General SWPL discussion - Season 22/23

ScotsFootieFan

Aberdeen 0-8 Rangers.  A Lizzie Arnot masterclass with four goals (two pens) and two assists.  The girls seem to have had a good preseason and didn't have to get out of second gear.

I understand that A'deen have given professional contracts to five of their players but the difference, physically, between a full-time team and amateurs/part-timers is immense.  I can see why the league was expanded but the gulf in quality from top to bottom is much massive.

That being said, Glasgow City needed a 90+7 winner from Jenna Clark - whom I wish we had signed - to beat Motherwell and Celtic 'only' won 2-0 vs Partick Thistle.

I attended the Hibs v Hamilton game at Meadowbank. I didn't do a headcount, but the stand was mostly full. Not much leg room for this tall Dutchman in the stand so I just ended up standing on the side. Excellent display from Hibs who were clearly keen to bounce back from that opening day defeat against Celtic. Player of the match was their new American signing Crystal Thomas who scored a hattrick.

14 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Aberdeen 0-8 Rangers.  A Lizzie Arnot masterclass with four goals (two pens) and two assists.  The girls seem to have had a good preseason and didn't have to get out of second gear.

I understand that A'deen have given professional contracts to five of their players but the difference, physically, between a full-time team and amateurs/part-timers is immense.  I can see why the league was expanded but the gulf in quality from top to bottom is much massive.

That being said, Glasgow City needed a 90+7 winner from Jenna Clark - whom I wish we had signed - to beat Motherwell and Celtic 'only' won 2-0 vs Partick Thistle.

Only two games in, but I am loving the attitude from the Rangers players. There was a hunger to just keep on scoring goals, and with such a competitive squad, with a bench that strong, the intensity didn't really let up.

Big test on Thursday in the CL. Anyone know where the game can be watched?

I am going to the City vs. Roma match, but will try to have the Rangers game on my phone at the same time.

3 hours ago, lau03143 said:

Only two games in, but I am loving the attitude from the Rangers players. There was a hunger to just keep on scoring goals, and with such a competitive squad, with a bench that strong, the intensity didn't really let up.

Big test on Thursday in the CL. Anyone know where the game can be watched?

I am going to the City vs. Roma match, but will try to have the Rangers game on my phone at the same time.

Yes - they looked very committed - and fit.  They'll  need to be for these CL games coming up!

I've not seen anything about  livestreams but if I do I'll post it on here!

Whereas the SWPL 1 & 2 are now under the auspices of the SPFL the rest of the pyramid remains part of the SWFA. Morton beat Ayr 4-1 in a result that was probably a bit harsh on the balance of play over the game but Morton did take the foot off the gas after going 4-0 up. Been a while since I've seen any Morton team top of the league so I'm enjoying it today. Twitter said the crowd was a decent 120. Morton's third and fourth by Paterson were cracking and worth a watch when the highlights go up. One was a lovely lob from the edge of the box and the other was like Zlatan's goal v NAC Breda for Ajax but better.

image.thumb.png.d887ca32ca1f657654a45be4cd52aeab.png

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

2 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Whereas the SWPL 1 & 2 are now under the auspices of the SPFL the rest of the pyramid remains part of the SWFA. Morton beat Ayr 4-1 in a result that was probably a bit harsh on the balance of play over the game but Morton did take the foot off the gas after going 4-0 up. Been a while since I've seen any Morton team top of the league so I'm enjoying it today. Twitter said the crowd was a decent 120. Morton's third and fourth by Paterson were cracking and worth a watch when the highlights go up. One was a lovely lob from the edge of the box and the other was like Zlatan's goal v NAC Breda for Ajax but better.

image.thumb.png.d887ca32ca1f657654a45be4cd52aeab.png

I'll be heading along to a few Championship and League One games this season when the SWPL leagues are off for international breaks and such. Morton had a really good crowd when I saw them last season, good to see it continuing, it was especially encouraging to see the amount of youngsters at that game, we need to get the kids along to games to keep the clubs going in the long run.

1 minute ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

I'll be heading along to a few Championship and League One games this season when the SWPL leagues are off for international breaks and such. Morton had a really good crowd when I saw them last season, good to see it continuing, it was especially encouraging to see the amount of youngsters at that game, we need to get the kids along to games to keep the clubs going in the long run.

There was a wee group of about a dozen weans I've noticed afore at men's away games with a drum trying a few chants out as well. 

Morton Women's Ultras. Ye love to see it. 

Pie stall wisnae open this week tho' so bring yer pieces just in case as there's nothing nearby for scran. Although there's a bowling club nearby which I presume will let ye in for a pint if wanted. 

23 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

There was a wee group of about a dozen weans I've noticed afore at men's away games with a drum trying a few chants out as well. 

Morton Women's Ultras. Ye love to see it. 

Pie stall wisnae open this week tho' so bring yer pieces just in case as there's nothing nearby for scran. Although there's a bowling club nearby which I presume will let ye in for a pint if wanted. 

They still playing at Parklea?

1 minute ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Aye. Shite innit?

It's alright for what it is. It's a lot better than the public parks that a lot of the women's teams were playing on even a couple of years ago. Even Rangers first team played a game at the Palace of Art - probably about 4 years ago. The game has come a long way and still improving.