄🙄🙄

54 minutes ago, HorseyGhirl said:

My god how soft are supporters these days. Protection from wind and rain; put a good waterproof jacket on and enjoy the game all this pish about cover, food, drink etc. You're there to watch a game of fitba no taking the Mrs oot for the night. 🙄🙄🙄

Respect

Afraid i left behind pishing in an empty McEwan's can with the rain running doon the cheeks of ma bahookie back in the old rundown Hampden round about 1981.

I now expect one or two basics if I'm having to pay in to what passes as a football ground.

Small things like indoor lavvies, catering beyond Pies and Bovril, how about a seat and/or a bit of cover.

I'd suggest the Drumchapel folk talk to Blantyre Vics about getting a few covered seats in play.

Btw, i think Drumchapel are genuinely trying to move things along. I expect their facilities to be as good as or better than Yoker/Clydebank within a couple of years.

Truth is, i'd like my Bucky served chilled in a glass.

Edited by PossilYM

1 minute ago, PossilYM said:

Respect

Afraid i left behind pishing in an empty McEwan's can with the rain running doon the cheeks of bahookie back in the old rundown Hampden round about 1981.

I now expect one or two basics if I'm having to pay in to what passes as a football ground.

Small things like indoor lavvies, catering beyond Pies and Bovril, how about a seat and/or a bit of cover.

I'd suggest the Drumchapel folk talk to Blantyre Vics about get a few covered seats in play.

Btw, i think Drumchapel are genuinely trying to move things along. I expect their facilities to be as good as or better than Yoker/Clydebank within a couple of years.

Truth is, i'd like my Bucky served chilled in a glass.

Pishing in a can; I was brought up to think thats what the guy standing in front of me was for.

Naw in all seriousness I know from reading your posts you are not having a go at these clubs and feel that like myself applaud all the new and existing clubs that are engaged in enhancing the experience for the paying public. What Gartcairn and Bonnyton have done with their 'cages' should be imo congratulated upon. I do get annoyed at those usually from the old trad joonyurs who come on and just deride what clubs like above are trying to do.

Have been to Stepford, Huntershill and Sportsfield this season and know that all the clubs at these facilities are engaged in trying to improve and enhance them for all who use them. 

There are a lot of forward thinking clubs in the WOSFL who are trying to build something in the communities they play in. I for one feel they should be encouraged and supported. In decades to come these new clubs might just be the Loks and Talbots of their day.

15 minutes ago, HorseyGhirl said:

Pishing in a can; I was brought up to think thats what the guy standing in front of me was for.

Naw in all seriousness I know from reading your posts you are not having a go at these clubs and feel that like myself applaud all the new and existing clubs that are engaged in enhancing the experience for the paying public. What Gartcairn and Bonnyton have done with their 'cages' should be imo congratulated upon. I do get annoyed at those usually from the old trad joonyurs who come on and just deride what clubs like above are trying to do.

Have been to Stepford, Huntershill and Sportsfield this season and know that all the clubs at these facilities are engaged in trying to improve and enhance them for all who use them. 

There are a lot of forward thinking clubs in the WOSFL who are trying to build something in the communities they play in. I for one feel they should be encouraged and supported. In decades to come these new clubs might just be the Loks and Talbots of their day.

Tbf, the Hunterhill cage was done to death on the Junior forum. Seems the cage was owned by East Dunbartonshire Council and that was the limit of their spend.

Not a lot the original Rossvale could do as no doubt West Park Utd are about to find out.

Need to enlighten me, where is Sportsfield?

2 hours ago, HorseyGhirl said:

Oh I'm incredibly soft in my old age. And softening even further on a daily basis! 

And with my usual home team being Broxburn, I'm usually spoiled for quality pies!!! So all others that come are judged against that.

Edited by Jordi1977

8 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Tbf, the Hunterhill cage was done to death on the Junior forum. Seems the cage was owned by East Dunbartonshire Council and that was the limit of their spend.

Not a lot the original Rossvale could do as no doubt West Park Utd are about to find out.

Need to enlighten me, where is Sportsfield?

Sportsfield is in beautiful Kilsyth. Athletic have sole use I believe. Been working on the pavilion first getting that up to some sort of standard. Will be interesting to see if any work done over summer. Yeah Huntershill has its limitations and the council are not exactly proactive.

Stepford for Easterhouse seems to be run or assisted by Fare Scotland and have seen small but welcome upgrades there.

My main point is that for me the new clubs are to be encouraged. They are after all the future of the game and some have been involved in their communities for a number of decades now.

Edited by HorseyGhirl

8 hours ago, Jordi1977 said:

Oh I'm incredibly soft in my old age. And softening even further on a daily basis! 

And with my usual home team being Broxburn, I'm usually spoiled for quality pies!!! So all others that come are judged against that.

Wish I could become soft in my old age. Becone a horsey dad. That will toughen you up no end.

Up at stupid o'clock drive hours to  a nowhere field. No facilities or cover to speak of.