Popular Post Le Tout P'ti FC Posted May 29, 2022 Popular Post Share Posted May 29, 2022 Welcome Bonnyrigg to the hallowed lands of SPFL2. A few comments here to answer the FAQ which came out of the play off threads: WHERE THE HECK IS BONNYRIGG - just off the Lasswade junction of the Edinburgh City Bypass. The town is a commuter suburb of Edinburgh, a gathering sprawl of houses, expanding rapidly southwards. Put EH19 3AE into your mapping software of choice. WHERE DO I GET PARKED - use a bit of common sense, and you will be fine. The town centre is fairly small, and there are no huge car parks as such. On-street parking is the way to go. You'll find a space no bother. Supporters Buses would be best aiming for Sherwood Industrial Estate, a touch downhill from the ground. TRAINS - to Eskbank. 1.5 miles walk to the ground, or catch a bus from the adjacent Tesco. BUSES - probably quicker than the train from the city centre. Get the #31. Times at www.travelinescotland.com journey planner. Exact fare only on bus, but they take contactless. PINTS - both the Calderwood and Roses Social Club are each within a few steps from the turnstiles. Other options available in the town centre. In Lasswade village there are a couple of decent pubs, but a stiff uphill walk to the ground from there. Bus does stop outside. Couple of other options for those who like a craft beer type pint, the Cross Borders Brewery is directly beside Eskbank Station and does a tap room of a Saturday. Stewart's Brewery in Loanhead does an excellent pizza at its tap room, that's only three miles away. GRUB - town centre has usual selection of bakers, sandwich shops, chippy and so on. Gigi's Italian is excellent for a restaurant lunch option. Also at Hardengreen just off A7 lies a number of drive throughs and a petrol station too, should your car be thirsty. Good pies at the stadium. OTHER STUFF TO DO - Scottish Mining Museum in Newtongrange (2.5 miles), Dalkeith Country Park (2.5 miles). WALKS - old railway pathway runs out as far as Penicuik. Newbattle Abbey woods. Polton woods over towards Loanhead. Pentland Hills not terribly far away either. THE PITCH HAS A SLOPE - yes it does. SEAN CONNERY - yes he did. NDP - some will like it, some will find it a bit lacking in those things modern stadia have like faded plastic seats and expensively constructed but rapidly crumbling grandstands. It is what it is. A lot of work has been done to it to get the licence, more is being done this summer, I dare say more will be done as they grow the club. They're spending within their means and the place is absolutely fine to cope with an average SPFL2 sized crowd. PRICES - season tickets £160/£90/£40/U12s free. PATG £12/£7/U12s free. PROGRAMME - sometimes. SQUAD - not much announced yet. Hope you enjoy your trips through, and happy to help if you have any questions. 47 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1320Lichtie Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Good luck to Bonnyrigg. Refreshing to see what feels like a genuine club come up into the leagues after the last few seasons of it just being the ££££££££ clubs 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheWestStand Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Happy GTF day Bonnyrigg. Welcome to L2 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BB_Bino Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Looking forward to going somewhere new and as 1320 says above, great to have a team come up that have not spunked a lot of money at “lower league superstars” only to say that staying in the league is success and expecting us all to believe it. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverton End Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 The social club at the ground is excellent, (not so) fond memories of seeing The Sons play Rose in the Cup a few years back. Good luck for the season. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paranoid android Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Don't go into The Calderwood! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cowdenleith Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Good luck Bonnyrigg, love the first post, very good. You’ve got some big boots to fill in the Div 2 forum, replacing the most active and intelligent group of supporters, now we have been moved to the LL forum. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest AberhillEnd Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Greetings and welcome. Not sure if The Fife and Bonnyrigg have met competitively before, maybe in the central league pre 1920? Anyways I plan to visit at least once in the coming season, may the best team win ! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoonsYouthTeam Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Been living in Bonnyrigg for the last 4 years so happy to get a home game on my doorstep.Would say Beetroot is a great choice for food, but a bit pricier than the pubs, braw pint of Blue Moon though. I've never been in the Caldwerwood, heard it's where the kids go. Can't go wrong with a lot of pub and food options. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FK1Bairn Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Seems strange to see Bonnyrigg and their New Dundas Park ground in the SPFL. Doesn't seem that long ago I was an Assistant Ref at a Bonnyrigg v Bo'ness Utd East junior game and had to retire early with a chest injury which I thought at the time was a heart attack. Must have been 14-15 year ago though. Always enjoyed being involved in Bonnyrigg games at Junior level, I hope the facilities for officials have improved and its no longer a trickle of cold water for a shower 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Le Tout P'ti FC Posted May 29, 2022 Author Share Posted May 29, 2022 Seems strange to see Bonnyrigg and their New Dundas Park ground in the SPFL. Doesn't seem that long ago I was an Assistant Ref at a Bonnyrigg v Bo'ness Utd East junior game and had to retire early with a chest injury which I thought at the time was a heart attack. Must have been 14-15 year ago though. Always enjoyed being involved in Bonnyrigg games at Junior level, I hope the facilities for officials have improved and its no longer a trickle of cold water for a shower [emoji1696][emoji28]In the 23rd minute of that game, you made an absolute clanger. That was never offside. [emoji342]Confirm the changing rooms are totally replaced since your last visit. I think 14-15 years ago you may have been using the old hut which (I think) has subsequently burned down. Anyway, definitely upgraded. Brand new facilities for players and officials. Two sizeable units installed over in that corner of the pitch including changing rooms and hospitality. Both handy for the other new units installed (the pie shop and toilets), and the new (admittedly feeble) wee seated area. Lots of new things installed in just a few years. Plus floodlights! Can't comment on the water pressure or temperature mind! I'm sure those metrics are set at full time depending on the performance of the officials of the day. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BallochSonsFan Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 Still a big slope at your ground? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cowdenleith Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 4 minutes ago, BallochSonsFan said: Still a big slope at your ground? See FAQ in post 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
headthebaw Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 I love going to grounds like this! What can we expect in terms of the size of the home crowd and is there much of a travelling support? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newcastle broon Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 4 minutes ago, headthebaw said: I love going to grounds like this! What can we expect in terms of the size of the home crowd and is there much of a travelling support? Always been a well supported side they took 5 buses plus cars to the Cowdenbeath play off. The novelty factor might wear off but still expect 500+ easily at home games and wi Hibs coming to town there will definately be a capacity crowd which could probs sell twice over. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lyle Lanley Posted May 29, 2022 Share Posted May 29, 2022 (edited) 10 hours ago, paranoid android said: Don't go into The Calderwood! This, If anyone fancies a night out in Dalkeith. We have a nightclub called The Park which is worth a visit. Edited May 29, 2022 by Lyle Lanley 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aberdeen Cowden Posted May 30, 2022 Share Posted May 30, 2022 Lovely part of the country, parking at the academy was great - a huge car park. Ten minutes walk to the ground.Wouldn’t have fancied the drive without a sat nav especially if there is a lot of traffic.The ground will be “ interesting “ for newcomers. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paranoid android Posted May 30, 2022 Share Posted May 30, 2022 (edited) 9 hours ago, Lyle Lanley said: This, If anyone fancies a night out in Dalkeith. We have a nightclub called The Park which is worth a visit. Aye, but you'll only get in if you're under 18. Best pubs in Dalkeith are the Black Bull and Justinlees - the latter is on the Bonnyrigg side of town, but that's a fair walk. In Boomtown (Bonnyrigg), the Roses club is probably your best bet - punters in the Anvil and the Royal Oak are surprisingly friendly, imo - no idea what the pub formerly known as the Chase is like now - think the Polton Inn used to be ok. There are 2 decent chippies in Bongo land, and there's a decent Itailan (Gigi's'?) if you fancy a sit doon - there's a McDonald's at Loanhead/Straiton. f**k knows where folk will park on match days, like - there is a car park at the Roses club, but it's not massive. The biggest compliment I can pay the Rose is that they're now officially rivals, so I'm probably supposed to hate them, but congratulations to them - a great achievement. Edited May 30, 2022 by paranoid android 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon EF Posted May 30, 2022 Share Posted May 30, 2022 Can't wait to visit NDP. Love an old fashioned ground, even if it is a bit 'lacking' in modern facilities. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aberdeen Cowden Posted May 30, 2022 Share Posted May 30, 2022 Can't wait to visit NDP. Love an old fashioned ground, even if it is a bit 'lacking' in modern facilities.You won’t slag off CP again. -1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...